We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal B&B”
Review of Merman Barn B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tideswell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Merman Barn B&B
Ranked #2 of 7 Tideswell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sebastopol, California
1 review
“Ideal B&B”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights at Mermanbarn with our daughter joining us in her separate room on the second night. Linda went out of her way to make sure every detail was attended to for us. We had the king size room and it was the largest bedroom I've ever seen in England. Well furnished, clean, nice view, comfortable bed. Tideswell was a great find, too. Charming and manageable. Nearby Castleton was the center for walks but it was jammed up solid with holiday makers. So glad we could come back to Tideswell at the end of the day to relax.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerryMSeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
147
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bingley
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We had an overnight stay on August 22nd as a treat for my birthday. Linda gave us a warm welcome and showed us to our room before inviting us into the sitting room for coffee. We had room 2 which was absolutely fantastic. The bed was built for total comfort and the shower was spacious and powerful. Linda had good local knowledge of the area and other surrounding areas. We took her advice on going to the Horse and Jockey pub for our evening meal which was delish! Breakfast is served in a lovely dining area in the house, there was choice of fruit salads, yogurts, cereal, fruit teas and more as well as having your home made cooked breakfast. The cooked breakfast was lovely and set us up for the day ahead. We even tried our first ever Derbyshire oat cake which was lovely. We would definitely stay again and recommend that you choose to stay here for your trip. Anna and Darren - 22nd Aug 2013.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PartyPeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2013

My friend and myself had a fantastic weekend in the Peak District. Extremely clean and comfortable room with lovely shower room. Also use of a sitting room overlooking garden. Linda gave us a warm welcome and was very helpful with local areas of interest. Delicious breakfast choices. Interesting village pub, Horse and Jockey, music night on Thursdays.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Welcoming, clean, comfortable and quiet - and Linda makes the best shortbread ever! Good walks on the doorstep and lots to see and do nearby - Tideswell is a good base to explore the Peak District. We had a good meal at the Red Lion too.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LizaLishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Very comfortable B & B. Linda made us very welcome. An added bonus was having the use of a sitting room and table and chairs in the garden. Plenty of places to visit in the vicinity, and the Red Lion at Litton gave us an excellent evening meal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belinda033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We were a party of 6 friends who stayed for a weekend. Very comfortable, with a sitting room to ourselves, and a garden to have tea in. Tideswell is a good village to stay in, with good pubs in and nearby.

Room Tip: There's a twin room, a double and a king sized double. Something for everyone. All quiet and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DickMillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Very highly recommended. Friendly welcome from Linda, for whom nothing was too much trouble. Gorgeous and tastefully decorated quiet twin room overlooking pretty garden, faultless cooked breakfast with added bonus of delicious fresh fruit salad and great filter coffee. Tideswell is a lovely unspoilt village with everything you need but without being touristy, centrally located for visiting the entire Peak District. Grazie mille Linda, we really hope to come back to your lovely Merman Barn on a future trip from Italy! Roz and Marco.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tideswell
6.2 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
378 reviews
6.3 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
7.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,608 reviews
15.8 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
6.1 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merman Barn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merman Barn B&B

Property: Merman Barn B&B
Address: Merman Barn Alma Road, Tideswell, Peak District National Park SK17 8LS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Tideswell
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Tideswell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Merman Barn B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A high quality B&B in the heart of the Derbyshire Peak District. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Merman Barn B&B Tideswell, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing