We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much improved” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Otter

The Otter
Ranked #2 of 13 Restaurants in Kegworth
Price range: $7 - $21
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A wonderful Country Pub on the River Soar.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Much improved”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

The food here was much improved. Service very good and a varied menu. I have not been here for awhile but the decor is really tasteful and the waitress was very helpful and in intrusive.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    193
    123
    87
    66
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“nice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

lovely location, by the side of the canal - plenty of log boats etc to watch and pass a quiet hour or two. Although we didn't eat it was v popular and good menu. The plus for me was Aspalls cider on draught - beaut

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice place...Good atmosphere & service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Been here a few times now and love the food quality, service and atmosphere. In the spring/ summer you can also sit outside.

Lovely setting with good, professional, reliable staff.

Keep up the quality and people will keep returning..well done..!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cheeky1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Let down again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We used to got to the Otter a lot a few years go but the food got worse and we decided not to go again . Foolishly we decided to give it another go after a few years on our first visit we had a nice table and the meal was good. We visited again last week and it was really busy . They asked us if we would like a drink before we had sat down. I asked the waitress to come back in a few mins which she did with menus and took our drinks order we hen ordered our food, no starter just main course. We didn't wait for very long and at first glance the chips look very over cooked and when I started to eat them they were cold and tasted as if they had been sat on the side for a long time called the waitress over and she said that she would replace them and returned with a bowl of chips. She asked if that was ok I then told her the gammon was cold and also the peas and asked her to take it all away as did my husband his. She then returned and although it had fresh chips it was obvious that the rest had been heated in the microwave.I realise that the Otter is not a top restaurant but would still expect the food to be hot and of a good standard . I did say to the waitress that this was why we stopped eating there as this. It what happened before. We will not be going there again. We gave it another chance no more not ever again..

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“As it should be !!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Great food with attentive service . I visited for dinner today and was impressed. Quick polite service, food was great to look at and tasted better than it looked which was impressive. I will return with my work colleagues again .

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Smiffy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Otter also viewed

 
Kegworth, Leicestershire
Kegworth, Leicestershire
 
Quorn, Loughborough
Hoton, Leicestershire
 

Been to The Otter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing