We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5th birthday party”

Swadlincote Ski and Snowboard Centre
Ranked #3 of 15 things to do in Swadlincote
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a large leisure facility & dry ski slope providing Skiing, Snowboarding, Toboggan and Sno-tubing with a fully licensed bar and restaurant. We also have a brand new activity 'The Viper Slide' opening July 2012. We offer Lessons, Open Practice Sessions, Ski and Snowboard Clubs, Birthday Parties, Weddings, Christening and much more! Call our friendly and helpful staff for more details.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“5th birthday party”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We had our daughter and her friends 5th birthday party here and found it excellent value for money and great fun. The children and adults all had a go on the snow tubing and the toboggan. You need an adult to go on the toboggan if you are under 8. We even managed to get the siblings who had come to the party to get a go which I thought was nice. The staff were very good explaining everything and were polite and gave us everything we asked for even down to foil to wrap the cake in for the party bags as I had forgotten to bring some. The food was nuggets/fish/burger and chip meals and were good sized portions with ice cream and jelly for pud. The adults were able to order and eat at the same time too.
Definitely would visit again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank clarebel101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwadSki C, Manager at Swadlincote Ski and Snowboard Centre, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Hi, thank you for such a nice and detailed review. We are pleased to hear you all had such a great time! Hope to see you back in 2014, keep an eye on our website for Open Days/Bank Holiday Offers where you can book parties and save 25%!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    80
    17
    9
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fun sno-tubing, premises a little tired, helpful staff”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Had a good value groupon voucher for sno tubing and tobogganing or a family of 4. Sno tubing was excellent fun, for 5 year old and parents alike. Queue for toboggan was huge so we had to give it a miss as another sno tubing session booked (had to split as small daughter in wheelchair needing supervision). Staff offered open ticket for another day for toboggan which was great. Not great for wheelchair viewers as many steps. Premises need updating a little but functional enough. Overall a good afternoon. Lots of fun. Good value. Will be back for tobogganing. Recommended.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank lichfieldjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwadSki C, Manager at Swadlincote Ski and Snowboard Centre, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, pleased to see you had a fab time on the sno-tubing, the toboggan que can build up quickly sometimes but we hope to see you back soon to finish off you rides! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leics
Level Contributor
237 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“First time visit for lessons. Very good!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Having used the snowdome at Tamworth before I thought Id give this place a try as its closer. The place is easy to find. set back on a hill, adequate parking. Walk though, reception Staff all very cheery and helpfull. Place could do with a cleanup and the equipment looks well used. Bar / food facilities with a view of the slope. Button and rope lifts. Resurfaced dry slopes. a main slope and leaner slope.

For open practise its just £10 per hour, Lessons around £15 ph. We went for private snowboard lessons which rolled in at £45 ph for 2 persons. Must say, very good tuition and we got a lot more out of it as opposed to a group lesson so well worth it. We are returning again this weekend for more.

Theres also snow rings and a toboggan for kids & so caters for groups, birthday parties etc. Probably good for group events etc but not so good for wedding receptions! there was one on while we were there.


If you are intent on learning before the season starts this is a great place to do it. Good value as well.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MITCHPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwadSki C, Manager at Swadlincote Ski and Snowboard Centre, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for a great review, great to hear you enjoyed your lessons with us. Keep an eye on our website for details on our Winter Open Day coming up :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ski in swad worth a day out.”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Reasonable value for money and great fun for kids parties. I would recommend hiring the rings my kids had great fun youngest been 8 oldest been 15. Also located near to town centre with shops and cinema in walking distance.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank VARZ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwadSki C, Manager at Swadlincote Ski and Snowboard Centre, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your review of our centre. Pleased to hear you all had a great time with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good fun for a hen party”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I found this as a cheaper fun alternative to some of the high priced hen party activities in the area. I was a bit worried about booking as i thought it might only be suitable for children and also after reading some reviews on here but i went ahead, nothing much to lose with our budget. We traveled from Asbourne, it was easy to find with sat nav. Lots of parking and straight into reception were we were told about lockers and facilities, then it was out to the slopes for safety brieding. There were 8 of us and we had a deal, £13 for Sno-tubes, viper slides and tobogganing. We had 30 minutes on snow tubes, 3 rides on the viper slides and 4 rides on the toboggan which i think was good it was about 1.5 hours in total. It was pretty tiring carrying your ring up the hills but well worth the fun going down. Tom the guy that looked after us was friendly and informative. We all had a great time, yes the place is a little tired looking and old but for the money you cant moan and to be fair you were concentrating on the activity not the surroundings, i wouldnt want the place to be glammed up if it meant the prices going sky high after all its an outdoor activity centre, just a simple spruce up of the overgrowth would be a start.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank kel1042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwadSki C, Manager at Swadlincote Ski and Snowboard Centre, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for such a detailed positive review of our centre. Really pleased to hear you had a great time and i hope the wedding went well! See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swadlincote Ski and Snowboard Centre also viewed

Ashbourne, Derbyshire
 
Ashby de la Zouch, Leicestershire
 

Been to Swadlincote Ski and Snowboard Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing