We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“would return” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dog & Partridge Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Dog & Partridge Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Swinscoe B&B and Inns
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“would return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Had wonderful stay at the dog and partridge. Lovely food, nicely decorated room and very welcoming hosts. Bought as part of a voucher offer, would we pay full price, yes. The area has wonderful walks, stunning scenery and the food and hospitality made our stay very relaxing.
Also worth noting, plentiful supply of hot water, good showers and toasty room heating.

Room Tip: Rated swimming pool should read hot tub. excellent idea although we didnt use it for our stay plenty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yazmikley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAPEAFRICA, Owner at The Dog & Partridge Country Inn, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
We hope to welcome you back soon,and we are really enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    379
    158
    102
    113
See reviews for
303
557
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bruton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed here for two nights, we were given one of the small 'chalets; behind the main hotel.
The room was lovely, freshly decorated with a nice bathroom and comfortable bed. The room also had two bunk beds which are ideal for families. Best of all the rom was warm with plenty of hot water. However our experience went downhill rapidly the moment we went for dinner - service was appalling, (we sat for 30 mins before offered a drink) the food was slow, cold and overpriced.
Breakfast was equally as bad - our Tea and Coffee never arrived and we were never offered a cooked option. We had some cereal and Juice and made our escape to find a nice lunch somewhere........

A shame as the D&P has much potential

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAPEAFRICA, Owner at The Dog & Partridge Country Inn, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review, we are really sorry we let you down with our dinning room service, there was a reason for this, but it should not have happened, but we are glad you enjoyed your room.
We read and take all our reviews seriously , and once again are really sorry .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Swinscoe hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Derby
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed at this cute little inn a couple of weekends ago for one night. We live in Derby, so only about 40 minutes away, however the hotel was well situated along the main road and is quite easy to find. It is close by to a few small villages and the main town nearby is Ashbourne. We didn't venture out from the inn, as the weather was incredibly snowy and we were worried about making it back safely!

The chalets are situated away from the inn/pub building itself, and can be accessed via a couple of sets of stairs, or the main driveway, making it suitable for buggys and wheelchairs. We were placed in a chalet just off the main drive and did experience a bit of road noise. This cannot be helped though and it didn't bother us at all, but if you have children or are a light sleeper it may be worth requesting a chalet a bit further down the driveway, away from the main road.

We enjoyed our stay very much, and despite the weather being awful outside, the chalet itself was warm and cosy upon our arrival. The decor was modern, light and clean, the bathroom could do with updating, however it was clean and practical, which is all we needed for our one night stay. The bed was comfortable and there was ample storage space for our luggage and clothing etc. There was a small flat screen tv, which had the added bonus of a DVD player. We took a couple of DVD's with us, so the weather stopping us from heading out was not a problem.

We ate at the inn during the evening and found the food to be delicious. Steak was our meal of choice, my boyfriend's being the steak filled with stilton and my choice being the mexican style steak. Both were cooked perfectly and the accompanying vegetables were also well cooked and tasty. We ate again at breakfast, even though we were still full from the night before! We opted for the full English at £5 per person and were not disappointed. There was a decent amount of food, which was again very well cooked & flavoursome. There were also cereals, fruit, fruit juices and a selection of cakes/pastries to choose from at breakfast.

I would reccommend this inn to friends and family, and would be happy to stay here again ourselves.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAPEAFRICA, Owner at The Dog & Partridge Country Inn, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and we hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

My wife two Grandchildren and myself stayed here for two nights when visiting Alton Towers we all had a great time especially the children.We stayed in a chalet with a double bed and bunk bed parking the car right outside was a good thing. The food was nice especially the breakfast
We would stay here again if we were in the area. The staff were very friendly and helpfull
and were very good with the children

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BRENDAN Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAPEAFRICA, Owner at The Dog & Partridge Country Inn, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review, hope to see you next time you are in our area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stopped for a meal and wish I hadn't. After looking at the menu I assumed that due to the prices the food would be outstanding - it really wasn't, the burger didn't seem home made and was pathetically small compared to the huge dry seeded bap (which was supposed to be a soft white bap).

The chips were pretty bad too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mematty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAPEAFRICA, Owner at The Dog & Partridge Country Inn, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Sorry you were disappointed with your meal, all our burgers are home made and are 8ozs pre cooked weight.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were let down by a local hotel at the last minute. Our party consisted of 4 ladies celebrating a 60th birthday and two dogs. David was so helpful on the phone and offered us two rooms. Everything was perfect for our needs. The food was good and the breakfasts were fantastic. The hotel is in a good position for exploring Ashbourne / Matlock / Dovedale and surrounding areas. The staff were helpful and very accommodating. We would return again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JANE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAPEAFRICA, Owner at The Dog & Partridge Country Inn, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Really pleased you had a nice stay and your friend enjoyed her birthday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Got a deal through Wowcher for 2 sunday lunches for £10.00. The Dog and Partridge is a quaint old inn, although a little tired looking, it has lovely views over the countryside, staff were very welcoming and attentive. We both had roast beef dinner, which was only average, if we had paid full price, which was approx £12.00 per person we would have been dissapointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mazzer21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAPEAFRICA, Owner at The Dog & Partridge Country Inn, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Sorry you only found our food average, have taken this up with the head chef,but glad you found our staff welcoming.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swinscoe
1.8 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ashbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
7.6 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Callow Hall Hotel
Callow Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mappleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
13.7 mi away
Makeney Hall Hotel
Makeney Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Belper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
16.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dog & Partridge Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dog & Partridge Country Inn

Property: The Dog & Partridge Country Inn
Address: Town End Lane, Swinscoe, Ashbourne DE6 2HS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Swinscoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Swinscoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dog & Partridge Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dog and Partridge Country Inn is set in glorious surroundings on the edge of the Derbyshire / Staffordshire Border. This Peak District Hotel provides the perfect base for sight-seeing and walking holidays. This Derbyshire Hotel has been owned by the same family for over twenty years. And is renowned for the clean and spacious Derbyshire Accommodation located in the grounds of the inn – all on the edge of the Peak District National Park. Our location provides a great holiday base for those wanting to explore Derbyshire or Staffordshire; for businesses needing a meeting or conference venue in a small Derbyshire Hotel or for guests wanting a great night out or a party venue at a Peak District Hotel. With many notable attractions such as Alton Towers, Matlock Bath, Chatsworth House, Carsington Water, Haddon Hall and the lovely market town of Ashbourne only a short drive away, landmarks like Dovedale, Beresford Dale and the fantastic Derbyshire Villages Ilam, Hartington and Tissington – famous for the well dressings – are also within easy reach. The Dog and Partridge Country Inn has long been a popular base for walkers, ramblers and climbers in the Peak District, with a wide choice of walks, routes and climbs of varying distances and degrees of difficulty, all within easy reach of this Peak District Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your The Dog & Partridge Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dog & Partridge Country Hotel Swinscoe
The Dog And Partridge Country Inn
Country Inn Swinscoe
Swinscoe Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing