We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A home from home!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Coach House

The Coach House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Coach House
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Fareham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A home from home!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Booked a long weekend to see the Truck Racing at Donington. The Bed and breakfast is situated about five mins drive from the race track. Beverley and Adrian was very welcoming and couldnt do enough for us. The bed and breakfast had a real home warmth about it and the double rooms were very large. Melbourne Village is very quant and good for a walk around. Lots of nice restaurants there too to tempt you.
The bed was very comfortable and everything was clean and tidy. The breakfasts were delicious.
Highly recommended.
Will definately be staying again.

Room Tip: Due to the history of the building, the steep staircase may be an issue for some people so ask for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NG1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley G, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments and recommendations. I was so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very convenient for the race track. Kind regards Beverley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    14
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
36
5
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

Booked for one night only ready for Track day @ Donington the following morning.
Ideal location. Room small but very comfortable. Owner could not have been more helpful, even organising the parking to ensure easy early morning getaway. Very comforatble bed. Wide choice of stuff for breakfast. Melbourne itself is worth exploring!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steav_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley G, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, as well as enjoying the delights of Melbourne. Each room is different in size and shape and you did have our smallest room, sorry, although it still has a king sized bed, which I hope makes up for the lack of space! Kind regards Beverley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed for a long weekend and had a great time. The location is beautiful, the rooms are perfect and the owners are so freindly and helpful. We will definately be staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juni0r78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley G, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind comments. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards Beverley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

My partner and I took a very last minute break and telephoned to book a room here for 1 night. We were looked after really well. Our room including the en suite was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The bed was fab also. Breakfast was excellent. Hopefully we will be back one day!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bertieb43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley G, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments and recommendations. It's always nice to hear when we do things right. Thanks again. Beverley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

I loved this place. The service was great, the price was extremely reasonable and the rooms were spacious, clean and very modern. Melbourne is a great city to visit and this is definitely the place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley G, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
I am so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us at The Coach House. Melbourne certainly is a great please to visit although it is more of a small town than a city. Thank you for the review and kind comments. Kind regards Beverley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Excellent room, excellent breakfast, and a more than excellent welcome, and, at a great rate. Happy to concur with the rest of the reviews on Tripadvisor which quite rightly puts this up there as the best accommodation in the area. The Indian just down the road (Zeerah), and the Mileburne of course, also come highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrbowlerhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley G, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and great review. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. You are quite correct, Melbourne has some great restaurants to choose from all within walking distance. Kind regards Beverley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucester
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2011

Myself,My Son & A FreindStayed Here for 1 night for the TOURING CARS AT DONNINGTON in April. I was so impressed I Brought my wife for our wedding anniversary & stayed for 2 nights good value very clean & superb breakfast Beverley is very welcoming. THIS PUTS MANY LARGE HOTELS TO SHAME! WE WILL BE BACK.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GloucesterPauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley G, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments and kind review. We are nice and close to Donington Park and so very handy if you are attending an event. Kind regards Beverley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
0.2 mi away
Harpur's of Melbourne
Harpur's of Melbourne
#3 of 3 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Priest House by the River
The Priest House by the River
#3 of 8 in Castle Donington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
1.9 mi away
Donington Park Farmhouse Hotel
Donington Park Farmhouse Hotel
#7 of 8 in Castle Donington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
4.4 mi away
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
#6 of 8 in Castle Donington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach House

Property: The Coach House
Address: 69 Derby Road, Melbourne DE73 8FE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Melbourne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coach House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Popular 4 star Guest House offering great value comfortable ensuite rooms and fabulous English breakfasts, cereals, fresh fruit & home made jams. Situated in historic Melbourne, just a short walk from excellent pubs, restaurants, shops and a supermarket. Located in The National Forest, we are close to 3 outstanding National Trust houses, Nottingham, Chatsworth, Twycross Zoo, EMA and Royal Crown Derby. Free wireless broadband and parking. Personally managed ensuring your stay is pleasant and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Coach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing