We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find”
Review of Bramble Cottage

Bramble Cottage
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Higham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bramble Cottage
Ranked #2 of 3 Higham B&B and Inns
West Midlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a find”
Reviewed August 24, 2009

I'm not sure I should be telling anyone about this place, it's the sort of b&b you want to keep all to yourself so that you can be sure to get booked. It's only been open about a year but once word gets out I think it'll be a really popular place to stay.

A fantastic, warm welcome from Paddy, Bernie and Josh (the dog). Great rooms with little extra touches such as real milk (not that awful UHT stuff), fresh flowers and even a plate of fruit brought up to our room while we were unpacking. Great comfy beds too. I believe Paddy and Bernie currently have a silver award and doubt that it'll be very long before they achieve gold, they certainly deserve it.

Breakfast is amazing - plenty of fresh fruit and yoghurt, cereal, toast and home made preserves all topped off with a full breakfast - eggs, bacon, sausage, black pudding, fresh tomatoes, hash browns, baked beans and tomatoes. Much is sourced locally and you certainly won't go hungry.

If you're staying on a Sunday night, you might want to consider having lunch somewhere. Although there's a decent pub right next door which does serve food on Sunday night, you'll find that most locally don't.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NickWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    5
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
84
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2009

We stayed in a lovely, large room with the most comfortable six foot bed I have ever experienced. Fresh flowers and fruit in the bedroom were very welcoming and every little detail made it feel like five star luxury. (Bathrobes, fluffy towels, upmarket range of toiletries etc,etc) There was a lovely sunny garden, open to guests, and the very friendly and helpful owner introduced us to the main attractions of the area. Breakfast was also exceptional: high quality produce cooked to order and a very good range of fresh fruit from a local market. All in all an exceptional B and B in a very convenient location for visits to Derbyshire and beyond.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnWirral13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2009

We have just spent two beautiful days at Bramble Cottage based in Higham , an excellent location to explore the Amber Valley and the Peak district. What a welcome we were given by our host Paddie and her dog Josh, our bedroom was stunning with those personal touches, fruit, flowers etc which made us feel that we were friends not guests. The breakfast was superb, again with fresh fruit and a choice of full english or scrambled egg with smoked salmon as well as tea, coffee etc etc... nothing was too much trouble and we had our breakfast when it suited us. We found that we were pretty central to visit the towns of Matlock, Bakewell, Buxton etc and just 1/2 drive from the Peak district. There are lots of friendly pubs both in Higham and the surrounding villages that serve good food so no problem with an evening meal and Paddy was quite happy to book a table if neccessary.
This is a lovely friendly place to stay and great for sight seeing and walking.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sueDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2009

What a little gem. Booked with late rooms.com and found this wonderful cottage. Pat runs a beautiful B&B, nothing is too much trouble. The breakfasts were lovely, no bargain meats or fish only the finest produce, the fresh fruits on offer were superb as were the jams, tea and the coffee. The standard would equal any excellent hotel. The room, there are three, are all king size. We stayed in the room wiithout ensuite but with our own personal bathroom along the corridor, this had a full suite with a rain head shower. Everything was spotlessly clean and there was a freeview box, fllter coffee bags, teas, biscuits, fruit and water all available. The cottons on the beds were lovely- the beds were huge and the lovely fluffy towels were provided every day. Pat herself is a lovely lady who makes every effort to make your stay comfortable, Altogether an ideal place to stay if visiting any of the local sites, and conveniently placed next to the Greyhound inn which serves lovely food.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank addicted-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisbech, Cambs
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2009

We stayed at Bramble Cottage for three nights at the beginning of June and could not have hoped for better. A beautiful old Elizabethan Cottage with beams etc. Paddy was most welcoming and bent over backwards to ensure our stay was enjoyable and that we had everything we needed. The room was very spacious with king sized bed and table and armchairs. There was fresh fruit and fresh flowers in the room. The selection of teas/coffees etc was good and there was fresh milk - not those horrid longlife pots! We were provided with bathrobes a well as very large towels, changed daily. The toiletries in the en-suite were to a very high standard and good quality. The breakfast choice was good and all the ingredients were either locally sourced or specialist - try the black pudding, I've never had such a tasty one. As well as cereals and orange juice there was a fresh fruit platter - we couldn't manage it all and then a full english breakfast.

The location is good with lots of places of interest nearby i.e. Haddon Hall, Chatsworth, Hardwick Hall etc. and Chesterfield Market is well worth a visit. The area is very scenic and a favourite for walkers and cyclists as well as lazy folk like us who prefer to drive.

Paddy was very knowledgable regarding local places to eat and we ate at Santos one night (not over impressed - we found it a bit pretentious and lacking in atmosphere) The other two nights we ate at the Greyhound and found that to be good quality and value for money.

We would certainly go back to Bramble Cottage - in fact we arrived as paying guests and left feeling like one of the family.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brinkersWisbech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Higham
0.2 mi away
Santo's Higham Farm Hotel
2.7 mi away
The White Hart Inn
The White Hart Inn
#1 of 3 in Alfreton
250 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 3 in Higham
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
142.4 mi away
Field View Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices

Been to Bramble Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bramble Cottage

Property: Bramble Cottage
Address: Bramble Cottage 22-23 Main Road | Derbyshire, Higham DE55 6EF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Higham
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Higham
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent Elizabethan Cottage, maintained to highest standard and very near lots of interesting/historic places. 3 rooms, all very spacious. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bramble Cottage Higham, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing