We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bramble Cottage

Bramble Cottage
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Higham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bramble Cottage
Ranked #1 of 3 Higham B&B and Inns
Whitstable, United Kingdom
1 review
“An Excellent Stay”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed four nights superb B&B, staying in the Bramble Room, in early May 2012. We'd booked at the end of January 2012, having found the accomodation online. Very well placed for what we wanted to do. From the Denby Pottery and factory tour in the south, to Castleton in the National park to the north. All an easy drive away. Also Chatsworth, Matlock, and Bakewell well worth visiting. What more can be said, that hasn't been well documented already. Made to feel very comfotable and welcome throughout our stay, with lots of helpful suggestions on where to eat, and places to go. Brilliant breakfasts that set us up nicely for the day, and tea / coffee / kettle in the room. Being tall (6' 6") I was slightly sceptical when I read about it being beamed accomodation, having encountered 'attic' rooms before. But Bramble Cottage gave absolutely no problems in this respect, and is a lovely charming cottage. So thank you Paddy for your hospitality. Heartily recommended

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    5
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
84
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cromer, Norfolk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

My wife and I needed to get away for a few days and found ads for Bramble Cottage online. Although the weather has been against us, the accommodation has been fabulous. Paddy's advice about local places worth visiting has been invaluable and her friendly welcome has meant that we've both had the break we needed. Breakfasts have been splendid with perfectly cooked local produce as well as fresh fruit, cereals, Greek yogurt and all we could have wanted. We have been staying in the Bramble room which has a brilliant rain shower.
I really couldn't recommend this B&B enough.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Very accommodating and friendly owner. Great breakfasts and fab rooms. Would wholeheartedly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKMoriarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

My husband and myself stayed at Bramble Cottage. The owner was more than helpful on our arrival. You are given fresh milk in a flask rather than the UHT type in little pots. Plenty of an assortment to drink in the rooms including a water filter. We were in the King Room with private bathroom. Bathrobes were provided as we had to walk across a little landing. We slept like logs, very comfortable bed. Lovely exposed beams in the room, although on a road, it was a quiet room. Very clean too. There was a lovely touch of a mini bottle of sloe gin and two little glasses, really nice touch. Breakfast was really lovely, good quality produce and the Stornaway black pudding was delicious!!! Would recommend this to anyone, really nice place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xJackiex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Bramble cottage for three nights and were delighted with our choice. The warmth of welcome, comfort of acommodation and standard of breakfast was excellent. Our time here was made more enjoyable by the helpfulness and care that Patricia, the owner, showed to make sure we were looked after. I would recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a relaxing and comfortable break away.

Yan

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EvanLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

This is a rather belated review of a stay that I enjoyed at Bramble Cottage with my partner in early December.

We were visiting Chatsworth on Sunday 4th December and wanted a good quality B&B for the previous night, However, as we very quickly discovered, most places in the Peak District area, wanted you to stay for two nights which a. we didn't want to do b. couldn't afford to at that time. Bramble Cottage, however, was very happy to accept our booking for the single night and so, reassured by all the positive Trip Advisor reviews, we looked forward to an enjoyable stay.

We were not disappointed.

The minute we arrived - in the dark on a cold, wet wintry night - Paddy was outside greeting us warmly and offering to help us in with our luggage. Indoors, she explained where breakfast would be served and showed us to the Lady Bower Room, which is the standard room with a separate bathroom just along the corridor.

The room was a good size, stylishly furnished and very well appointed with little extras such as the sloe gin mentioned in other reviews and chocolates. Above all, it was warm!

We had planned to venture out for something to eat that evening but as we'd had a good lunch and weren't particularly hungry, the weather was awful and Bramble Cottage was so nice, we stayed in our room and watched TV while drinking tea and eating biscuits and chocolates - very cosy and relaxing!

Although the room was at the front of the cottage facing onto a fairly busy road, we were not kept awake - decent windows and good thick curtains probably helping to sound-proof the room.

The next morning, we donned the bathrobes provided and took a few steps across the landing to our bathroom - again, very nicely appointed with a good, hot shower.

The beautiful breakfast room was full of character and Paddy served up a great breakfast, taking care to explain everything and offering a very good choice. Nothing seemed too much trouble and the food was delicious. All six guests shared the same large breakfast table and we enjoyed talking to the other guests as much as we enjoyed the breakfast.

Paddy is a born hostess with a great sense of style and a very strong customer focus. In Bramble Cottage she has created a high quality B&B that puts guests' needs first. If I had to choose between a more centrally located B&B for the Peak District (e.g. Castleton where many places want you to stay for 2 nights) or Bramble Cottage just outside Chesterfield, it would be Bramble Cottage every time for quality, service and value.

Room Tip: Don't be put off by the fact that the Lady Bower room does not have an ensuite bathroom. The bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleEmsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Of the 3 rooms, I think the one we had was the 'standard' but it was superb. Two massive single beds creating a very large kingsize; large shower, bath robes, ironing board/iron, tea/coffee making facilities and a lovely flagon of sloe gin. Breakfast was of an extremely high standard with some home made preserves on offer. We would definitely stay here again but would try somewher else to eat than the pub next door where the food was a bit disappointing.

Room Tip: I would say any of the rooms are worth having.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuziKu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Higham
0.2 mi away
Santo's Higham Farm Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#2 of 3 in Higham
79 reviews
1.8 mi away
Crich Lane Farm
Crich Lane Farm
#2 of 3 in Alfreton
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
142.4 mi away
Field View Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices

Been to Bramble Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bramble Cottage

Property: Bramble Cottage
Address: Bramble Cottage 22-23 Main Road | Derbyshire, Higham DE55 6EF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Higham
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Higham
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent Elizabethan Cottage, maintained to highest standard and very near lots of interesting/historic places. 3 rooms, all very spacious. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bramble Cottage Higham, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing