We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly B & B”
Review of The Coach House

The Coach House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Coach House
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Friendly B & B”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We booked to stay at the lovley B & B, right in the heart of melbourne. We could easily walk to the pubs in the village. The room was very well equipped and the host could not have been more freindly or helpfull, pointing out local things to see and do. The breakfast was excellent. Good choice and very quick.
I would stay here again if in the area.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SallyS844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley G, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. It is always great to know that you want to come back. Melbourne is a really great area to visit or use as a base to travel around the area. Kind regards Beverley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    14
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
39
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Derby
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Very friendly and welcoming owners - couldn't do enough for us - very helpful. Wonderful breakfasts - a selection of cooked or continental that are guaranteed to fill you to late afternoon! We had 2 different rooms over 2 stays and both were very comfortable and warm. We liked Melbourne so much we have now made it our home :o)

Room Tip: They are all equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ERYL18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley G, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and recommendations. I have spotted quite a few past guests who now live in Melbourne and stayed with us whilst relocating. Melbourne is a very friendly place to visit and live. See you around Beverley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This is an exceptional guest house located in some truly breathtaking English countryside. The room was clean, well maintained and modern with extremely comfortable beds and a first class en-suite bathroom. The reasonable rate included a flat-screen TV with plenty of channels, tea & coffee, biscuits and a superb breakfast choice. With all the right boxes ticked the real difference from other B&Bs (and I've stayed in numerous hotels, guest houses, etc on recent business trips which included some 'top' hotels in Las Vegas, LA and London) was the friendliness of the owners! Many thanks for a wonderful stay. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley G, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Pleased that our little guest house can stand up there with the big guys! Thank you so much for your review. Kind regards Beverley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Lovely B&B. We booked a night here as we were doing a trackday at Donington Park. Very clean and tidy. Friendly owners made us feel very welcome The breakfast was lovely as was the room. The place is situated in the beautiful/quaint market town of Melbourne which was lovely to take a stroll round on a warm summers evening and enjoy a pint. The architecture of the whole place is very different to where I live which was lovely to see for a change. I will definately be booking again the next time we go to Donington.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley G, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and felt at home. The race track is close by, just a short drive. Thanks again. Beverley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The B and B, is spotless, comfortable and the owners very welcoming. Breakfast is excellent and it is in a great location.

I have stayed here on and off for 9 months and it has always been great. Melbourne is a nice place to stay away from Derby.It has quaint shops and good places to eat.

Room Tip: Best rooms are in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley G, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. Repeat business is just what we like and I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards Beverley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Clean tidy comfortable rooms. But its a bed and breakfast and certainly not a great one at that. The staff are good and the breakfast average. It does what it says on the tin. Cheap bed and breakfast in a lovely old town.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley G, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for your comments. Sorry we didn't meet your needs sufficiently. We are just a Bed and Breakfast but hope that we can offer the personal touches to make your stay right for you. I think we missed the mark for your visit. Kind regards Beverley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spijkenisse, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed at the Coach House for one night (aug 12 2012). Great value ! If you have to look for minuses, every place has them, it is breakfast. Compared to selected other B&B it was nice, not great. Donington is very close by and Melbourne (UK) has some nice surprises when you set out to look for them. Recommandable !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley G, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. Kind regards Beverley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
0.2 mi away
Harpur's of Melbourne
Harpur's of Melbourne
#3 of 3 in Melbourne
166 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Priest House by the River
The Priest House by the River
#5 of 7 in Castle Donington
755 reviews
5.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Donington Park Farmhouse Hotel
4.4 mi away
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
#6 of 7 in Castle Donington
266 reviews
9.9 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach House

Property: The Coach House
Address: 69 Derby Road, Melbourne DE73 8FE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Melbourne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coach House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Popular 4 star Guest House offering great value comfortable ensuite rooms and fabulous English breakfasts, cereals, fresh fruit & home made jams. Situated in historic Melbourne, just a short walk from excellent pubs, restaurants, shops and a supermarket. Located in The National Forest, we are close to 3 outstanding National Trust houses, Nottingham, Chatsworth, Twycross Zoo, EMA and Royal Crown Derby. Free wireless broadband and parking. Personally managed ensuring your stay is pleasant and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The Coach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing