We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel just of the main drag” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santo's Higham Farm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Santo's Higham Farm Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Higham
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Excellent hotel just of the main drag”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

Stayed for the first time at this super hotel in Derbyshire for the first time. Room was in one of the new parts and was a perfectly adequate double overlooking the internal courtyard but not overlooked by anyone else.
The food was very good if slight different (well my starter was).
Staff were very friendly and breakfast first class. The outstanding feature is the excellent view of the amber valley from their lovely terrace in the evening. Good hotel, good staff, good food in the cosy bar.

Room Tip: First visit but the new rooms (1-5 I think) overlook the courtyard which is quiet)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    52
    23
    5
    6
See reviews for
44
78
5
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night last weekend. The location is lovely and the staff were so welcoming. In my opinion, the staff are an asset to this hotel. The check-in was quick and easy. The room itself had been recently updated with new fitted carpet...that new smell !! The restaurant served good quality meals...I chose braised lamb shoulder, creamed potatoes, fresh asparagus, carrots and a rich lamb jus. The meal was perfectly cooked and nicely presented. The head waiter, Jack deserves a special mention...he is very focused on the customers needs.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LEREVE06540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Stayed here recently for a wedding and overall very satisfied.Beautiful setting and lovely views so great for pictures.
Our room was a decent size and well furnished.Bathroom looked like recently done up and was very nice.
Catering for the wedding was excellent,both for the reception and the evening buffet.
Breakfast next morning was bit chaotic-hot food appeared in stages instead of keeping buffet continuously stocked up-had to ask several times for toast and coffee when it did appear was cold.That said,it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank letsgomurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed over at Santo's a couple of weeks ago as my niece was getting married there. We
found all of the staff to be very freindly and welcoming. The hotel itself is really lovely, and we thought it was full of character, very charming and is in a great setting. ( Check out the views
from the car park ) Our room was spacious and very very comfortable , the bathroom was fab!
We had a really nice day ! We congratulate the chef who cooked the most delicious wedding
breakfast, it was absolutely superb. The evening buffet was excellent as was breakfast the next
morning. If we are in the area we would definately return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantosHighamFarm, Manager at Santo's Higham Farm Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Amazing comments! Everything you mention is exactly what we strive to achieve. It is so nice to know that the hard work of the management and staff is recognised and appreciated. I do hope you choose to visit us again in the near future. Keep a look out on our website for the best prices, particularly on a Friday evening. We run a regular steak night and you can wine, dine and stay for as little as £45pp!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Great room size and excellent features. Food outstanding for the money, wide selection of wine albeit limited selection by the glass. Fantastic service for evening meal and again at breakfast. Wifi present but exceptionally slow, not great for current times/expectation. Overall very friendly staff and good value for money. PS, check out the view from the car park!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Catman1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantosHighamFarm, Manager at Santo's Higham Farm Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Informative review, thank you. We have a total of 7 house wines available by the glass which I feel is sufficient for the size of our establishment. Our WIFI has been a stumbling block for a while but thankfully we've found a great solution and can now receive 20Mbps (guaranteed) via satellite, giving customers FREE high speed internet access throughout the Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

My partner and I went here on the 1st Feb 2014 for our anniversary meal and we could not fault the place. Our meal was absolutely fantastic and the steak was to die for and very reasonably priced. The restaurant manager Jack was lovely and couldn't do enough for us, he made us feel very special and even showed us around the new bedrooms after we had finished our meal.
I haven't had such a wonderful night out in a very long time, we will definitely be coming here again for a meal and we are even considering booking our wedding here!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantosHighamFarm, Manager at Santo's Higham Farm Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Such lovely comments, thank you!
Jack is totally embracing his new role as restaurant manager and its great to know that its being noticed and appreciated. If you enjoy a good steak then I would definitely recommend that you try our regular Steak Night (every Friday). The same great quality but prices from as little as £10 per person, which includes a glass of wine. I hope to see you dining with us again in the near future and I'm sure Santo will do you a great deal on a wedding ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

We been there couple times now waiter is nice and care us very profasional the big boos people knows what thay doing excelent serving very cool place should put some music in day time :) and fire should go always lovely place

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank altiparmak86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantosHighamFarm, Manager at Santo's Higham Farm Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
We appreciate your feedback. The big boss does indeed know what he is doing and takes a very active role in day to day operations. We are so lucky to have such an amazing team of committed staff. I hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Higham
8.7 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#1 of 15 in Chesterfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
6.0 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
6.5 mi away
Twin Oaks Hotel
Twin Oaks Hotel
#1 of 1 in Palterton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Derbyshire Derby
The Derbyshire Derby
#2 of 2 in South Normanton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
6.0 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santo's Higham Farm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santo's Higham Farm Hotel

Property: Santo's Higham Farm Hotel
Address: Main Road, Higham DE55 6EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Higham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Higham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Santo's Higham Farm Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Santo's Higham Farm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santo's Higham Farm Hotel Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing