We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Melbourne View Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Coach House(Melbourne)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Donington Manor Hotel(Castle Donington)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (257)
Filter reviews
257 results
Traveler rating
202
31
8
11
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
202
31
8
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsceremony roomthe ownerwedding receptiondonington parklovely groundsrace trackbirthday partyboth morningsfamily get togethereast midlands airportfull english breakfastattending a weddingpot roastexcellent foodlittle gemsallyvenue
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 257 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2014

we attended a wedding reception at this hotel and was really disappointed the meal was cold and as we was the last table to be served there was not enough bread rolls so our table didn't get any and they also ran out of broccoli. the children's meal was very poor much like the service

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sheffield21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taggieDoningtonPark, Owner at Melbourne View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us review. I am disappointed that you did not raise the issues you had, at the time of the meal. It is very easy to provide a hot meal and we had both fresh rolls and vegetables spare in the kitchen and could have made your experience with us a positive one. All our staff have name badges so if you were unhappy with the service I would have been happy to discuss this with you and we could then give extra training to the individuals that need it. I am really pleased with my staff and normally they are highly praised for their efficiency and professionalism. If would like to call me to discuss this further please do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Booked this Hotel last minute really glad I did. The welcome is great and Sally the owner really knows how to look after guests. Stay at many hotels and this is really a family run superb hotel and will definately book here again. Great value. Breakfast really good.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
Thank Mapledown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taggieDoningtonPark, Owner at Melbourne View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely review. It's so important for the hotel to see we are getting it right. As a small family business we pride ourselves on making guests feel it is their home from home. Thanks again and we look forward seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We had our wedding at Melbourne View on 9th Nov, and it was an absolutely perfect day. Sally, the owner, is lovely and always willing to help with anything, ourselves and all our guests felt very welcome and at home. We were lucky enough to have a clear sunny day, the backdrop on our photos shows the spectacular view. The ceremony room was perfect and beautifully decorated by Sally; the great thing is it starts as a neutral canvas so can easily be transformed to fit any colour/theme. The bedrooms are nicely furnished and very clean, our bridal sweet had a skylight which meant we could lie in bed and see the stars, which was a nice bonus! The food was lovely, breakfast was all home cooked with plenty of choice, the wedding meals are also home made and very flexible to be tailored to what you want. The waitressing and bar staff were all lovely throughout. We had a really magical wedding and would recommend this venue highly. Thank you Sally!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mr_and_Mrs_B_1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

This venue was perfect. Sally was amazing and helped in any way possible as well as the rest of her staff. Rooms are gorgeous as well as the food. With a great view to top it all off!! Everyone who attended the wedding also commented on how lovely the venue was and how scrummy the food was!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hayb84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My family stayed here in November 2013. Check in is from 11am but when we got to our room it hadn't been cleaned from the last guests. Whilst this was put right it was still disappointing.
The room was cold, the heating wasn't on so we ended up putting on another layer in bed. The rooms are basic and the bathroom sported a lot of cobwebs.
Please note that breakfast is stopped being served from 9am so it's an early rise and shine if you want to eat. Whist the breakfast was a full English the, the sausages were not cooked through and one of my family members said they tasted sour. When mentioning this to the waitress she didn't even turn around to acknowledge our comment, grunted she would make the manager aware and walked off.
The owner of the hotel is lovely and cannot fault her, we were apologised too for the room not being ready but still charged an overpriced £85.
One good thing I can say about the hotel is the view is amazing but it's in the country side right next to donning ton market so not near a town centre. Would make a good location for walkers

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b0z88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taggieDoningtonPark, Owner at Melbourne View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, your feedback is greatly valued. As stated on our website, check-out is usually 10.30am and check-in is usually from 4pm. Whilst I can only apologise for one of the rooms in your party not being ready at 11am when you arrived, both were ready for check-in by 12 noon. In this instance early check-in was discussed in advance, and we agreed that for no extra charge, the room would be ready as soon as possible, following the check-out of the previous occupant.


During your stay, breakfast was served 7-9am and your party each received a full-cooked breakfast at 9.20am. The sausages served for breakfast are of a high quality and come from our local supplier. I am sorry to hear that the flavour was not to your personal taste. To date we have never had them described as sour.


Our central heating runs on a 24°C thermostat and is controlled by a timer. In line with current recommendations, at 12 midnight the temperature goes down until 6am before increasing again. There are also extra blankets provided in every room.


Room prices are very much in line with our competitors and I am sorry that you feel you did not receive value for money. I am disappointed that you did not feel able to express this at the time of check-out, as now, there is very little that can be done to rectify your experience.


Thank you again for your review and we hope that you can accept our deepest apologies. We would love the chance to provide you with a more positive experience and therefore hope that you would consider staying with us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews