We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit!!”

Halfway House Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 63 Restaurants in Swadlincote
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: All food home made. Cater for all lunchtime specials from £6.45 With a good choice, also daily specials lunch 2 till 2 evening 6 till 9 Pub open all day for drinks Closed for Food from 21st December recommence 3rd January 2017
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit!!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Excellent food and service and the first time our group of 12 have all enjoyed the food atmosphere and service in the sane place. Which is quite an achievement !! So go out and try it yourself I'd highly recommend it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellievelda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    26
    14
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Very pleasant meal here at the weekend. Staff were friendly, and overall a very enjoyable afternoon with family

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coalville, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“How Rude”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We have been planning to eat at the halfway house since we visited with our walking group and all including dogs were made most welcome but dropping in just the two of us and the dog for a drink on an admittedly busy lunchtime and after finding a seat which we occupied for a half hour we were surprised to be asked by an unapologetic member of staff if we and another couple could move to allow the table (unreserved) to be used by diners.

Now I realise that commercially this made sense for the pub but is probably not the correct way to treat customers to add insult to injury when we did stand in the only space available a diner complained that he could no longer see the football on Television, okay not the pubs fault but..... We did offer to take our drinks home with us but this met stony silence.

Despite this we do still intend to eat there with friends (as long as we don't unseat and innocent drinkers) as the menu was tempting and the food looked and smelt wonderful..... but come on Landlords pubs are not restaurants they are, or were somewhere for drinking and socialising and resting your bones there is a time place and space for everything so don't make it all about food......

  • Visited March 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bungle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“A genuine surprise, well worth a visit”
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Went here for a meal with friends, been putting it off for a while because thought it would be too expensive! How wrong we were! It turned out to be a very good value meal in excellent surroundings with excellent service!
Upon entering you are greeted by a quintessential English country pub, a real gem for these times. It was lovely and cosy, really welcoming. All the bar staff were very pleasant and do a great job. The waitress who took us to our table wasn't as good however, she seemed a little nervous. Nevertheless she tried her best.
When walking to the restaurant area I was highly surprised. It was almost the complete opposite to the cosy country pub - an almost fine dining restaurant. It was decorated really well with a great feel. We were seated and immediately set to choosing our meal. Everyone but me chose rump steak whereas I had the chicken curry. The food didn't take long to arrive at all and w presented really well. The portions are a great size and don't leave you wanting much more! My curry was very tasty, however not spicy enough for me, but that is being picky! One slight complaint was the fact some pieces of chicken were a little chewy/grisly.
For dessert I chose the lemon meringue pie which was extremely nice! The presentation was perfect, a long thin glass plate with two thin slices of pie and a small amount of cream. A drizzle of lemon sauce and some sliced lemon finished it off.
Overall I was highly impressed with the Halfway House. The food was really nice and cooked very well, the restaurant clean and decorated to a very high standard. One big compliment goes to the owners, Paul and Pete, for being very welcoming and cooking such great food. I would recommend a visit to anyone and look forward to going again to try a different menu choice.

Helpful?
Thank robj_1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level 6 Contributor
318 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Try the Fish and Chips”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We have eaten here lots of times and have never been disappointed. Have tried lots of their dishes both lunchtime specials and from the main menu. The restaurant is only small but perfectly formed. The fish and chips are always good. Home made batter on the fish which can be skinned if you ask, chips delicious. The lunchtime menu is brilliant value for money. Pub very much a local, but people do go out of their way to eat here.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DerbyshireCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Halfway House Restaurant also viewed

Swadlincote, Derbyshire
Hartshorne, Derbyshire
 
Ashby de la Zouch, Leicestershire
Acresford, Swadlincote
 
Ashby de la Zouch, Leicestershire
Church Gresley, Swadlincote
 

Been to Halfway House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing