We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place on Earth for Sunday Lunch !!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Melbourne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The John Thompson Inn & Brewery
Ranked #2 of 3 Melbourne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best Place on Earth for Sunday Lunch !!”
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Have been coming here for the best part of three years and can't fault it ! This establishment has got every part of a successful business right ! It is a traditional pub with beams, fire place with inglenook, plenty of dining tables and Sunday Lunch is the best ever ! BUT, (can't believe I've put a 'but' ) only if you like a Beef Carvery, the best in the land, ( has to be ) The service is great, the food great, the price great, the ambience great. Having said they only serve Beef, they also offer ham salad, jacket potatoes etc. Desert's, all home made and delicious, always a queue waiting to dine ! I almost want to delete this review, as I want to keep this all to myself. If you decide to enjoy this experience, ENJOY !!!!!

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Val F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    27
    5
    1
    4
See reviews for
22
43
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Went here for an evening drink, location is lovely and rural. The pub has a real country-pub feel which was fantastic- log file, old beams and a gorgeous black labrador snoozing away.

Drinks were well priced and the service was great. Cant wait to return!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abee88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I have not stayed in the lodges but have eaten in the pub many times. Food is only served at lunch times and the menu is not extensive but adequate with a daily roast beef carvery, salads, jacket potatoes or sandwiches. I have only ever had the carvery but is always very well cooked and excellent value for money with deliciously tender beef and scrummy yorkshire puddings. There is always a home made crumble or bread and butter pudding if you have room!
The staff are very friendly in the main and the pub has a welcoming atmosphere with newspapers, games and a warm fire.
It really is very good value and is often busy which speaks for itself.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAXINEOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

After staying at the John Thompson last September, we went back for a few days between Christmas and New Year. Once again, the hospitality shown to us and our friends by Nick and the team was fantastic. The lodges once again were spotlessly clean, and the unlimited welcome pack really is a bonus. The pub itself was warm, welcoming, and a real haven away from the rain and floods. The food also was excellent, both the carvery and the sandwiches. I really do love staying here, and am really looking forward to visiting again in the Spring.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philippam2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

A group of friends booked 5 of the John Thompson's lodges for a weekend away in September

The quality of the accommodation exceeded expectations. Spotlessly clean, warm and cosy with every amenity.

The food and drink we enjoyed in the pub was to the highest standard and served by friendly staff in a welcoming and hospitable environment

A unique pub with old fashioned values .. and its own brewery !!

We have already booked for later in the year

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StuTaylor25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

This is a great place. We booked 5 of the 6 log cabins and stayed for the weekend. The cabins were excellent and really comfortable, and the pub offered great food and drink. The Sunday carvery was really lovely. A big thanks to Nick and the team, we are looking forward to coming back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philippam2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Visited yesterday after a walk around ingleby , I asked if we could use the car park prior to the walk in the morning and the guy behind the bar said no problem.

We returned for lunch about 1.30 ish, they do stop serving at 2pm (Sunday Carvery) we were seated in the conservatory because there were 7 of us and it was fine.

Bar staff excellent, he remembered that he had given me a slightly short measure because the barrel needed changing and returned to the table a little while later with a fresh glass and a smile, my brother has some JT brew and it was excellent, I had a taste and had I not been driving would had stayed for more!

We all had carvery, Beef was excellent as were the potatoes and Veg, really great meal and plently of it, we also had deserts however 2 of the childrens portions were slightly small and as a consequence were not charged for these!

We all noticed the lodges at the back of the Pub, they look lovely and I'm sure a great location for a holiday or short breaks.

All in all we throughly enjoyed and will be returning for more hospitality and good food in the future - thank you!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessie269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
2.5 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#1 of 3 in Melbourne
124 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Priest House by the River
The Priest House by the River
#5 of 7 in Castle Donington
755 reviews
2.6 mi away
Harpur's of Melbourne
Harpur's of Melbourne
#3 of 3 in Melbourne
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Unicorn Inn
The Unicorn Inn
#1 of 2 in Newton Solney
91 reviews
3.8 mi away
ibis budget Derby
ibis budget Derby
#1 of 1 in Willington
558 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The John Thompson Inn & Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The John Thompson Inn & Brewery

Property: The John Thompson Inn & Brewery
Address: Ingleby, Melbourne DE73 7HW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Melbourne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Melbourne
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The John Thompson Inn & Brewery Hotel Melbourne
The John Thompson Inn And Brewery

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing