We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the middle of nowhere it is better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Premier East Midlands Airport Yew Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kegworth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Im normally wary of places in the middle of nowhere and Kegworth is a small village proximate only to the East Midlands airport.
However it's a lovely village with a couple of pubs, an excellent curry house and this hotel did not let the place down.
Clean, nice, well stocked bar and a decent (if small) swimming pool and spa.
Had a lovely nights sleep in one of the Studio rooms out of the way of the main part of the hotel. You can hear the planes but they're not loud.

I had the breakfast which was OK. Nothing special.
The wireless was a bit unpredictable - you get a code and have to keep entering 2 lines of name / password combinations every time it drops off which is a pain. But it's free. Useful as there is limited phone signal on Orange, but Vodaphone is fine.

Room Tip: Studio rooms are a bit out of the way, but very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WatfordPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMYewLodge, General Manager at Best Western Premier East Midlands Airport Yew Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear Watfordpete

Thank you for the review of the hotel and the village.

We are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Regards

Chris Trow
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,440)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,113 - 1,119 of 1,440 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed here for two nights on a special offer which included an upgrade to an executive double bedroom which was very pleasant and comfortable. The dining staff were willing to go the extra mile to make your meal totally enjoyable. There was a mixture of clientele including people in transit to or from the East Midlands airport which is only a couple of miles away. Being pensioners with bus passes we hopped on a bus in the village and in just over an hour we were in Nottingham. The only minus point I would award would be that we and other guests had to wait for a table on a couple of occasions This was not an issue for us because time was not an issue but it could have been a problem for other guests.

Room Tip: See if you can negotiate an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JANICE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMYewLodge, General Manager at Best Western Premier East Midlands Airport Yew Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Janice B

Thank you for your lovely review.

I am please you took advantage of our ideal location with buses every hour to Nottingham, Derby and Leicester. There is always something to do around the East Midlands.

Thank you for your kind words about the staff, much appreciated and they will feel the same.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards

Chris Trow
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Spent 1 night here on a business trip, we used the conference facility which was ok! one thing that let it down was the lack of any windows, so no natural light, the check in and out staff were friendly and chatty, and of course efficient, the room i stayed in was on the fourth floor over looking flat roof, ( i know not every room has a view) the room was comfy and looked recently redecorated, the bathroom again was newly decorated, and unfortunately had been fitted out with inferior fittings, ( this room needs a proper shower not off the bath mixer) all in all the room was comfy, warm and clean.
We had dinner in the main restaurant, i had ribeye steak which i found to be to a poor cut, and the veg and potato skins were ok, but all a bit cold, the service was excellent, the breakfast in the morning was a self service which had a good selection of hot and cold food, its nice to order a cup of tea for breakfast and you get a large Teapot.

Room Tip: i stayed in 413 room without a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teldeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMYewLodge, General Manager at Best Western Premier East Midlands Airport Yew Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Teldeb

Thank you for your review.

We offer many different conference rooms with different facilities in each type, when booking for your next meeting please mention you would like natural daylight and we can quote for this.

I am pleased you found the staff service excellent and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards

Chris Trow
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This is the first time we have visited this hotel. Great deal through Travel Zoo.
Clean and tidy Hotel with very helpful staff. Any issues were sorted !
The gym was a bit on the small side but the equipment was all in good working order.
The bins could have been emptied in the gym more often as they were overful.
Swimming pool, Steam room and whirl pool were very clean and tidy.
We had a meal on both nights and the quality and menu were very good. The service when busy did get a bit slow but not a roblem as were had a nice break between each course.
Certainly go back here.
Easy access from the M1. Well worth the trip.

Room Tip: Breakfast is from 6.30am to 9.30 am. Dont leave it until the last moment as we did on the first day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigGee-64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMYewLodge, General Manager at Best Western Premier East Midlands Airport Yew Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear BigGee

Thank you for your lovely review.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your travel zoo offer taking advantage of what the deal offers, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards

Chris Trow
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

There are hotels that say they do and there are those that actually deliver. I went to Kegworth not expecting a great deal from a Best Western Hotel and left wondering why all hotels could not be run like this. From check-in to check-out and then to contact with staff (Karen in housekeeping) regarding recovered lost property, the service at this hotel must rate as the best we have experienced at any hotel. Everybody we dealt with at the hotel was courteous and helpful. The hotel seemed quite busy at meal times on account of a Travelzoo offer and what looked like delegates for a conference. There were no signs of stress and tables were soon cleared and prepared for new diners. The public areas were kept clean and tidy throughout and showed no signs of the numbers moving around the hotel.

Our room (236) was a good size with a comfy bed and plenty of hanging space. The bathroom was sparkling. Bathrooms can often display signs of neglect but there was no mould, a clean shower head, fluffy towels and comfortable bathrobes.

We ate in the restaurant and had a really nice meal. The prices are average for a hotel but the wine prices were very reasonable. We had a good Argentinian Malbec for £17 and unless somebody made a serious error we got 4 Kir Royales, including the whole bottle of sparkling wine in an ice bucket, for £22. Breakfast was buffet style offering cereals and cooked options. I have stayed in a lot of hotels where this means cold food and rubbery eggs but once again the staff from the kitchen through to front of house got it right.

As commented elsewhere the spa is worth a visit and again the staff are most helpful. I will admit to being a bit squeamish when it comes to changing rooms but I found these to be kept really clean and dry.

No matter how good a hotel is there will always be somebody who is going to write a bad review based on one episode. Writing as somebody who is hard to please, I can honestly say this is one of best run hotels I have stayed at and I don't know why it only has 4 Tripadvisor stars.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peteraa59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMYewLodge, General Manager at Best Western Premier East Midlands Airport Yew Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Peteraa59

Thank you for your 5 star review of the hotel.

We appreciate your review of the hotel outlining the standard we aim to deliver.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and we do hope to see you again in the near future.

Regards

Chris Trow
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed three nights was a little worried never stayed in a best western and sold the deal to my wife dinner bead and breakfast a fantastic deal.On arrival my fears washed away and the friendly smile of the receptionist was reassuring, check in was a breeze. Our room was big and clean and in good shape and had all the facilities you would expect from a 4 star hotel, the bathroom was functional, shower was average but not that powerful, good arrangement of toiletries provided. The bed was comfortable and my wife and I slept well.We ate in the restaurant the food was good unfortunately my wife had to send her soup back as it was to salty and she loves salt, that was the only downside, the waiting staff were very attentive and the service was very good. The hotel has a comfortable lounge area on the ground floor next to the library bar ideal place for after dinner drinks, relaxing or a good old chat with other residents. We did not use the spa while on our visit however did make use of the sports bar to watch the Spurs Arsenal game and again the service was above average. Would I stay again yes, I am due to travel to that area on business soon and will certainly use the yew lodge hotel as my base.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daygar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMYewLodge, General Manager at Best Western Premier East Midlands Airport Yew Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Daygar

Thank you for your brilliant review of the hotel.

I am thrilled to read you enjoyed the stay and your worries about Best Western were soon gone when you entered to a friendly smile.

We are all independent hotels but all run to a minimum Best Western standard.

I am pleased you will return again in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back.


Regards

Chris Trow
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I'll keep this brief. Staff create a welcoming atmosphere and are extremely pleasant. The hotel itself is a good quality four star institution and both the bedrooms and public areas are nicely decorated and well maintained. The spa is pleasant and the gym well-equipped. The food is very good and in plentiful supply (particularly at breakfast). Overall, I would certainly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vacation_lover_12318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMYewLodge, General Manager at Best Western Premier East Midlands Airport Yew Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Vacation_lover_1

Thank you very much for your great review.

I am pleased you found all our areas and facilities to a good standard and enjoyed your breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Regards

Chris Trow
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kegworth
0.9 mi away
Hilton East Midlands Airport
Hilton East Midlands Airport
#3 of 7 in Castle Donington
1,727 reviews
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
1.8 mi away
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
#5 of 7 in Castle Donington
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kegworth Hotel & Conference Centre
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport
Holiday Inn Express East Midland...
#4 of 7 in Castle Donington
608 reviews
5.1 mi away
Best Western Nottingham Derby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier East Midlands Airport Yew Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier East Midlands Airport Yew Lodge Hotel

Address: 33 Packington Hill, Kegworth DE74 2DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Kegworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kegworth
Price Range: $80 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Premier East Midlands Airport Yew Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Best Western Premier East Midlands Airport Yew Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Yew Lodge Hotel And Conference Centre
Best Western Kegworth
Kegworth Best Western
Best Western Yew Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing