We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A really comfortable night and lovely breakfast”
Review of Kegworth House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kegworth House
Ranked #1 of 3 Kegworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A really comfortable night and lovely breakfast”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is quiet in the evening, with no bar or evening meals, just B&B. It feels like the family-run, homely business it is, in a lovely Victorian red brick, former doctor's house. The garden room, on the ground floor, has a 'secret door' of its own into the garden, which is very nice - but on a wet evening, only to look at wistfully through the window! The room was not large, but large enough, with a very comfortable bed, small, flat screen TV and very well-appointed, well-plumbed bathroom (just lacking a little pressure in the shower). The breakfast has all guests around a large, rectangular table, which is great for conversation, not so much for privacy if that's what you want in the morning. I met and talked with someone really interesting, so it was OK by me. Best of all, the food and attention to detail are first-class: great bouquet of roses and other flowers at the centre of the table; beautiful bowl of fresh fruit salad, Greek yoghurt, good coffee, home-made and other high quality preserves and, to order, almost too much smoked salmon and scrambled egg made fresh by the chef and sub-manager in the adjoining kitchen. Not bad value at £86 per night!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    17
    3
    1
    5
See reviews for
8
80
6
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wisborough Green
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I needed to stay close to the airport and couldn't face a large chain hotel so checked out trip advisor and saw the wonderful reviews received by Kegworth House. From the minute you walk through the front door the staff could not do enough for you. Spotlessly clean with interesting individual touches and fresh flowers in the room. Breakfast selection was first class. The only downside is the lack of a meal in the evening but that would not stop me from staying next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Excellent B&B. Comfortable room tastefully decorated, quiet village , great garden, superb breakfast, friendly helpful staff. What more needs to be said. Little expensive by Canadian standards, but definitely worth the extra.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stephan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Fantastic, clean and welcoming hotel. Well located for airport and university campus. Staff very friendly, individual rooms very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was fantastic, with good choice of fruit and cooked options. Access to gym and swimming pool nearby. Looking forward to visiting again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcester
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Rooms small but beds comfy.

Lots of Character... lovely friendly attentive staff. Both receptionists and waitress couldn't do enough to help... felt very welcome.

Great breakfast and excellent coffee.And great probably isn't strong enough... it really is lovely.. cooked to order by a chef who knows what he's doing.

All in all a good little hotel... not the cheapest but far nicer than the local chains... only slight issue was breakfast round a communal table...but other guests freindly'ish so not a problem

Room Tip: Don't pick room 3 unless you like a really soft mattress. Room 1 superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blazak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Sadly only stayed for one night but it was very clean and comfortable, lovely large room with comfortable chesterfield sofa, what a pleasure to have comfortable seating in a room. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and the breakfast excellent, first class. The only downside is the aircraft noise, but at this time of the year it is not constant. Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2013

My daughter and I stayed for one night and wished we could have stayed longer. All staff we met seemed to genuinely love the place too which was refreshing and encouraged us to explore the little sitting rooms, dining room and beautiful gardens. The room we stayed in (Room 2) was very pink but absolutley perfect for us. The whole place was very well cared for and not a speck of dust to be seen which was amazing as every room was tastefully furnished with a large variety of ornaments ec. very in keeping of the character of the house. Breakfast was everything you could ask for including personal service of the chef and everything cooked to order in front of you. We loved the large family style breakfast table which encouraged chatter with fellow guests. Just wonderful and can't wait ti visit again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kegworth
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier East Midlands Airport Yew Lodge Hotel
0.2 mi away
Kegworth Hotel & Conference Centre
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton East Midlands Airport
Hilton East Midlands Airport
#2 of 7 in Castle Donington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,613 reviews
1.9 mi away
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
#6 of 7 in Castle Donington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Priest House by the River
The Priest House by the River
#5 of 7 in Castle Donington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kegworth House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kegworth House

Property: Kegworth House
Address: 42 High Street, Kegworth DE74 2DA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Kegworth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kegworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kegworth House 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kegworth House is a small Georgian townhouse, located within a small market village in the heart of the East Midlands. Conveniently situated just 5 miles from East Midlands Airport, East Midlands Parkway Railway Station and and 2 miles from J24 M1/A42/A50 and A453 enabling an easy commute to Nottingham, Derby and Loughborough. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kegworth House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing