We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay, great B & B”
Review of Bramble Cottage

Bramble Cottage
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Higham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bramble Cottage
Ranked #2 of 3 Higham B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely stay, great B & B”
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

We were just passing through for one night and stayed at Brambles based on reading previous reviews . We were welcomed by a very lovely friendly host Patricia. We were delighted with our room which was big , full of character, cosy, spacious with an exceptionally comfy king size bed and very clean , the welcome drink was a nice touch . Breakfast menu was great ! We would have loved to spend more than one night and would love to return again. More than a B and B, could not fault it .

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marty2304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exwilson, Owner at Bramble Cottage, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
i am always pleased to know that my home has been enjoyed by my special guests. The daily chores are necessary but my guests are what makes my job the best ever. Thank you for your kind words. Hope to see you again Paddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    5
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
84
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

we chose Bramble cottage to celebrate our 40th anniversary based on the excellent reviews and our host Paddy still managed to surprise us with the warmth of her welcome and the effort she put in to help make our weekend even more special. We had a glimpse at all the rooms and they are all outstanding, ours was the Bramble,a spacious beamed room full of character with a fabulous 6'00 wide bed, spotlessly clean and with quality linen and furnishings. Breakfast was superb with top quality produce cooked to perfection. Paddy recommended a lovely local restaurant for a special meal and conspired with our family to provide some lovely extra surprises. We have no hesitation in recommending The Bramble as a top quality place to stay and hope to return sometime soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValentineGuestHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exwilson, Owner at Bramble Cottage, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
hello, Thank you so much for putting such a positive review for Bramble Cottage it was truly my pleasure to look after a lovely happy couple. All best wishes to you both. Kind regards Paddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We arrived on a friday night and received a warm welcome - the accommodation was absolutely spotless and from start to finish we received an amazing level of care and attention - we felt very spoilt. I had booked for two nights as a surprise present for my wife for her 40th and so it was important to me that the venue impressed her and that she felt as if she was being spoiled rotten! It totally lived up to my hopes (which were high). Breakfast is cooked and served at a time of your choice (I think between 7ish and 9:30) and the choice of breakfast was fantastic. Starting with a fresh fruit salad with Greek yoghurt and then moving on to a perfectly cooked fry up with lashings of tea and fresh coffee. We would recommend Bramble cottage to anyone looking for a bed and breakfast over and above the average b+b experience. We'll be back!

Room Tip: We had a lovely time but next time would go for an ensuite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobandJoPembury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exwilson, Owner at Bramble Cottage, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
it was totally my pleasure to take care of you and I am so pleased that I was not found wanting. To look after appreciative folk makes my life worthwhile. Thank you and I very much hope to see you again. Kind regards Paddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

stayed here for 3 nights in february. it is a lovely guesthouse, within a lovely building with some original features.
we had a huge room with a lovely comfy bed and lots of little extras that made it special,
Paddy is an excellent host and recommended a lovely restaurant that we visited, and suggested some of the local attractions that we might enjoy.
the food was excellent at breakfast and more than enough to last till tea time!
we had no complaints at all,and would hope to stay here again

Room Tip: Bramble room was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolnpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exwilson, Owner at Bramble Cottage, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Bramble Cottage, looking after you and knowing that you have enjoyed your time with me makes me smile, I feel that my job has been done well and has been appreciated. Thank you for your kind words. Best regards Paddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Hallingbury
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed one night at the weekend, and although it was short we had a lovely stay. Patricia was very welcoming and although we were delayed in traffic for over an hour welcomed us with open arms, nothing was too much trouble, and the breakfast really is to die for. We hope to be back for a longer stay sometime soon. Trevor and Hazel.

Room Tip: Choose a Room with an on suite bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank regulareater_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exwilson, Owner at Bramble Cottage, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Am so pleased you enjoyed your short time at Bramble Cottage, I would be very pleased if you could ever come this way again. The Peak District is absolutely stunning in the spring and summer. Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2013

What a lovely warm welcome when we arrived,the cottage,host and breakfast was faultless! Our room was so comfortable with a fabulous selection of refreshments. After staying only the one night we are looking forward to a returned longer visit. After such a comfortable nights sleep the breakfast to follow was as good as we'd read in other reviews if not better!!! It certainly filled us for the best part of the day. We would highly recommend that you share our experience of this wonderful cottage and its host Patricia.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exwilson, Owner at Bramble Cottage, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to recount your experience at Bramble Cottage. i am delighted that you were happy whilst in my home. I sincerely hope to welcome you back again before too long. Best regards
Paddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodhall Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed in Bramble cottage as we were going to two concerts in Derbyshire. We had a lovely time and would recommend the B&B to everyone. We felt cared for and very spoilt. The room was very cosy and breakfast was very filling I didn't need anything else until our evening meal. Go try it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exwilson, Owner at Bramble Cottage, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive feedback, hope to see you again kind regards Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Higham
0.2 mi away
Santo's Higham Farm Hotel
2.7 mi away
The White Hart Inn
The White Hart Inn
#1 of 3 in Alfreton
249 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 3 in Higham
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
142.4 mi away
Field View Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices

Been to Bramble Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bramble Cottage

Property: Bramble Cottage
Address: Bramble Cottage 22-23 Main Road | Derbyshire, Higham DE55 6EF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Higham
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Higham
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent Elizabethan Cottage, maintained to highest standard and very near lots of interesting/historic places. 3 rooms, all very spacious. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bramble Cottage Higham, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing