We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor meal and service”

The Dog & Partridge Country Inn Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Swinscoe
Price range: $6 - $25
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Poor meal and service”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had a Groupon voucher and ventured out into Derbyshire looking forward to a nice meal. Thinking that this could become a regular place to stop when out walking for the day. On Entering the pub/hotel the real fire was welcoming in the bar but the faded plastic flowers and jaded decor of the dining area was off putting. In addition the noisy staff in the kitchen, whose loud conversations we could clearly hear, was a distraction. The waitress was uninterested and didn't seem to want to join in with any pleasanteries. She tried to take my plate away when I clearly hadn't finished. The food itself was dreadful. My husband's curry was bland and the bhaji was burnt and inedible. My Staffordshire oatcake with mushrooms was swimming in what was supposed to be a creamy sauce but was in fact fat which had no taste, the mushroms were slimy and the oatcake was like a cold yorkshire pudding. The chips hadn't even been cooked properly. As a vegetarian I have had some poor meals in my time but this was the worst I've ever had. The best thing about the meal was the salad which was straight out of a bag. I am glad I didn't buy a voucher to stay overnight when it was on offer from Groupon earlier in the year. That was a lucky escape! Avoid at all costs, is my advice.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Derbyresponse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAPEAFRICA, Owner at The Dog & Partridge Country Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
I am sorry you didn't enjoy your meal in the resturant, firstly we do not serve microwaved meals.
As to the toilet seat a new one has been fitted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    69
    46
    23
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

My partner had the wild mushrooma and chicken and I had the Thai curry - both were excellent. The service was very good - we had plenty of room around the table and privacy to talk - the staff were friendly and informative and very attentive. We did not feel rushed and we enjoyed a drink the very comfortable bar after our meal.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank drinkinglunalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent location, value for money, with a warm friendly atmosphere.”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Welcoming reception with a cosy rustic feel. Our room in the grounds had recently been refurbished which included new double glazing. The double and single beds were very comfortable, and the bathroom clean and tidy. Although we were on a groupon deal, the restaurant food gave a great selection and we did not feel we had to upgrade, and thanks to ex-farmer David's local produce knowledge the vegetables were wonderfully fresh. We would have no qualms about visiting again or recommending to our friends. And a special mention to Jenny for helping us park the car.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laudonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Make sure you're hungry if you go here. The food is just wonderful and the millionaire cheesecake is to DIE for!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robaberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good meal”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The restaurant was nice and the menu was good - lots of choice for even a fussy eater! I usually struggle to find something I want but not here. Would recommend!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kags68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dog & Partridge Country Inn Restaurant also viewed

Thorpe, Ashbourne
Ashbourne, Derbyshire
 
Ashbourne, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Dog & Partridge Country Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing