We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Dog & Partridge Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Swinscoe B&B and Inns
Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We were looking for somewhere to stay while at Alton Towers and came across this by doing a internet search.
The staff were so welcoming and friendly and couldn't do enough for us. The meals were excellent and the selection for breakfast gave me a hard decision (what to take). A major plus point for us was the real coal fire, which was ideal after a cold visit to the theme park.
Our room was detached from the hotel building and had a carport right out side the door. The room was lovely and spacious, with a double and single bed in the room.
Only down side was the double bed had a lump right down the middle which disturbed (didn't stop) our sleep.

We will definitely use this place again, when we are down in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cefurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAPEAFRICA, Owner at The Dog & Partridge Country Inn, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thanks fo staying with us, we have had the mattress checked, and it was the mattress protecter that was crumpled , sorry about this.
Hope to see you again when the weather is better
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    385
    165
    103
    114
See reviews for
311
570
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We used a Groupon voucher to book this one night stay.
The staff were very helpful especially when I mentioned my Mum had mobility problems. Our Dinner was very pleasant and the hotel cosy and welcoming.
Our room was very warm,clean, with comfortable beds and all you could ask for. I liked the way you could park your car right next to your room and so unloading luggage was easy.
We had our dog with us and because the room was outside of the main hotel you did not worry that your dog was suddenly going to start barking in the night.
The Hotel was ideally situated for touring off into the countryside.
It is not 5star but it does not pretend to be. We really enjoyed our stay and would stay there again quite happily.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyAnne253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAPEAFRICA, Owner at The Dog & Partridge Country Inn, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay, hope to see you at the hotel again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

the hotel rooms are not the cleanest and could do with updating cannot fault the food as this was very good the staff and management could do with going to lessons on politeness will not be going again which is a shame as did enjoy the food.

Room Tip: cannot add any more about this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toffeeman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAPEAFRICA, Owner at The Dog & Partridge Country Inn, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
I was talking to these customers in the bar, while they were waiting to go into dinner, they were telling how much they loved there hotel and couldn't wait for dinner.
They ordered soups main courses and a bottle of wine,they ate all there food , but when bill was presented they refused to pay for soups as they said it should be included in there deal , they had been told on check in that there voucher included main course to value of 16.95 per person.
We should them there voucher with it printed on they still refused to pay and left next n morning without checking out or paying there bill for wine and soups
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Swinscoe hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Robertsbridge, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

We booked this b&b last year for 22nd - 24th March 2013 for a trip to Alton Towers, i didnt think it was gonna snow then and my luck wasnt it, i callled up on the Friday before i left and asked what my choices were, the b&b said that the roads were fine there and would not rearrange, but the park was closed. I didnt want to lose my money and risked it, when we arrived the snow was getting much worse and was greeted warmly, we waiting for the man to show us to our room, i could not fault our room it was warm, clean and cosy. We stayed here until Sunday and the snow got so much worse, that i had to dig my car out saturday as well as sunday. The food was okay and the continental breakfast was even better. The only dissapointment was the snow, but the owners couldnt of been more helpful and have booked to go again in may when hopefully the weather is better, so will write another review once i can enjoy it a bit more.

Room Tip: We had No23 which was lovely and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey-Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAPEAFRICA, Owner at The Dog & Partridge Country Inn, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
I hope the weather is better if you come to stay again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

I booked as a surprise birthday treat and had come across the Inn on get aways with Groupon. I contacted them on their number directly and spoke to David, who very kindly said I could book direct, for the same price as the Groupon deal, which I found incredibly helpful. With the recent arrival of snow, possibility of cancellation due to the weather and a long distance just for one night, I wasn't sure I was doing the right thing but it did sound so appealing, so I took a chance. Well that chance definately paid off! The inn is wonderfully welcoming and has a lovely atmosphere. We took our 11 year old black labrador and our room, despite being a family room was warm, comfortable (bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in away from home!) and above all, beautifully clean. In our haste to get there, we had forgotten a towel for the dog and the staff were wonderful when we asked if it was possible to have the use of one during our stay, which arrived within minutes of us asking! The welcome drink as part of the stay was a lovely touch and made us want to immediately sample more drinks from the bar, where our dog was also made very welcome and fussed over, which of course, he loved! We personally found all of the staff friendly, happy to chat and made us feel that nothing was too much trouble. The three course evening meal was the highlight of our stay and certainly for us, did not disappoint. I highly recommend the food. Breakfast in the morning was £10 extra, per person and again, you could not ask for a better selection. There is everything there that anyone could want (with the exception of cold meats, but I am sure that individual taste would be catered for, if requested, we certainly got the impression that you only have to ask and they will do their very best to accommodate) to eat for breakfast, and we were very happy with ours, along with the choices on offer. The only thing that let it down for us was the weather, as it was just a flying visit! Very difficult to enjoy the full beauty of the area, when you are trying to walk the dog in fields and disappearing in snow drifts. But we would definately love to return both to the Dog & Partridge and to a very picturesque part of England. Thank you for a lovely stay and for making the birthday celebration such an enjoyable one.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAPEAFRICA, Owner at The Dog & Partridge Country Inn, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thanks for staying with us and taking the time to write a review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We booked a last minute deal with Groupon costing £65.00 for one nights double room with 3 course dinner, however, this actually cost £85.00 due to a £10 p.p Friday supplement charge which is not clearly stated on Groupon and not communicted during our first phone call to the hotel (So Beware!). Upon arrival we were greeted with friendly and excellent service and quickly shown to our room which was situated within the grounds in private dedicated out buildings. The room was warm, clean, however, with little natural light and a 3/4 bed not a double which turned out to be the most uncomfortable bed that we have both ever slept in! It was simply just springs affording no comfort at all. We woke at 2am and considered driving home, however, the snowy conditions prevented us doing so. The evening meal was well portioned, hot and tasty, however, the wine and bar alcoholic drinks in my opinion are very expensive. In all an average stay with the nights sleep making this a destination that we would not visit again. Food, sparkling wine on arrival and general hospitality was good, prices and matresses need addressing!

Room Tip: Test the matress out first and bring a wallet full of money for drinks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAPEAFRICA, Owner at The Dog & Partridge Country Inn, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
We don't understand this review, the beds at the hotel are standard doubles, 4ft 6 inches,and we have no mattress just springs, none of the mattress are more than two years old .
We are really sorry your bed was not to your liking as we like to please our customers.
The deal is very clearly stated that there is a £10 per person sup for Friday and Saturday nights, as this deal is priced for midweek stays and we expect customers to read voucher before booking, reception will now make sure that all customers on groupons understand the supplement on booking.
This is why reviews good or bad are usefully to us,as it helps us to give better services to our customers.
This deal is a very good deal as it is overnight stay with cocktails on arrival and three course dinner included.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed on wowcher deal, with the bubbly,cream tea etc. Cannot fault this for value for money. All the people moaning about the chalet rooms etc are mad! I agree they could do with a bit of touching up in places, as our outside light didnt work and the steps arnt very well lit, but for how much we paid I think it was excellent value. I think its an ingenious idea building the little chalets, they are so private and the rooms are deceivably large! Also its ideal that you can park by your door. The £14.95 towards the meal was included and I can honestly say the food cannot be faulted, we stayed for our 10th anniversary, unfortunately couldnt use the facilities of the hot tub as my partner was ill for the 2 days we stayed!! :( The only slight problem we suffered was we booked in for our meal at 7.30, got to be seated at 7.20 as we were a little early, but think we were forgotten and couldnt get anyones attention, so we waited until 8.10 for the gentleman to come and take our drinks order, then the food didnt arrive until 8.35. But these things happen and we got an apology for the food taking so long, we didnt complain as this can happen anywhere. The lady who spoke to us on arrival was very pleasant, sorry I didnt get the name! All in all great value and we would come back again

Room Tip: Room 5 was very good although the outside light didnt work
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ytv971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAPEAFRICA, Owner at The Dog & Partridge Country Inn, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review, we are sorry your evening meal service was slow, I have taken this up with the staff so it doesn't happen again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swinscoe
1.8 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ashbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
7.6 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Makeney Hall Hotel
Makeney Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Belper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
2.1 mi away
Callow Hall Hotel
Callow Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mappleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
13.7 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dog & Partridge Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dog & Partridge Country Inn

Property: The Dog & Partridge Country Inn
Address: Town End Lane, Swinscoe, Ashbourne DE6 2HS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Swinscoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Swinscoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dog & Partridge Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dog and Partridge Country Inn is set in glorious surroundings on the edge of the Derbyshire / Staffordshire Border. This Peak District Hotel provides the perfect base for sight-seeing and walking holidays. This Derbyshire Hotel has been owned by the same family for over twenty years. And is renowned for the clean and spacious Derbyshire Accommodation located in the grounds of the inn – all on the edge of the Peak District National Park. Our location provides a great holiday base for those wanting to explore Derbyshire or Staffordshire; for businesses needing a meeting or conference venue in a small Derbyshire Hotel or for guests wanting a great night out or a party venue at a Peak District Hotel. With many notable attractions such as Alton Towers, Matlock Bath, Chatsworth House, Carsington Water, Haddon Hall and the lovely market town of Ashbourne only a short drive away, landmarks like Dovedale, Beresford Dale and the fantastic Derbyshire Villages Ilam, Hartington and Tissington – famous for the well dressings – are also within easy reach. The Dog and Partridge Country Inn has long been a popular base for walkers, ramblers and climbers in the Peak District, with a wide choice of walks, routes and climbs of varying distances and degrees of difficulty, all within easy reach of this Peak District Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dog & Partridge Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dog & Partridge Country Hotel Swinscoe
The Dog And Partridge Country Inn
Country Inn Swinscoe
Swinscoe Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing