We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check the fire and smoke alarms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Dog & Partridge Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Swinscoe B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Check the fire and smoke alarms”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

Recently booked for 2 night but due to an electrical fire adjacent to the room, we returned from breakfast to find smoke coming out of an adjoining storeroom and our room full of smoke. No smoke or fire alarm going off.The bathroom wall was scorched where the electrics had blown in our bathroom. We retrieved everything we could as 3 fire engines turned up. We checked out immediately and were given an apology that the smoke alarm did not go off. I think the fact we were at breakfast was lucky. If the fire had started in the night there would be nobody to apologise to.... apart from next of kin. What amazed us most was the room was on the internet by 11.00 available for booking!!
I know this can happen in any establishment but I would expect to hear a fire alarm or smoke alarm. My wife an I deliberated for a while on whether to post this and decided that it would be read by the owners, staff and others and in the future interest of guests who I am sure will enjoy their stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kdr1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D&PInn, Manager at The Dog & Partridge Country Inn, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
We are extremely sorry that we experienced a small electrical fire (Smoke) during your recent stay with us. I can assure you that the smoke/fire alarm did go off in the area of the fire but by the time you returned from Breakfast our well trained staff had made the area safe, distinguished the smoke, evacuated the immediate vicinity and turned off the alarm as we did not need to cause any further distress to other guests as the area had been made SAFE. Our competent staff had also turned off the main electrics as a precaution.

Your room did have minimal amount of smoke when you returned which had entered the bathroom by means of an extremely small hole behind the Shaver light fitting and no other damage was caused to your room. And therefore it was available that evening for guests to occupy.

We have an exemplary safety record and as Owners and Managers understand that safety of our Guests and Staff is paramount. We maintain and regular safety check all of our electrical items as well as maintaining and checking all fire alarms and smoke alarms on a regular basis.

We did have three fire engines attend site however the small fire had been dealt with before they arrived.

We value your opinions but do wish that you could have voiced your concerns directly as your view im sure will give people concerns that are really not necessary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    385
    165
    103
    114
See reviews for
311
570
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

My wife and I wanted to spend our honeymoon in Alton Towers and I'll be honest we were trying to book one of the onsite hotels but they were full and I'm glad they were, we ended up staying at the Dog and Partridge Inn and it was great, although I would say the rooms are technically shale’s to be honest that is better in my eyes, it's a basic sort of room with free view TV and an on suit bathroom with bath and shower and the usual amenities but what made this place stand out and so great were the staff, the food and the main building,
The main building itself is a lovely traditional building with all the original features, the dining area is set up beautifully with a conservatory attached giving you a gorgeous view of the fields and farms next door and the bar area is comfortable and very welcoming with an open wood burning fire giving it that extra little touch,
The food is amazing, the package we booked included a continental breakfast plus a 3 course meal which was all homemade cooking with ingredients sourced locally, I found that everything we ordered was cooked perfectly and tasted better than any other restaurant/hotel I've visited, and the portions..... well let’s just say they're not shy in Derbyshire when it comes to portions, neither me or my wife were able to finish everything we were given as much as we wanted to!
The staff were the friendliest and most helpful I've ever known in any business let alone hotels, always more than willing to help you in any way they can even if you may be a bit awkward! lol but as well as that they are so friendly and open and great to have a nice conversation with or even just a laugh with a little cheeky humor thrown in there,
All in all we had an amazing stay and next year when we visit those parts we are staying at the Dog and Partridge through choice.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mikey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

We found this place through Alton Towers, as it represented a considerable saving for the two nights compared to staying at the park, and was only a few miles away. The reception & restaurant are set in the old country inn, which has a lovely character. The rooms, which are set in the grounds in a chalet style arrangement, were a little bit small.
We were looking for somewhere to recover between full on days at the park, and the clean room and comfortable beds fitted the bill perfectly.
The inclusive breakfast was absolutely brilliant, and was a great start to both long days. We ate from the pub menu on our second evening, which was delicious with good portions.
We will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RichardJ_S_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D&PInn, Manager at The Dog & Partridge Country Inn, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
Thank-you for your lovely comments we really do appreciate great feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you all to the Dog and Partridge Country Inn in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Indeed there was a large lady turns out to be the owner, sprawled on a sofa barking orders as we walked in. Thought it was to be the start of a nightmare anniversary for us. However we were pleasantly surprised by some of the staffs manners, stunning gardens and views. The rooms were average, meals ok but on the expensive side but overall was a nice little break. Cannot remember the names, but a huge thank you to the man in the shirt and tie with a strong accent, and the ever smiling, friendly, barman (Charles?) who also showed us to our rooms, carried my bags and made our stay relaxed and enjoyable.Even parted with his own cigarettes when we had run out and refused payment. Nice touch that will not be forgotten!! We will not return but thank you for all your efforts!!
Sharon and Mark

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

Myself, my husband and our two Greyhounds have just returned from yet another excellent break at the Dog and Partridge. Thanks to Mary and Family, Trevor and all the Staff for once again making us feel so welcome and comfortable. This Inn really does cater for people who want to bring their dogs along, nothing is too much trouble. Great meals, plenty of choice and good portions.I love the different breads that accompany the evening meals such a lovely touch. The rooms are being re furbed to an even higher standard, always warm, clean and tons of hot water. The staff are approachable, ou only have to ask and if it is possible your request will be accomodated without fuss and always with a smile. Never want to leave can't wait to be back in the spring.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank finbarandoona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D&PInn, Owner at The Dog & Partridge Country Inn, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
Thankyou for another great review we look forward to seeing you all early next year.

Best Wishes

Mary and all the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

We too were greeted by a dark reception with a large lady lounging on the sofa! The rooms were fairly comfortable with decent en-suites. The partition between rooms was very very thin and we were awoken by the couple next door at 1.30am doing what can only be described as carrying out a lengthy DIY task on the headboard!! It was obviously not fixed when they awoke up at 7.30am as it needed some more attention.

One of our main gripes was with the price of the evening meal. Over £20 for a main meal which was far from gormet eating and nearly every meal was finished with a swirl of balsamic vinegar! Steer clear of the Thai Soup! Yuk! Breakfast was an event in itself, too many staff without a clue and staff being confused by other staff! Some staff did not present a good outlook for the hotel and I would suggest they stay away from the guests.
Requests for butter and tomato sauce took an age to reach the table whilst toast and cooked breakfast went cold. The breakfast pastry basket consisted of 1 croissant and 1 pan au chocolat both well over baked.

Tips for the hotel, soundproof the partition walls, hire industrious waiting staff, sack the chef, reduce the costs of restaurant prices and keep some members of staff away from the hotel guests.

This hotel has great potential when someone realises it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mildre39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Swinscoe hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
DERBYSHIRE
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

My wife and i stayed at the hotel on 20th oct we were made very welcome from the start. We had a lovely steak meal and a nice pint or two in cosy bar. The challet was warm and cosy spotlessly clean. We will definetly be paying a return visit shortly. Highly recomended.JOHN JEAN

Room Tip: WE STAYED IN A CHALLET VERY NICE No20 challets at the back are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOHN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D&PInn, Owner at The Dog & Partridge Country Inn, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
we are very plased you both enjoyed your recent stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you both back in the future

Kind Regards

Mary and all the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swinscoe
1.8 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ashbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
7.6 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Makeney Hall Hotel
Makeney Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Belper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
2.1 mi away
Callow Hall Hotel
Callow Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mappleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
13.7 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dog & Partridge Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dog & Partridge Country Inn

Property: The Dog & Partridge Country Inn
Address: Town End Lane, Swinscoe, Ashbourne DE6 2HS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Swinscoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Swinscoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dog & Partridge Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dog and Partridge Country Inn is set in glorious surroundings on the edge of the Derbyshire / Staffordshire Border. This Peak District Hotel provides the perfect base for sight-seeing and walking holidays. This Derbyshire Hotel has been owned by the same family for over twenty years. And is renowned for the clean and spacious Derbyshire Accommodation located in the grounds of the inn – all on the edge of the Peak District National Park. Our location provides a great holiday base for those wanting to explore Derbyshire or Staffordshire; for businesses needing a meeting or conference venue in a small Derbyshire Hotel or for guests wanting a great night out or a party venue at a Peak District Hotel. With many notable attractions such as Alton Towers, Matlock Bath, Chatsworth House, Carsington Water, Haddon Hall and the lovely market town of Ashbourne only a short drive away, landmarks like Dovedale, Beresford Dale and the fantastic Derbyshire Villages Ilam, Hartington and Tissington – famous for the well dressings – are also within easy reach. The Dog and Partridge Country Inn has long been a popular base for walkers, ramblers and climbers in the Peak District, with a wide choice of walks, routes and climbs of varying distances and degrees of difficulty, all within easy reach of this Peak District Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dog & Partridge Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dog & Partridge Country Hotel Swinscoe
The Dog And Partridge Country Inn
Country Inn Swinscoe
Swinscoe Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing