We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden diamond - one of the best!”
Review of Kegworth House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kegworth House
Ranked #1 of 3 Kegworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“A hidden diamond - one of the best!”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Me and my partner wanted a quick getaway for the weekend and she happened to find Kegworth House. She booked the Brodsworth Suite (which is the top suite) and were really looking forward to it. And I'll tell you this - we were not disappointed. The chap at reception who greeted us was very warm, friendly and extremely helpful. Many places fail in addressing customer care but Kegworth House shows how its really done. We were given the codes to accessing the house when the gates to the parking spaces was shut. Such a thoughtful little touch that really makes your stay.

We were shown to the Brodsworth Suite (also known as the Bridal Suite) and the photos do not do this suite justice. It is spectacularly adorned with a fabulous sleigh bed which is supremely comfortable. We also had a fantastic selection of tea and coffee to choose from (along with bottled water). The lighting and facilities in the room are first class and we really can't fault it. Now the bathroom - all I can say is 'wow'. We've been hotel rooms that are smaller than the bathroom and this really is a magnificent bathroom. A shower with multi jets pointed at the feet, mid region and two big shower heads - never seen anything like and we want one! The bath was elegant and very large. Lots of lovely thick soft towels along with quality toiletries.

The information book was extremely useful as it had plenty of information submitted by visitors to the house along with restaurant recommendations and where to go.

Breakfast was magnificent. The cooked breakfast was superb - one of the best we've ever had. There were other baked goods and cereals to choose from. I had posted some photos on my FB page and they hotel will get another visit from some friends of ours.

The owners and staff of Kegworth House should be extremely proud of what they have accomplished here - a fantastic, welcoming place to stay. We will be coming back.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are fantastic but if you can afford it, book the Brodsworth Suite - you won't r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobsBobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    17
    3
    1
    5
See reviews for
8
80
6
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Wales
Level Contributor
133 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I travel a lot on business and stay at all the corporate hotels and lots of private hotels - but every so often I discover a real gem. This is one of them. I really could not fault it. Rooms were beautifully appointed, spotlessly clean, lots of lovely little details. I stayed for two nights and enjoyed the absolutely perfect breakfast........twice. I really can't find anything negative to say......

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestWalesHorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2012

wish i had booked more nights, beautiful, luxurious hotel, a hidden gem. Everything was out of this world, staff, food, rooms. Close to the airport but no disturbance, a beautiful period property. We will certainly stay again and would highly recommend Kegworth House to others.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikicymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Booked to stay for a couple of nights whilst working in the area. Have stayed in the usual corporate boxes and have had the usual humdrum service so decided to try something different.
I managed to haggle a discount on the rooms before arriving and now feel a little guilty as the service and attention to detail is first class. The two rooms I booked are a little small but well appointed with all the bits you need to be comfortable. The free wifi is 13meg download speed so perfect for browsing or streaming. There is a good selection of DVDs to borrow from reception.
The breakfast is stunning, cooked to order and quality. Locally sourced produce and beautiful fresh fruit.
If I ever stay in the area again this place will be the first place I will try to book!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chubmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

What a wonderful oasis of calm. Close to the M1 & East Midlands airport but not spoilt by either. From the greeting at reception to departure, we were treated to a really first class stay. Friendly, warm and welcoming throughout. Comfortable room with more space than should be expected from a period property. Nothing is too much trouble.

The breakfast was stunning and prepared in front of you.

We will return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnFSaunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Very comfortable stay in beautiful surroundings. On arrival we were greeted by the very helpful owner who went through everything with us. We stayed in the garden room which was lovely. Bed was so comfortable and I could not get out of the shower (might have been the best shower I've ever used!!) I loved the fact we had bath ropes in our room. In the room we had a good selection of hot drinks and bottled water was topped up every day. Room was over looking the beautiful garden and it was very peaceful.
Breakfast was superb every morning with plenty of selection. All the staff were wonderful but special mention has to go to the chef, Thank you!!
I would very much recommend this B&B and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FinntravellerKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

This hotel is a charming, welcoming and lovely place to stay if you are needing a hotel for around the Kegworth area. We have just come back from three nights at the Download Festival staying at this hotel. Our roome was spacious and the bed was so comfy! The en-suite was large and the room and hotel were very clean and tidy. The breakfasts were amazing and there was lots to choose from! The hotel staff could not do enough for you and were warm and welcoming. I would very much recommend this hotel!! We have already booked again for next year!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vickyo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kegworth
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier East Midlands Airport Yew Lodge Hotel
0.2 mi away
Kegworth Hotel & Conference Centre
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton East Midlands Airport
Hilton East Midlands Airport
#2 of 7 in Castle Donington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,613 reviews
1.9 mi away
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
#6 of 7 in Castle Donington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Priest House by the River
The Priest House by the River
#5 of 7 in Castle Donington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kegworth House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kegworth House

Property: Kegworth House
Address: 42 High Street, Kegworth DE74 2DA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Kegworth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kegworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kegworth House 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kegworth House is a small Georgian townhouse, located within a small market village in the heart of the East Midlands. Conveniently situated just 5 miles from East Midlands Airport, East Midlands Parkway Railway Station and and 2 miles from J24 M1/A42/A50 and A453 enabling an easy commute to Nottingham, Derby and Loughborough. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kegworth House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing