We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely friendly B&B in a good location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Merman Barn B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tideswell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Merman Barn B&B
Ranked #2 of 7 Tideswell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly B&B in a good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

We only stayed a couple of nights and should have stayed longer. Mermanbarn is an excellent B&B and Linda a warm and friendly host. Everything was excellent, from the large and spacious room, huge bed, mini-fridge containing bottled water and milk, to the comfortable lounge and tasty breakfasts with a good variety for the cooked breakfast. The local pubs we visited for dinner were good and although the walk back is uphill, it was still pleasant walking through the village. Tideswell is also a good location for visiting the Peak District. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank garn01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
140
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed for three nights and Linda made us feel very welcome from the moment we arrived. A lovely B&B with off-road parking, which is a bonus in Tideswell. This place definitely deserves it's No 1 status. We tried three of the local pubs and found 'The Anchor' to be the best - 20 min walk from the B&B. If you like to walk to the pub at night Merman Barn is slightly out of the village centre and uphill so may not be ideal if you are unable to walk too far. Overall we agree with all the other TA comments and will definitely be back. (Derbyshire oatcakes are wholewheat pancakes!).

Room Tip: Room 2 has a huge king-sized bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights recently. We could have happily stayed for much longer.
Linda gave us a warm welcome and pointed us in the direction of the huge folder stuffed with local walks and things to see and do.
The bed was one of the most comfortable I've stayed in and the breakfast menu comprehensive and very tasty! There were lots of very thoughtful touches, such as the mini-fridge in the room containing bottled water and fresh milk for tea/coffee and the heated boot dryer for those muddy walks.
We loved this place, cannot recommend highly enough and would definitely stay again.Thanks Linda.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clairem1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Excellent B&B, warmly greeted with tea and shortread in the lounge by the owner. Room was very good and the breakfast choice and quality were first class. The guest lounge is a welcome addition to the accommodation and makes for a pleasant and relaxing end to the day. Merman Barn provides a excellent location for exploring the Peak District and we enjoyed our stay and will definetly return and recommend to freinds.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night and it wasn't long enough! Upon arrival we were greeted warmly by a perfect hostess Linda! She gave us an informative quick show around the place and offering us drinks we were settled in to our lovely room. The double bed was by far THE most comfiest I've slept on better than ours at home. The room had a mini fridge, tea, coffee and had a great bathroom with a big shower. The place was really quaint and very clean, it kept in with the feel for the Peak District as I have never visited the peaks before. We could choose the time to cone down and eat and the options for breakfast, there was a wide variety to choose from, I went for a big cooked breakfast. We needed somewhere to eat out for the evening, after speaking with Linda she recommended the horse and jockey pub in the village of Tideswell. Literally only a 5 minute walk from the b&b, had an amazing meal! Overall we are a young couple and we would definitely recommend the b&b for its location, service, food, friendliness and comfort of stay!! If we go to the Peak District again we will be staying here again. Thanks Linda!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed with my sister at Merman Barn recently. It is a first class B & B, ideally situated. Linda is the perfect hostess and nothing is too much trouble. The breakfast options are plentiful and delicious. The packed lunch option is delicious and very reasonable. The rooms are clean and you have tea and coffee facilities and a small fridge for storing cool drinks. No details is overlooked. I would not hesitate to recommend Merman Barn and intend to go back soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SternyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in this lovely converted barn in room 1 the smallest of the three bedrooms. The decor and furniture were carefully selected and in keeping with the style of the building and there is off street parking for all guests. A large comfortable guest lounge is available with a good selection of books and CDs. The breakfast was beautiful cooked and presented in a timely manner. We would highly recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: Room 2 is a very large double. Room 1 is a small double with en suite but with adequate storage and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tideswell
6.0 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#1 of 1 in Grindleford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
7.0 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Meadow Lodge B & B
Meadow Lodge B & B
#1 of 7 in Tideswell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blossom House
Blossom House
#3 of 7 in Tideswell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.4 mi away
Horse and Jockey
Horse and Jockey
#4 of 7 in Tideswell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merman Barn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merman Barn B&B

Property: Merman Barn B&B
Address: Merman Barn Alma Road, Tideswell, Peak District National Park SK17 8LS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Tideswell
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Tideswell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Merman Barn B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A high quality B&B in the heart of the Derbyshire Peak District. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Merman Barn B&B Tideswell, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing