We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nasty reception”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kegworth Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kegworth
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I arrived at 11am off a flight. I knew it would be too early to check in so wanted to leave my bag and go for a wander. I walked up to reception and said hello, i have a room booked for tonight... Receptionist cut me off with NO, checkin isn't till 2pm. I said i had realised i would be too early and only wanted to leave my bag, she became a little nicer as she realised i was not happy with my reception. Come on hotel owner or manager, the first impression counts, train your staff to greet people with a smile and want to help, basic stuff in the hospitality industry. On the upside the room was large, clean and comfortable. Pool is tiny, it wasn't worth getting wet for. Taxi to airport is £10. For the price it was convenient for airport and even with taxi it was cheaper than airport hotels if you can put up with rude staff

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jordan90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (411)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 411 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

We have been using this hotel for several years when travelling from East Midlands airport and can reccommend this hotel.
We recently travelled to Lanzarote and arrived at the hotel, parked the car, reported our arrival, depositerd an over night case for our return and was on our way to the airport within 20/25 minutes.
On our return we were collected from the airport and delivered to the hotel within 15/20 minutes of clearing passport control.
The hotel has friendly staff and provides a very good ENGLISH breakfast which is needed to set you up for the trip home.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Having looked at hotels near to the airport this one came up with the best price. We payed £31 for a double room which I thought was good value . The rooms are basic but clean so for the price you can't grumble. Staff are very helpful and friendly but the food looked a bit basic so we ate down the road in the village at the Indian ! I would not book a weeks holiday here but as an overnight hotel near to té airport it's ok.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmariley1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I booked this hotel last June 2012 for a stay in June 2013. I have now received an email to say they are having refurbishments and can no longer accommodate us. I checked on the situation and I can still book a room but for double the price. So be aware if you book this hotel on a weekend where there is an event at Donington Park they will try and make more money out of you. The decent thing they could have done is offer us one of the other rooms that is not being refurbished.......... wont be staying here in future.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank anne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on business, as was close to office.
Rooms are basic, and staff nice enough.
Food was ok, not a huge selection but edible.
This hotel has huge potential to bring a homely feel, but I don't think it is being utilised enough.
Ok if only staying for a night or two

Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This hotel is very clearly being run 'economically' at present, the heating seemed to be restricted for example and the showers in the changing rooms were merely dribbling. Several such things, rather irritating. The meals are tiny but make your taste buds dance, again, probably for economical reasons, we felt that the meals were small in order to make you want/have to order a sweet. As good, no fabulous, as the meal's were, the sweet was absolutely rubbish, very tiny and certainly not made by the otherwise brilliant chef.

The staff were fabulous, everything you would want them to be, and they say that their attitude and application is because of the inspiration of the new owner.

We wish them every success and, despite our grumbles, we do understand the eonomics and we'd encourage you to use it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IanAckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We only used this for one night as we had an early morning flight the next day. The room was spacious and good value for money (we got it half price) but would not have wanted to pay full price for it. The bed was acceptable and there was a table and chairs in the room also. The one thing that really let it down was the toiletries. For several days afterwards the skin on my hands were in a terrible state - extremely dry and cracked. My advice would be if you only want a short stay then this is fine but please bring you own toiletries.

Room Tip: We had asked for a quiet room but could still hear the traffic and aeroplanes but not to the extent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cardmaker9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kegworth
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier East Midlands Airport Yew Lodge Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hilton East Midlands Airport
Hilton East Midlands Airport
#3 of 7 in Castle Donington
1,730 reviews
1.9 mi away
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
#5 of 7 in Castle Donington
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
4.1 mi away
Days Inn Donington A50
Days Inn Donington A50
#1 of 1 in Shardlow
368 reviews
5.8 mi away
Ramada Loughborough Hotel
Ramada Loughborough Hotel
#12 of 12 in Loughborough
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kegworth Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kegworth Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: Packington Hill, Kegworth DE74 2DF, England (Formerly The Kegworth Whitehouse Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Kegworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kegworth
Price Range: $57 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kegworth Hotel & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As an independent hotel we live by our motto - Professional, Personal and Flexible. We think you'll enjoy our hotel, the attention to detail, the warm and friendly welcome and our overall customer centric approach. Here are some more reasons why you should choose Kegworth Hotel :- Ideally located, well connected Spacious well-equipped rooms Quality food choices ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kegworth Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing