We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Santo's Higham Farm Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Higham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed here with my wife on a business trip,the place in set in a fabulous setting with great views, but then it ends. The interior is dated, the bedrooms are spacious but old. We had one towel to share, ripped bed sheet that actually had a hair in it !! The place just looks tired. The staff seem friendly and the food was ok to be fair. My bill however was a mystery!! But never mind suppose I won't have to visit again. Although this was my forth time each one being similar. The owner seems to be spending a fortune on two suits yet forgetting about the rest.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MULCASTER2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantosHighamFarm, Manager at Santo's Higham Farm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Thank you for your kind words about the staff and food. We are extremely fortunate to have such a great team.
Please be assured that we aren't 'forgetting the rest'. We are following a £0.5 million refurbishment plan but much of the work needs to wait until the new suites are complete, such as recarpeting, repainting etc.
Please accept my apologies for the lack of towels and the condition of the towel you did have. Our Head housekeeper is looking into the matter and will replace any towels she deems below standard.
I do hope you decide to revisit us in the future to see the changes and improvements we are making.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 228 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with work and was shocked at the inside after seeing how lovely it looked externally.
The decor is very old fashioned and dated. Scraped wall paper, chipped paint, threadbare carpets are order of the day.
Lights so bright in the bedroom they caused a headache. Noise from the car park woke me much earlier than desired. Bathroom large but nearly killed me. A high sided bath combined with a tiled floor and no bath mat had me slipping everywhere.

Breakfast was good and service was excellent. Neither good enough to make me stay again though.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waterhousemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantosHighamFarm, Manager at Santo's Higham Farm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Thank you for your honest review. We are always looking at ways to improve so customer feedback is very important to us.
Most of the things you mention are already being addressed. Our refurbishment project includes recarpetting and repainting but these do need to wait until the new suites are complete to prevent damage from contractors.
Bathmats are provided as standard in all rooms, both rubber mats for inside the bath/shower and towel bathmats for when you get out. Apologies if you didn't manage to locate these.
I do hope that the good breakfast and excellent service, combined with our refurbishment project will be enough to make you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

What a fantastic hotel! Me and my husband got married here in March 2013 and what a magical day it was! everything from the ceremony down to the smallest detail was thought about, Santos helping us make it all a reality, the hotel staff were beyond fabulous, everything we needed or wanted was made available to us. We even had a tractor sent in to clear the car park due to the heavy snow :-D the whole family stayed at the venue the night the rooms and breakfast were lovely!...I would highly recommend staying at Santos Higham Farm!

Room Tip: Speak to the staff and tell them what you want from your stay they are extremely friendly and very h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jen135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantosHighamFarm, Manager at Santo's Higham Farm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words.
We pride ourselves on offering a friendly yet professional service and Santo works extremely hard to make every wedding perfect.
I hope to see you for your anniversary (if not before) but lets hope the snow hols off next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

What a fantastic little gem of a hotel. Stayed here with my girlfriend for a break from the city and it was perfect. Booked online at laterooms for a junior suite and unfortunately (fortunately) they were all fully booked so we were upgraded to the "chairmans" suite and what a room that is. Would recommend paying the extra money and staying in this room for anyone who is after a fantastic night away. To give you an idea how big it is its got 4 phones and 2 air conditioning units, a 55inch telly and 2 sofas however the decor could do with sprucing up a little as its a little 70/80s. Perfect though. Lovely location. 15 minutes drive from Matlock Bath. Memory foam bed gave the perfect nights sleep and the air conditioning was perfect. Breakfast was nice and evening meal (which we had in the room) was lovely except for the roast potatoes which could break teeth they were so hard. All in all great place. Great location.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominic G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantosHighamFarm, Manager at Santo's Higham Farm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

What a fantastic review, thank you! The Chairmans suite is indeed on a grand scale and we do like to upgrade people where possible. Thankfully the hard roast potatoes are a thing of the past as our new Head Chef is using all his experience and skill to produce amazing food that will surpass expectations. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We spent two nights at Higham Farm on the way back from a business trip and left with the conclusion that a Premier Inn would have been better!

The room was a good size but, as with the rest of the hotel, it is only one step away from being "shabby". The WiFi would only work in the bar on the first night and not at all on the second, which isn't much use when you are trying to combine work and pleasure!

We stupidly booked on the dinner, bed and breakfast rate and the menu for this was very restrictive and we changed on the second night to the main menu. Sadly, the food is extremely average, and I question how they managed a rosette, and you have to pay extra for chips, vegetables etc which I personally hate.

All in all I wasn't impressed and would never return

Room Tip: Go somewhere else unless you have no choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisNicholson1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantosHighamFarm, Manager at Santo's Higham Farm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you for your constructive review. We are in the process of a £0.5 million building and refurbishment project which will address some of points raised. The WiFi has been fully upgraded and is available FREE to all our guests. We are looking to further improve this service to 10mg broadband in the near future. Our restaurant menu has completely changed since your visit with the arrival of a highly experienced and well travelled Head Chef. Fresh, locally sourced produce cooked to perfection is the order of the day. If you are fancying something that isn't on the menu then just ask. If we can do it we will. I hope you choose to give us another go and look forward to reading your follow up review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

1. The first thing that hit us was an all-pervading smell of frying, which was not a good start.
2. The free wi-fi didn't work, despite apparently having been recently upgraded, on either my wife's or my smartphone, or a notebook computer. The receptionist was very good and let us try in another room but to no avail anywhere, including the public areas of the hotel.
3. The open well in the foyer is a bit of a hazard. It has a solid metal grid over it so children (or adults) could not possibly fall in. However, the receptionist regaled us with stories of phones, handbags and car keys which had fallen in, which must have caused very serious annoyance (to say the least) and problems for those who lost the items. I would feel happier with a clear and strong cover (specialist glass or plastic) to prevent items falling in - or the hotel should provide an immediately available retrieval service for fallen items.
4. The room was superficially OK, if a little faded. The stone (or maybe concrete) surrounding to the two windows in the bedroom and one in the bathroom were covered in black slime, which appeared to be mould and was very unsightly and unattractive. I have photos if anyone wants to see them. Apart from that, the room was adequately comfortable and warm but definitely in need of attention to various details - the seal round the edge of the bath, for example. New more luxurious towels would be nice as well.
5. At breakfast, we asked to move to a larger table, as we had friends also staying at the hotel and wanted to eat with them. The waitress showed us to another table. In the centre of the rather crumpled tablecloth was a largish and very noticeable red wine stain, which the waitress did not seem to see, until we asked for it to be replaced with clean linen. In the event, she showed us to another table. The breakfast itself was perfectly satisfactory.

So, all in all, a disappointment and not a cheap one. Given the location and the general scope of the buildings, with a little (well, probably quite a lot) general sprucing up and attention to detail, it could be excellent. We shall not be going back unless and until we have been reassured on these points.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MANDH W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantosHighamFarm, Manager at Santo's Higham Farm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you for itemising your areas of concern following your visit. I will do my best to respond to the issues raised.
1. We do use fryers to produce our famous beer battered fish and chips. Our high powered extractors do remove most of the associated smell efficiently.
2. The FREE WiFi has indeed been upgraded and we are looking to offer 10mg broadband in the next few months. We did have slight hiccups initially but these have been resolved.
3. Our 96' deep well is a feature we are very proud of. Whilst some inebriated guests have lost items down there, we like to think the majority of our customers are sensible and can enjoy the feature without the need to cover it over.
4. It is a constant battle to maintain the stonework and our Housekeepers have been instructed to monitor and action this on a more regular basis.
5. Dirty/crumpled linen is inexcusable and staff have been given further training to prevent a reoccurance.

We are currently getting towards the end of our building/refurbishment project which has tackled selected bedrooms, corridors and customer washrooms. Further work is planned for 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Myself and my partner stayed here for his sisters wedding. the day was absolutley perfect the 5 corse meal was one of the best i have had. the buffett at the end of the night was a hog roast this was amazing too only thing i would say is all the meals where served quite late in the afternoon/evening. We was however very impressed and would love to get married here ourselves :). The room we stayed in was gorgeous. Santo showed us around the rooms the day before and i can assure u all they are perfect. Only slight issues are the mattress was very very hard and all of the guests found this apart from the happy couple of corse who had a water bed lol. There was also quite alot of mould in the bathroom, maybe just a good clean up and a lick of paint in the hall ways in this place is perfect :D. I would more than happily stay there again xx

Room Tip: Second floor rooms better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAWayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantosHighamFarm, Manager at Santo's Higham Farm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your experience. The majority of our wedding business is through personal recommendation. We are just finishing off our 2 new bridal suites which we will be unveiling on Sun 20th Oct 2013 at our Wedding Fayre. I hope you are able to come along and pay us a visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Higham
8.6 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,463 reviews
6.0 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
824 reviews
5.9 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Derbyshire Derby
The Derbyshire Derby
#2 of 2 in South Normanton
1,641 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
10.9 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santo's Higham Farm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santo's Higham Farm Hotel

Address: Main Road, Higham DE55 6EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Higham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Higham
Price Range: $162 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Santo's Higham Farm Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Santo's Higham Farm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santo's Higham Farm Hotel Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing