We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chefs night off”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
YHA National Forest
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed for two nights on the winter warmer deal. Agree with other reviewers that self catering facilities are far to small for number of visitors. The room was nice and clean so no complaints there. Our deal included evening meal - as had our previous two hostels but there was little or no effort made. Edale and Castleton had really impressed us with three courses on offer and juice etc ( Very welcome after a hard days hiking) so this felt very disappointing in comparison.
Another word to the wise - if you plan on bringing bikes don't rely on being able to lock them in the bike shed as its very small and cramped even in very low season we struggled.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mouse84139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nat F, Manager at YHA National Forest, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Hi Guys,

I am really sorry you found you stay at YHA National Forest not what you expected. We have learned lessons from the winter warmer and we will be much more flexible and creative next time we have a similar deal with our meal choices.

Hope to see you again, let us know and we will throw in a free breakfast for your family.

Andy Partridge
Hostel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
There are newer reviews for YHA National Forest
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 76 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is a modern hostel in what seems an odd location. Perhaps the YHA can see that people will be drawn there in the future. We stayed only one night and there was only one other guest.
The communal areas were warm and comfortable but our room was distinctly chilly. The self catering kitchen was adequate but very small and would be a problem if the place ever fills up.
The hostel is very noisy - by this I mean every door bangs and clatters. There does not seem to be any sound deadening in the walls. Where was AD E when this place was designed, not in the architect's mind.
The car park was unusually good (I mean it was big enough) for the YHA. If you are travelling on the M42 this hostel is a good stopover point.

Staff were good and clearly very friendly with each other.

Room Tip: The en-suite rooms are set up for disabled access. In our experience, unless you need an accessible...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fredw56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nat F, Front Office Manager at YHA National Forest, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. I'm sorry to hear that your room was chilly if you had spoke to member of staff they would of been able to of looked into that for you.

Look forward to you staying with us again.

Sarah

Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I stayed in this YHA hostel with a group of 23 school children and 2 other staff. The staff at the hostel could not have been more helpful. I rang to confirm details a week before and the manager sent me a bedplan so that we could assign rooms before arrival, they sent me the risk assessment information that I needed and also provided a room for evening activites. They had also arranged for us to be on a corridor with no other guests, meaning that the group could be a little noisier than if we had been mixed in amongst other guests. We had a bit of trouble finding the hostel, but I rang from the coach after taking a wrong tuning and the person I spoke to stayed on the phone and talked me in with directions until he could see the coach from the window. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the food was good, hot and pleantiful. The only complaint was that the rooms were either to one extreme or the other temperature-wise. Whereas my room was fine, the other 2 staff rooms were really cold and some of the group's rooms were too warm.

Having previously stayed in a YHA in London, I was expecting a similar experience, but for the price we paid, we could not have expected anything better. I would certanly take a school group to the National Forest YHA again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HorseyGirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nat F, Front Office Manager at YHA National Forest, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Hi,

Thank you for your great review. We are glad you and the students enjoyed your stay with us.
Look forward to you booking with us again in the future.

Thanks,

Sarah
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed overnight on a journey, and didn't get to enjoy the walks in the area, which looked great. Our room was tiny and a bit claustrophobic, because the double bed had a bunk over the top. The mattress was also a bit hard, and there was no shelf in the little ensuite shower room, so nowhere to put toiletries. We had remembered to take our own towels, but other hostels we've stayed at provide towels in the private rooms. It was great to arrive late and get a drink at the bar, and in the morning to help ourselves to a solid breakfast from a buffet groaning with food.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olderromantic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nat F, Front Office Manager at YHA National Forest, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Hi,

Thanks for your great review.

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thanks,

Sarah
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This was our first experience of a modern YHA and we hated it the self catering kitchen was dirty and too small for the size of the youth hostel we had to ask for cups because there was none in the kitchen there was only 2 tea towels in the kitchen they werent changed at all while we were there we were there for 2 nights. We were woken at 8am by very loud music and men shouting instructions which we found out was a fitness bootcamp we were not informed that this was going to be taking place and when we complained about it we were just dismissed all in all we will never be using this youth hostel and we feel the ethos of YHA is completely lost on this hostel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nat F, Manager at YHA National Forest, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

HI Guys,

I am so sorry you had a bad experience when you stayed with us last September. Unfortunately we were very short staffed and you were staying with the Brothers Bootcamp group. This is not an excuse for the service you experienced but I hope it helps you to understand this is not how we normally operate.

We have learned a lot of hard lessons since then and we have feed back your complaints to the boot camp group and want you to know we took your comments very seriously.

We now cater for the Bootcamp group which means they are out of the self catering kitchen and we make our self catering kitchen a priority when it comes to cleaning and making sure enough cups ect are in the kitchen at all times.

I know you probably wont visit us again but we are a different hostel and we have a great team. If you did decide to come and see us again I could offer you a free over night stay for a family of 4.

Sorry once again,

Andy Partridge,
Hostel Manager
YHA National Forest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Basic but clean, friendly and modern, we stayed in a private ensuite room for just £30 to attend a friend's party nearby.

Bit annoying not having any toiletries/towels but the bed was fine and the hostel had everything else we needed for our short stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barnabybleach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nat F, Front Office Manager at YHA National Forest, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Hi,

Thank you very much for your review. We look forward to seeing you again.

Thanks,
Sarah

Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

This was my first stay in a youth hostel for over 30 years, and the first ever with our kids. Youth hostelling has changed in the intervening years for the better: family rooms, accessing facilities all day and serving beer on an evening. The cost is slightly high but given the location and facilities, the value for money is excellent. We intend to visit more as a family in the future.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Via F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nat F, Front Office Manager at YHA National Forest, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Hi,

Thank you very much for your review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thanks,

Sarah
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swadlincote
6.3 mi away
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Central Hotel
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Cen...
#5 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
239 reviews
9.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tamworth
3.4 mi away
Best Western Appleby Park Hotel
Best Western Appleby Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Appleby Magna
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
YHA Ilam Hall
YHA Ilam Hall
#1 of 2 in Ilam
247 reviews
23.0 mi away
YHA Dimmingsdale
YHA Dimmingsdale
#2 of 2 in Oakamoor
6 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Bulls Head
The Bulls Head
#1 of 1 in Hartshorne
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA National Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA National Forest

Address: National Forest 48 Bath Lane | Moira, Swadlincote DE12 6BD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Swadlincote
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Swadlincote
Price Range: $25 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA National Forest 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your YHA National Forest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing