We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Dog & Partridge Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Swinscoe B&B and Inns
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We regularly stay here on business and we are always greeted with a warm and friendly welcome from the staff who always remember us. Rooms are very comfortable, clean and have everything you need. Each time we have stayed here the food has been very food. The quirkyness of the hotel is what brings us back, as the individual chalets is preferable to a bog standard hotel. Looking forward to future stays here.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarah_obrien581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    394
    173
    103
    118
See reviews for
323
592
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just back from a 2 night stay - This is our 2nd stay at D & P and won't be our last! - We went with friends, their daughter & dogs. Excellent accommodation - clean & warm. Room cleaned & tided daily. The light in our bathroom was broken, mentioned this to reception and it was mended immediately.

Amazing choices for breakfast - every conceivable cereal, fresh fruit, yogurts, omelettes, Full english - in fact, anything you could possibly want was available.

We ate in the restaurant on the first night, again, food was wonderful & beautifully presented. Staff were very helpful throughout our stay - it would appear that nothing was too much trouble.

The location of the Dog & Partridge is superb for dog owners/walkers & we will definitely be going back & I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to family & friends.

Thank you D & P - hope to return very soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank margaret b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAPEAFRICA, Owner at The Dog & Partridge Country Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Really pleased you enjoyed staying with us and have passed your comments on the food to the chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Spent two nights here on a Buy a Gift voucher. Very friendly greeting on arrival and shown to our chalet type accommodation. This was comfortable, quite roomy and exceptionally warm which was a blessing as it was bitter outside. Our evening meal in the restaurant was excellent (though the bar prices were a bit steep). Breakfast next morning was amazing with a massive choice of "starters" followed by some local specialities (Staffordshire oatcakes filled with bacon and mushrooms). A good location to explore nearby Matlock, Bakewell and Derby (hampered for us on this visit by the diabolical weather). Would not hesitate to return later in the year.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bob44east
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestershire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My husband, daughter, dog and I stayed here for 2 nights along with our friends who also brought their dogs. The staff were very friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived. We were shown to our rooms that were at the back. The rooms had a little lobby which were great for wiping down the dog before going into the main room.
The room was very big, having a single and double bed with plenty of chairs. It would have been nice to have some drawers to put jumpers etc in but the wardrobe had plenty of room to make up for this. The two beds did look like they could do with repairing at the bottom, frame coming away abit. Not a problem for us though.
My dog did jump on the bed and left muddy paw prints. The next day these sheets were changed. Thank you very much as we did not expect this.
The breakfast was excellent, lots to choose from and we were given plenty of coffee and toast.
We ate in the restaurant on the first evening and again the food was very good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShirleyValentine_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAPEAFRICA, Owner at The Dog & Partridge Country Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and writing such a nice review, have passed your comments on to all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

one night break to do some walking. friendly and efficient on phone, great price, the meal was really excellent, staff friendly and nice. quality of the bedding excellent. room excellent; well designed for walkers and dogs. heating under your own control. can park right outside your room as an added bonus. definately a 'find' and want to go back.
only downside is having to drive a little bit into the main peak walks area. - not an issue.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAPEAFRICA, Owner at The Dog & Partridge Country Inn, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thanks for your kind review, hope you choose to stay with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I booked the D&P for 2 nights through Groupon and the receptionist let me know in no uncertain terms that groupon customers needed to pay extra for what would usually be considered as standard. She politely told me that breakfast "Certainly wasn't included!" and the evening meal which was included, was from a restricted menu (which wasn't even as extensive as the bar menu). We were shown to our room which was a wooden chalet in the grounds of the hotel, clean enough but not what we were expecting as we had been initially attracted to the quaintness of the place from the photographs.

She offered breakfast at an extra £10 pp. But of course we 'Certainly were not' going to give them any more of our custom - luckily Ashbourne is a lovely town 2 miles away with plenty of nice places to eat. In fact we didn't step foot into the main building again until we checked out at which point the same very unpersonable receptionist didn't even ask if we had enjoyed our stay!

Groupon can be used as either a really useful way to market your establishment so that customers will tell their friends and family and return again at full price or it can be used as just a way to keep the cash flow moving off-peak. the latter is unfortunately is how Groupon is used at the Dog and Partridge which is very short sighted and give Groupon a bad name.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAPEAFRICA, Owner at The Dog & Partridge Country Inn, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
I am sorry but this customer was disappointed as she didn't read the offer before booking, the deal she was on was for sparkling wine on arrival, with the a 3 course set menu in the evening with at least 6 starters main courses and a choice of sweets,this menu had a link on groupon site and if you look on our web site you will see the menu.
The customer paid £65 for this deal for the two of them.
All my reception staff always tell all customers what is included in there room rates on checking in.
I am really sorry if you did not enjoy your stay, but it is impossible to add extras to the deal as we do it as cheap as possible
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Swinscoe hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

My husband and I thought at the last minute that we would get away for the weekend, and try to beat the snow. So we found ourselves a nice Groupon deal. Well, when were just less than a minute away, we didn't think it was such a good idea, as we got stuck over the hill. We rang the hotel to let them know and ask if it was safe to leave the car. there was a gentleman kind enough to come out to us to see if there was anything he could do to help. He advised us that there would be a someone round to grit, and sure enough there was. He waited to see that we would be ok. He didn't have to, but he did, so thank you, and I am so sorry I didn't get his name. For us, that was the perfect start to great customer care. By the time we got there, it was too late to enjoy our three course meal, we were cold and frustrated at what we had been through. However, the food was excellent and the portions generous. The next night, we had a meal off the main menu, my fillet was cooked to perfection (a little small though) and I had a selection of sauces, which were all absolutely gorgeous.
The only slight criticisms we had, was that the duvet did not cover the whole bed, the bathroom was not clean behind the door, and there was a freezing cold breeze coming from under the bed where the socket was, so it was a struggle to get the room warm enough. But, they are only minor issues, and did not take away from our experience there. The brother and sister duo are great with people and appear to do it for the love of it. The gentleman warned us about breakfast, and he was not wrong. It was all there, something for every one. Sadly we could not enjoy some walks, as it was quite intense, that's why we are looking to return soon when the white stuff has cleared up.
This is a great family run place, and they do all they can to make you feel welcome.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sim1279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAPEAFRICA, Owner at The Dog & Partridge Country Inn, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Pleased my staff were so helpfully , have taken your coments up with housekeeping, reviews are very helpfully to us to make our place better.
Hope to welcome you back when weather is better
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swinscoe
1.8 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ashbourne
319 reviews
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Callow Hall Hotel
Callow Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mappleton
311 reviews
13.7 mi away
Makeney Hall Hotel
Makeney Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Belper
986 reviews
13.7 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dog & Partridge Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dog & Partridge Country Inn

Property: The Dog & Partridge Country Inn
Address: Town End Lane, Swinscoe, Ashbourne DE6 2HS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Swinscoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Swinscoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dog & Partridge Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dog and Partridge Country Inn is set in glorious surroundings on the edge of the Derbyshire / Staffordshire Border. This Peak District Hotel provides the perfect base for sight-seeing and walking holidays. This Derbyshire Hotel has been owned by the same family for over twenty years. And is renowned for the clean and spacious Derbyshire Accommodation located in the grounds of the inn – all on the edge of the Peak District National Park. Our location provides a great holiday base for those wanting to explore Derbyshire or Staffordshire; for businesses needing a meeting or conference venue in a small Derbyshire Hotel or for guests wanting a great night out or a party venue at a Peak District Hotel. With many notable attractions such as Alton Towers, Matlock Bath, Chatsworth House, Carsington Water, Haddon Hall and the lovely market town of Ashbourne only a short drive away, landmarks like Dovedale, Beresford Dale and the fantastic Derbyshire Villages Ilam, Hartington and Tissington – famous for the well dressings – are also within easy reach. The Dog and Partridge Country Inn has long been a popular base for walkers, ramblers and climbers in the Peak District, with a wide choice of walks, routes and climbs of varying distances and degrees of difficulty, all within easy reach of this Peak District Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your The Dog & Partridge Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dog And Partridge Country Inn
The Dog & Partridge Country Hotel Swinscoe
Country Inn Swinscoe
Swinscoe Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing