We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B & B”
Review of Merman Barn B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tideswell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Merman Barn B&B
Ranked #2 of 7 Tideswell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic B & B”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had an excellent stay at the Merman barn - warm welcome, lovely breakfast and the 'super king' room we stayed in was extremely comfortable! I highly recommend :) There is a good choice of breakfast options, both the full English I had on one morning and the poached eggs on toast on another were lovely and as well as this you get fresh fruit, yogurts, cereal, toast, orange juice and your choice of tea or coffee. The room we stayed in had a huge super king sized bed, a large wardrobe, plus an en suite with a generous sized bathroom. There was even a small fridge to keep fresh milk in when making yourself a drink with the provided kettle and various drinks sachets. The Merman also has a very comfortable living room and they'll even light an open fire if you would like one. We found it the perfect place to return to after a days walking out in the fresh air. There are also couple of good pubs in the area for your evening meals and it's not far from Bakewell, therefore the location of the Merman is great. If you're ever in this area and in need of somewhere to stay, this is the perfect place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
145
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights during a cold November/December weekend. Met by Andrew & Linda who made us very welcome and carried our bags upstairs for us. The 2 bedrooms we had were extremely comfortable and there is a lovely lounge for sole use by residents - with a wonderful log burner which was just what we needed to keep cosy warm. A great Derbyshire breakfast each morning beautifully cooked and presented. Will definately come again and recommend to everyone.

Room Tip: all rooms are great. The twin room is quite roomy with 2 easy chairs to use
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malrose39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mermanbarn, Owner at Merman Barn B&B, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2012

A really warm welcome and a lovely place to stay,well appointed and clean and tidy throughout -stayed in room 2 which has the largest bed in the world (So it seemed !) and very comfortable .
Stayed as a group of 6 (3 couples ) which filled the place but also meant we had run of the house with a great living room area all to ourselves -log fire on request .
Breakfast is in a separate dining room and consisted of full English and cereals toast etc and is very good with decent produce used - all in all highly recommended and will probability return for another visit as a great center for walking or sampling the local ale !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We arrived with friends for a one night stay on a gloomy Friday afternoon and was given a warm welcome by Linda. The rooms were beyond our expectations with modern well equipped en- suite, refreshments and warm comfortable beds. There is also a comfortable sitting room for guests to use and I would thoroughly recommend this for small groups. Breakfast was substantial, beautifully presented and delicious setting us up nicely for our days activities. Tideswell is a friendly pretty town and we also recommend the school of food.Hope to return one day

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We would highly recommend this B and B. Six of us stayed here as part of a special occasion/weekend. Everything was first class: our own very comfortable lounge, lovely bedrooms with very comfortable beds with every little detail thoughtfully included. With our own private dining area, we enjoyed a scrumptious breakfast with advice on where to go and visit. We loved our stay and found our hosts very hospitable. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and loved Tideswell and surrounding area: great walks and, in particular, the Monsal Trail. All in all, in our book, the Merman Barn comes very highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Excellent location and very welcoming hosts. Everything we needed, very comfortable lounge and lovely bedrooms. was like 5 star accommodation all rolled into one B&B. Excellent base for all walks and local villages and would definitely come back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alisonparis_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

What a great B & B to stay in. First class accomodation, top breakfast menu, easy parking and
perfect hosts. Must mention the little touch of a bedside torch! The location is ideal for walking and exploring Tideswell and surrounding areas. Well worth the short drive to Buxton.


A sure bet for future stays .


Mary & Keith Richards

Room Tip: The King size room is amazing, but I suspect ANY room in this house will be perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tideswell
6.2 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
6.0 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
7.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,563 reviews
0.7 mi away
Meadow Lodge B & B
Meadow Lodge B & B
#1 of 7 in Tideswell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blossom House
Blossom House
#3 of 7 in Tideswell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merman Barn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merman Barn B&B

Property: Merman Barn B&B
Address: Merman Barn Alma Road, Tideswell, Peak District National Park SK17 8LS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Tideswell
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Tideswell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Merman Barn B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A high quality B&B in the heart of the Derbyshire Peak District. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Merman Barn B&B Tideswell, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing