We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent place to stay for a large group”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Hognaston, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Geraldine...
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay for a large group”
Reviewed June 10, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed here with a large family group and it was perfect. Large airy bedrooms and a well kitted out kitchen and living/dining room made it a pleasure for us all.

We did not take any toys for the children so were very pleased to find a huge selection for them to play with had been provided, along with cot, high-chair and stair-gate, making this perfect for a stay with children.

The barn was clean and beautifully decorated with wonderful en-suite bathrooms in all bedrooms. It also has good wifi which was really helpful.

Our only comment (not a complaint) is that a guide as how to use all the electrical equipment would have been helpful. We spent quite a while trying to figure out how to use the washer/dyer machine and had to resort to looking up a user manual online.

Date of stay: May 2015
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glaciersa...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Cosy stay”
Reviewed April 3, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We had a lovely, if cold and very windy, stay at closes barn. The accommodation was fantastic for a big family get together. The facilities for young children were great and included cot linen as well as a nice selection of toys. The barn was spotless and well equipped. We encountered a slight problem when tv reception was lost due to the aerial being blown off the roof but no sooner had we mentioned than it was sorted by the lovely and helpful owner. The area was great and well placed for all the major visitor attractions. Ilam and dovedale was a real highlight.

Date of stay: March 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeanr6620...
Castle Douglas, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb”
Reviewed November 17, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was an excellent property and more than lived up to expectations. We were a group of extended family and friends and it suited our requirements perfectly. We were provided with a travel cot and generous bedding for it, stairgate and high chair and the adults were equally well catered for with beautiful bedrooms and bathrooms. Our two year old particularly appreciated "horse television" right on the doorstep. We didn't take our dog in the end, but he would have been well provided for too. We hope to return!

Date of stay: November 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing