We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 3 day stay for Businness but felt like a break away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Donington Park Farmhouse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isley Walton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2011

I would like to say a Huge thanks to the staff for making me feel so welcome at The Park Farmhouse Hotel, you are all doing a great job and i was very sad to leave :(
The food was Perfect and i know 110% of care and effort was put into every meal.
I would also like to say thank you for not making me feel lonley when i was dinning alone, The one thing a dredded going on the course was that i was on my tod, thanks to you guys it didnt even cross my mind once when i was there.
Housekeepers did a great job, shame i didnt get to meet them.
Well i did pass my course and i really owe it to you for cheering me up and on and relaxing me completly :)
So ill see you all again in two years time.
Thanks again
Your friend
Harriet x

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harry187050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
There are newer reviews for Donington Park Farmhouse Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 150 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2011

However brief, our stay at Donnington Park farmhouse was a well earnt relaxing break. After checking in we went down to the bar for a 'real ale' and then sat down to dinner of homemade fare. succulent pork and venison. Facilities are excellent and staff were so helpful and friendly. Thank - you very much to all staff for a great stay. :o)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelissaCarmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We looked for somewhere that could provide both the ceremony and the celebration, with room enough for a Barn Dance, and for people to stay the night, not far from the M1, and with an airport close. Donington Park Farmhouse Hotel ticked all the boxes. The Threshing Barn was the venue for much of the wedding, and it and all the other rooms used, were perfect! In the run up to the wedding and on the day itself, the staff were very helpful and accommodating; it would have been hard to better the service. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donjohnNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights for a family wedding last week. The wedding day was excellent, in a charming setting and the staff were very helpful. Our room was in the main hotel and spacious, comfortable and clean although some of our relatives/friends were less impressed with theirs.
HOWEVER - we didn't appreciate the 2 page letter of do's and don'ts receieved with confirmation of our booking. I am sure it was trying to be helpful but its overall tone read as very aggressive and hotel rather than customer centric, quoting legal requirements (which I am sure aren't actually law). I would respectfully suggest that the Manager revisits this, so that others aren't put off. We also didn't realsie that we were on the flight path - would have brought earplugs if we had known.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mariath63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We got married at this venue in May 2011. From the outset we knew we wanted a rustic venue with character and this is certainly what we got. The whole day was perfect and the staff were exceptional. We would have no hesitation in recommending this venue. If you are looking for a 5* luxurious venue then this isn't your place and they certainly don't claim to be!! We booked all the rooms in the hotel for our wedding and were not disappointed. The views are exceptional and remember you are staying in converted old farm buildings that gave character and charm, go with massive expectations of fine dining and luxury - you will be dissapointed. This was perfect on our eyes and would highly recommend the hotel and it's staff.


If you are looking for 5* luxury then this isn't the place but you are paying for charm and character

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glhayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

A strange place, with odd rooms, although comfortable beds - the kitchen needs serious attention. The worst meal I have had for years! A venison dish that looked like dog food, barely able to discern cubes of meat and full of flour to thicken it. My colleague had pork - our meals looked grey and unappetising. Breakfast not much better. The restaurant and lounge all feel odd and not very inviting - though nice to have books available. Such a shame. sweet staff though.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wildgull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We stayed recently for a wedding. The actual wedding over in the barn and pigsties was fantastic and couldn't fault it. It was just the bedroom that let it down.
We paid for a superior room which was far from superior. The room had an odd smell. The sheets on the bed had stains on them. The room was boiled despite the air conditioning being on all day which was useless. And the shower was poor- the shower head pointed down and wouldn't stay up and so the floor got soaked all the time and made it very difficult to shower. I think it was room 8. The room was not worth the 150 pounds a night.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynmc1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isley Walton
3.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
2.2 mi away
Donington Manor Hotel
Donington Manor Hotel
#7 of 7 in Castle Donington
314 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Priest House by the River
The Priest House by the River
#6 of 7 in Castle Donington
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
#5 of 7 in Castle Donington
319 reviews
1.8 mi away
Harpur's of Melbourne
Harpur's of Melbourne
#3 of 3 in Melbourne
169 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hilton East Midlands Airport
Hilton East Midlands Airport
#3 of 7 in Castle Donington
1,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donington Park Farmhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donington Park Farmhouse Hotel

Address: Melbourne Road, Isley Walton DE74 2RN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Isley Walton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isley Walton
Price Range: $134 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Donington Park Farmhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run farmhouse hotel, set in 20 acres of beautiful land. Nineteen character, en-suite guest rooms. Free-to-use wireless internet. Log Fires in Winter, farmhouse suppers and bar meals. Licensed wedding venue and meeting rooms. Local produce used where possible, including Venison from own herd of deer. Park and Fly Packages available for East Midlands Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Otel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Donington Park Farmhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing