We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Premier East Midlands Airport Yew Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kegworth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I booked to stay here for a romantic weekend. We booked through the KGB deals offer which included dinner on the first night, and tea and cakes on arrival.

When we first arrived, the car park looked packed which got us a bit worried as to how full the hotel would be. On check-in, we realised why - the hotel operates a park and fly service, so don't be alarmed by the amount of cars!

Nothing was too much for the hotel staff. We asked for a bucket with ice and glasses to be delivered to our room, and within 5 minutes this had arrived. We recently stayed at another hotel which was 5* and things we had requested on the room booking still hadn't arrived 2 hours after we had checked in! So this really stood out as first class. We thought it would be nice to have a treat of breakfast in bed one morning, and on enquiring how much it cost, were informed it was complimentary if you have a breakfast inclusive booking. We decided to go for this both mornings and were very impressed by the standard of the breakfast. A couple of things we had ordered were slightly wrong but nothing major, eg, we ordered 2x white toast and 1x brown, instead we got 2x brown and 1x white; we ordered well done eggs, one of the mornings they were still a bit runny. For the fact the room service was complimentary we really weren't complaining.

What really made this hotel stand out was the can-do attitude of the hotel and staff. Inside the tea/coffee making cupboard was a little note saying that if you prefer fresh milk, ring reception to have some delivered. The hotel does have free wifi, but you have to reconnect every 30 minutes.

Dinner on the first night was delicious. We dined before 7pm and had been offered a free pre-starter starter of carrot and coriander soup for doing so on this occasion. We both left the 3 course (now made into a 4 course!) meal feeling totally full and satisfied.

Tea and cakes was just that - pot of tea/coffee and two cakes each. If you wanted afternoon tea (sandwiches, scones), it was an extra £10 which we didn't go for.

We used the swimming pool and sauna which were both up to a good standard.

Our room was clean, tidy and well-maintained. We had complimentary toiletries available to use so no need to bring any of your own. Also available on request are complimentary toothpaste.

All in all, a really lovely hotel with a great team of staff. Please keep up the good work and we hope to return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank musicluvva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMYewLodge, General Manager at Best Western Premier East Midlands Airport Yew Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear musicluwa

Thank you for you lovely detailed review of the hotel.

I pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, I will mention to the team about breakfast, please accept my apologies for this.

I am pleased the can do attitude is noticed.

Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards

Chris Trow
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,461)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,021 - 1,027 of 1,461 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

My 3rd time at this hotel & will be going again,the staff couldn't of been more helpful,food was excellent,spa facilities really good,room was big & roomy & very clean...they even supply nice white bath robes in the room....

Room Tip: room 312 or 412 are good rooms to stay in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrspammason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMYewLodge, General Manager at Best Western Premier East Midlands Airport Yew Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear mrspammason

Thank you for you lovely 5* review of the hotel.

I am extremely pleased your 3rd visit has lived up to previous stays and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards

Chris Trow
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We got married here last year and the hotel is lovely and the staff fantastic! We stayed last night as it was our anniversary and a year on the hotel and staff are still great. We also had back massages after checking out the hotel and then used the pool too and it was all really nice Thanks for another great stay, would definitely recommend to anyone for a Wedding / break away!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GEF1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMYewLodge, General Manager at Best Western Premier East Midlands Airport Yew Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear GEF1986

Thank you for your brilliant 5* review.

I am thrilled to read you enjoyed your anniversary 1 year on from when you held you wedding with us, finding the hotel and staff still being great.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Regards

Chris Trow
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We booked a special offer 2 night break with tea and dinner included. We arrived and booked in, nice friendly staff on reception. We had our tea half an hour later and that was a disappointment. A very small slice of tart and tea. We did think tea included a sandwich at least?
Our room was clean and modern with a nice bathroom and big, comfy bed. Quite dark and very hot though, you can't have windows open at night as the airports close by although at 2am we discovered a fan in a cupboard which was a bit better.
We had our inclusive dinner on the first night which was fine. We thought a bit ambitious as flavours were lacking compared to the presentation. It all looked amazing so expectation was high but the calamari was really good.
Breakfast had a good selection and it was all hot and well cooked. Really couldn't complain and the croissants and pain au chocolate were excellent.
We had a problem the second night with random phone alarms waking us twice. It took us a while realising what on earth was going on! We were pretty tired in the morning.
Overall a good hotel but no way 4*, it's much more 3*. All the staff were fabulous though.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janebSidcup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMYewLodge, General Manager at Best Western Premier East Midlands Airport Yew Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear janebSidcup,

Thank you for your review of the hotel.

I am sorry you didn’t think we lived up to the 4* standard on this occasion.

The tea and cakes is just a gesture token not a meal, however you could have upgraded to sandwiches if you wished.

I am glad you enjoyed the breakfast and found the staff fabulous.

We hope to see you again.


Regards

Chris Trow
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed with a KGB deal for two nights. Nice little hotel with lovely spa, good food and peaceful area. Hotel left a card for partners birthday in the room which was nice. We stopped here for a peaceful break on route to Liverpool for a city break. It's very quiet little village but near to Nottingham and Loughborough if you want to get out. We could see the planes landing but they aren't that often and certainly didn't keep me awake at all. Hotel decor is a little dated and not modern but fits into the local area. Rooms are quite small with beds so close to door and noise from corridor can be annoying but not much of an issue. Overall nice little place, was defo worth the money we paid.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Lilmissshazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMYewLodge, General Manager at Best Western Premier East Midlands Airport Yew Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Lilmissshazz

Thank you for your review.

I am glad you found the stay value for money taking advantage of one of the deals we offered. I am pleased you like the little gesture card ready for your arrival.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards

Chris Trow
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Just wanted to say that this is a lovely hotel and it has a great spa and gym it's never over crowded and has just the right amount of facilities you needed to feel relaxed and pampered. The rooms are nice and tidy everything you need and the food here is great! The nicest 3 course meal with a hint of al a carte! We came as part of a spa break package and we will return again :)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarahdanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMYewLodge, General Manager at Best Western Premier East Midlands Airport Yew Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Sarahdanb,

Thank you for your excellent 5* review.

I am happy to read that you enjoyed your spa break and all the parts that come with it including the food and rooms.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Regards

Chris Trow
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I have never felt the need to write a review before, but because of how amazing a stay i have had here I felt i had to write to tell everyone who may be thinking of coming here how amazing it is.
Me and my husband came here for our anniversary, it has been so lovely. I have never stayed anywhere like it, all the staff at reception, the bar and resteraunt are so polite, nice, genuine and helpful.
The breakfast was amazing, and the evening meal was sublime.
And the hotel is spotlessly clean.
Loved it.
Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMYewLodge, General Manager at Best Western Premier East Midlands Airport Yew Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Tanya A,

What a lovely review, thank you.

I pleased to read that you both enjoyed your anniversary and the staff helped you celebrate.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards

Chris Trow
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kegworth
0.2 mi away
Kegworth Hotel & Conference Centre
0.9 mi away
Hilton East Midlands Airport
Hilton East Midlands Airport
#2 of 7 in Castle Donington
1,756 reviews
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Nottingham EM Airport Donington Park M1
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
5.1 mi away
Best Western Nottingham Derby
1.8 mi away
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
#5 of 7 in Castle Donington
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier East Midlands Airport Yew Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier East Midlands Airport Yew Lodge Hotel

Address: 33 Packington Hill, Kegworth DE74 2DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Kegworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kegworth
Price Range: $80 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Premier East Midlands Airport Yew Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Premier East Midlands Airport Yew Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Yew Lodge Hotel And Conference Centre
Best Western Kegworth
Kegworth Best Western
Best Western Yew Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing