We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Glorious pre Christmas break with friends”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Hognaston, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Louise C
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Glorious pre Christmas break with friends”
Reviewed December 5, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Myself and 3 female friends stayed here for a long weekend as a pre Christmas break. The barn is spacious, well decorated and fully equipped. The beds and furniture were very comfortable. The main reason for choosing this property was that it had 4 bedrooms all ensuite. The facilities did not disappoint. It was lovely being surrounded by the farm with the horses and the donkeys. It's only a short drive away from Ashbourne, Carsington Water and many other local attractions. We couldn't have asked for anymore (except for a pub within walking distance!)
A few minor gripes (and they are minor as I've still rated this as excellent) It took 3 attempts to contact the owner for the key safe code. 2 voice mail messages were not returned. The owners did not check on us during the stay just to say a quick hello and make sure we were happy. There could have been more information in the folder about what items of rubbish to put in which wheelie bin and about how the heating worked.
Would love to stay here again.

Date of stay: December 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T588SAmar...
Heanor, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage in rural Derbyshire”
Reviewed January 26, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely, cosy cottage with fabulous countryside on the doorstep. The 4 bedrooms were all really pleasant and a good size. There was underfloor heating all through the property with radiators in the bedrooms to make them extra warm. Please note thought that two of the bedrooms only had Velux Windows so no view to be had, just open for fresh air! The bedrooms were 2 double, one King and one twin room, all with lovely ensuites. The beds, for me, were a little on the firm side but pillows were very comfy. The kitchen was relatively well stocked with utensils although could have benefitted from a really large pan or big wok as I was cooking for six hungry people! And some extra wooden spoons! For the beer drinkers we could have done with some pint glasses, but the cupboard was well stocked with glasses for wine and soft drinks. The view from one side of the cottage is of rolling country side whilst the other side has a view of a farm yard and stables that housed a vociferous horse, that liked to let you know he was awake, even if you aren't! But it clearly states in the description that this is a working farm and it's in the countryside which is full of unusual noises. You do however get people walking by the windows in the yard which is a little disconcerting early in the morning. If you have or love horses then this is definitely the place for you. Would we go again, yes I think we would for a couple of nights stay! Oh and there was excellent wifi coverage throughout the whole of the property.

Date of stay: January 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaspa17
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An amazing holiday cottage, perfect for large families.”
Reviewed July 20, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Came here with my extended family in April 2015.

OK I'm going to start with the bad and then finish on the good, as they outweigh the bad points and its a better way to finish.

Bad - Communication from the owners was non-existent before arriving, could not get them on the phone and couldn't get them to respond to messages left, ended up just turning up on the day and hoping for the best. If we didn't need a key code to get the keys a key code for the gate and a code for the wifi this wouldn't even be an issue, but as we did it was (please note this only really had an impact on me and my wife as we arranged the cottage, the other guests had no part of this so had nothing bad to say about it)

Second bad point, the gate to the cottage is keep locked by a padlock and chain so getting out of the car, unlocking the gate, driving in, getting out and locking it again then driving down to the cottage is a pain. I understand why its there (it is a working stables) but its not a great system (older people or those with disabilities/mobility issues might find this a massive pain).

That's it, those are the bad points done. I have absolutely nothing else bad to say about this place whatsoever.

Decor, lovely, modern but inviting, all the mod cons you could really need; wifi worked fine, full central heating, amazing showers/en suites in all rooms, two batch for those who need them. Kids are well provided for with a travel cot, linen, a high chair, cutlery etc and a bunch of toys that have been left there probably from the owners kids (but absolutley fine for a toddler to get engrossed in).

All the bedrooms are spacious, all have comfy beds, clean linen, towels, lots of wardrobe/drawer space.

The dining area is huge and comfy and the lounge area is spacious with comfy sofas.

Kitchen is fully equipped (including a dishwasher and washer dryer) not sure there was anything we though it needed that was missing, and there is a cage for a dog assuming you have an unruly one that needs it.

Outside is a decking area for sunny days a small bbq area and a pool table under a shelter. Plenty of parking and the surroundings are very pleasant.

Just far enough away from civilization to be quiet but about a 15 mi drive to Ashbourne for supplies.

Should you stay here, yep I think so, it's lovely and the moan at the beginning was probably a one off, I certainly do not think it warrants missing out on this lovely holiday cottage.

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pretty much everything.
Liked least: Bad communication and the lock on the main gate was a pain.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine...
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay for a large group”
Reviewed June 10, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed here with a large family group and it was perfect. Large airy bedrooms and a well kitted out kitchen and living/dining room made it a pleasure for us all.

We did not take any toys for the children so were very pleased to find a huge selection for them to play with had been provided, along with cot, high-chair and stair-gate, making this perfect for a stay with children.

The barn was clean and beautifully decorated with wonderful en-suite bathrooms in all bedrooms. It also has good wifi which was really helpful.

Our only comment (not a complaint) is that a guide as how to use all the electrical equipment would have been helpful. We spent quite a while trying to figure out how to use the washer/dyer machine and had to resort to looking up a user manual online.

Date of stay: May 2015
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glaciersa...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Cosy stay”
Reviewed April 3, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We had a lovely, if cold and very windy, stay at closes barn. The accommodation was fantastic for a big family get together. The facilities for young children were great and included cot linen as well as a nice selection of toys. The barn was spotless and well equipped. We encountered a slight problem when tv reception was lost due to the aerial being blown off the roof but no sooner had we mentioned than it was sorted by the lovely and helpful owner. The area was great and well placed for all the major visitor attractions. Ilam and dovedale was a real highlight.

Date of stay: March 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeanr6620...
Castle Douglas, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb”
Reviewed November 17, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was an excellent property and more than lived up to expectations. We were a group of extended family and friends and it suited our requirements perfectly. We were provided with a travel cot and generous bedding for it, stairgate and high chair and the adults were equally well catered for with beautiful bedrooms and bathrooms. Our two year old particularly appreciated "horse television" right on the doorstep. We didn't take our dog in the end, but he would have been well provided for too. We hope to return!

Date of stay: November 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing