We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Construction "works" going on, but still fine.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Santo's Higham Farm Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Higham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2010

It was interesting to see the room that we stayed in last time is no longer there! We stayed in the one beside it. Despite the construction, the hotel was comfortable and fine. The staff is engaging. The morning staff at breakfast are particularly delightful.

The internet also worked a lot better than it did last time - and is free.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guy_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
There are newer reviews for Santo's Higham Farm Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 224 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2010

me and my wife have been to the hotel before but never to eat, the hotel is nice, staff in the most are o.k, except for one of the supervisers (or at least that is what i think he was, an older man). as i said before, we like the hotel.
we tried the restaurant this time, we was offered two menus, one some sort of bar snack which did not interest me and the 2nd an al a carte menu, now that menu was nice, to be fair i would have liked to see a bit more imagination but that did not matter with the quality of what we recived, we will be back

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnlambMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2009

Not sure how this place is rated as number one, I wanted to book a nice quite, relaxing break and after much searching choose here. We arrived at the hotel and the view from the car park was stunning. Once we had checked in with the friendly receptionist we went up to our room ( Sherwood Suite ) room was ok, nothing special, mix of dark wood furniture a pink sofa and a four poster bed. The bathroom was huge and had a free standing roll top Jacuzzi bath which my other half couldn't wait to try. We went to the bar and ordered a couple of drinks and a sandwich each as we had been travelling as it was past lunchtime but where told sorry no sandwich's as we have a wedding on, so asked for a bag of crisps which caused him to look at us like we had ruined his day, After much huffing and puffing we told him not to worry and just serve the drinks, then another barmen came in and said wants the problem, so we told him and he said of course you can have a sandwich. Not the best start. Then walked through the wedding party to get back to our room, it felt like we where gate crashing this wedding as they used every area and bar, It made us very uncomfortable. Once in the bath my girlfriend couldn't get the Jacuzzi to work so spoke to reception who said sorry that broke yesterday, likely story ! So after a shower went down for a meal in the restaurant. Food was good but meal spoiled by the wedding disco next to us which was loud. It seemed to be partitioned off by a curtain. I don't expect to be served an '' a la carte '' meal while listening to Abba, Tom Jones etc at full blast. After the meal we had a drink in the bar but again felt we where intruding on the wedding as all the guests where in the bar so we went up to our room and listened to the music blaring through the floor into our room until the early hours. This was not the relaxing break we had in mind, and I feel quite strongly we should of been told that a wedding was taking place and they had full use of very room and bar area. We wont be going back there as there are better hotels and better restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GulidfordPhoenix12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for two nights with a group of friends. Good location. Friendly staff. The bedroom and ensuite were nice and spacious with hanging rails and drawer space. Sound proof windows shut out most of the noise of a wedding party. Flat screen tv with limited number of channels. Try and avoid knocking your knee on the bow legged modern King size bed! The breakfasts were buffet style and the cooked items were all fresh and replenished regularly. Our two evening meals were disappointing probably because we were asked to order on arrival at the hotel. Meats were tough and the desserts limp. No real ale. We would stay again but we would eat out in the evening.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevonFoxtrotone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2008

Nicely redecorated & helpful staff create a favourable first impression. We were shown to our room with an apology that the room was nice but small. We had booked the Camelot room. It was small but nicely decorated & spotlessly clean. The bathroom clearly showed the Italian influence of the owners & was first class with a large bath / shower. Dinner was of a high standard in the very attractive dining room. It would have been nice to have had some background music playing, as the silence was regularly broken by the continual shouting of, we presume, the chef. Some might regard this as interesting, particularly with the Italian management, but we found it unnecessary. Overall a very pleasant stay which we would not hesitate to repeat should we return to this area again.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2008

We had our marriage ceremony and reception at Higham Farm on a lovely Sunday in February 2008.
When we first went to look around the hotel and meet Santo we both knew that it was THE place for our wedding.
Throughout the planning and preperation Santo was extremely attentive and we never felt pushed into having anything we didnt really want.
The service, whenever we visited, was always excellent and the reception staff were always very welcoming.
On our BIG DAY we were not dissapointed, the food, staff and decoration of the Crystal Room were amazing. Every attention to detail had been made.
Several of our guests stayed over night including ourselves. The rooms are magnificent and our guest were very impressed with the standard of the themed rooms.
We have since visited with our family for a sunday lunch and it was every bit as lovely as our wedding day meal.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snowy2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2008

I was traveling througfh the peak district with my wife our daughter and a friend and needed a hotel for the night, we wanted a warm cosy log fire old beams type of place with a good restaraunt and we found it.
We only stayed for one night but had a lovely time good food friendly staff and great themed rooms my daughter and her friend had the oriental room and they loved it.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank crapau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Higham
8.6 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,433 reviews
6.0 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
803 reviews
5.9 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Derbyshire Derby
The Derbyshire Derby
#2 of 2 in South Normanton
1,629 reviews
10.9 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
2.8 mi away
Travelodge Alfreton
Travelodge Alfreton
#1 of 1 in Alfreton
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santo's Higham Farm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santo's Higham Farm Hotel

Address: Main Road, Higham DE55 6EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Higham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Higham
Price Range: $160 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Santo's Higham Farm Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Santo's Higham Farm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santo's Higham Farm Hotel Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing