We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Country pub”
Review of The Hardinge Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hardinge Arms
Ranked #1 of 3 Melbourne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wrexham Wales
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good Country pub”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed here whilst attending a race meeting at Donnington Park. The room was in an annexe over the yard from the hotel. It was comfortable and clean and there was little noise from the hotel or the adjacent road. We ate in the restaurant with good food very well presented and served. As we had to be away early the following morning a continental breakfast was left in the fridge in our room which was first class. the present landlords have only recently taken over and are making every effort to ensure that their guests are satisfied. Keep up the good work and don't lose the country pub atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RAYKAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyk2010, Owner at The Hardinge Arms, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for writing us a review. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay here at The Hardinge Arms. We drive to be a charming local country pub with fantastic service and we want it to continue. We are glad ou enjoyed your continental breakfast and we hope that you one to stay with us again soon. Many thanks, Kat and Tom Keogh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    30
    7
    9
    3
See reviews for
24
51
3
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leyland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Two adult couples spent a Saturday night at the very pleasant Hardinge Arms due to proximity to Donington Park (motorcycle racing the following day). Staff were very friendly and helpful and the evening meal that we had in the restaurant was excellent and really good value for money. Breakfast again couldn't be faulted and we would definitely stay their again. The only thing I would mention is that light sleepers may struggle with the sound of passing traffic but I would imagine this is probably at it's worst when there's an event at the circuit (as there was in our case). A lovely setting and a great experience, would definitely recommend to others and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyk2010, Owner at The Hardinge Arms, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed your breakfast. It is all locally sauced and so we are very proud of the breakfast we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Lovely friendly owners, fab rooms with plenty of room and great breakfast, was a shame they dont do food on sundays but they did recommend a fantastic pub only 5 mins away that we had a stunning meal at. we only stayed 1 night but will definitely return next time we are in the area!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stace3011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyk2010, Owner at The Hardinge Arms, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for spending your time to write us a review, we really do appreciate it. Hopefully we will see you again for some more traditional pub food and well kept ales. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We received a warm welcome on arrival our room was located across the courtyard with parking outside our room. Well furnished with a massive bed and a hospitality tray, lovely big towels and a bathroom with soap and shampoo available we have found in a number of places this is no longer the case. We dined in the restaurant and it was first class we both chose the ribeye steak and certainly weren't disappointed. The following morning breakfast again was just the job freshly cooked and very enjoyable. The owners and staff were great to get on with, very friendly and welcoming we are certainly looking forward to our next stay at the Hardinge Arms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyk2010, Owner at The Hardinge Arms, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. Tom and I have worked extremely hard since we took over at the end of February so it is fantastic to get such kind feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Just called as a passerby on Tuesday lunch. Warm welcome good range menu at reasonable prices.Our group of 4 are always very critical of pub lunches, but NO complaints on any respects!
Highly unusual for us!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigel c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We spent the night at the Hardinge Arms last Sunday as we were attending a wedding at the nearby Donington Parkhouse Farm Hotel. We arranged early check in with ease, and on arrival were warmly welcomed by the landlord and lady in the pub (which has been tastefully and thoughtfully renovated). Our room was across the courtyard in a quaint cottage, with our own entrance, which was gorgeous inside, with a comfy bed, large shower, and personal touches. The breakfast was delicious and high quality. We felt the price offered good value for money and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend a stay at the Hardinge Arms to family and friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss_Princey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

stayed here last night on way to a meeting at Calke Abbey. The new owners were delightful and friendly, the room (across the courtyard) was clean and roomy and the Burger I had for dinner was splendid. A good range of local real ales and a fantastic full english (with the best back bacon and black pudding that I have had for a long time)
thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
0.6 mi away
Harpur's of Melbourne
Harpur's of Melbourne
#3 of 3 in Melbourne
165 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#1 of 3 in Melbourne
124 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Priest House by the River
The Priest House by the River
#5 of 7 in Castle Donington
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Donington Park Farmhouse Hotel
3.4 mi away
Days Inn Donington A50
Days Inn Donington A50
#1 of 1 in Shardlow
359 reviews
4.3 mi away
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
#6 of 7 in Castle Donington
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hardinge Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hardinge Arms

Property: The Hardinge Arms
Address: Hardinge Arms Main Street | Kings Newton, Melbourne DE73 8BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hardinge Arms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carolyn and Kevin now run this beautiful,refurbished 16th Century Inn. The restaurant serves a superb menu of fresh, seasonal food with an extensive wine list. The six en-suite letting rooms in the converted stable block together with a delicious full English breakfast make it an ideal place to stay. Being close to Donington Park race circuit, East Midlands airport, M1, M42 and the Calke Abbey estate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your The Hardinge Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing