We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage in an excellent location”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Rokeby Cottage

Rokeby Cottage on a beautiful morning in June
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rokeby Cottage on a beautiful morning in June
Hathersage from Stanage Moor early one Autumn morning with a cloud inversion above village. Views to the South West from patio at Rokeby Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Rokeby Cottage on a beautiful morning in June
Hathersage from Stanage Moor early one Autumn morning with a cloud inversion above village.
Views to the South West from patio at Rokeby Cottage
Living area.
Kitchen with door to patio at Rokeby Cottage.
Single and Double Bedrooms at Rokeby Cottage
Rokeby Cottage in Winter
Rokeby Cottage in Summer
Hope Valley looking down from Millstone Country Inn, above Hathersage.
Trout fisherman, on river Derwent a few minutes walk from Rokeby Cottage.
View South from Stanage Edge, above Hathersage
View North from Stanage Edge, above Hathersage
View West from Stanage Edge, down towards Hathersage
Monsal Dale looking down from Monsal Head, a short driver or 30 minute cycle from Hathersage.
Westerly evening view across the moors above Hathersage.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Hathersage, Hope Valley, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Andy_Hamp...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in an excellent location”
Reviewed September 20, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Located in a quiet road approximately 5 minutes walk into Hathersage centre. The cottage is very well equipped and has great views from the kitchen and patio at the rear. As mentioned in the description, there is off-road parking for a small car, otherwise cars can be parked on the road side. The lounge is on the small side but fine for a couple and the double bedroom upstairs is large and the bed comfortable. It's in a great location for walking in the Peak District and also you can visit Manchester or Leeds by train from Hathersage Station which we did on a couple of wet days.

The cottage has lots of character and a couple of things to be aware of: Some low doorways which perhaps could have some padding where you hit your head for the first time (you remember to duck after that) and stairs that turn in a tight spiral which wouldn't be suitable for people with mobility problems.

The TV is located in a cupboard to one side of the fireplace and extends out into the room which is slightly odd, it's small but works OK and has a DVD player connected if required.

The kitchen is well equipped and has the lovely views mentioned. There is a table and chairs in the kitchen and also on the patio outside.

We really enjoyed our stay here and would come back again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarahspea...
2 reviews
“Beautiful cottage in the gorgeous village of Hathersage”
Reviewed July 5, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

I could not have asked for more, the cottage was in a great location so handy for a short stroll into the lovely village of Hathersage. Great for walks and visiting the surrounding villages in the Peak District. The cottage provided everything I needed and was beautifully decorated. I was lucky enough to visit during a heat wave and went for a swim in the lido in the centre of Hathersage!
However if it had rained every day I would have still loved it. Would I stay again? - Yes I would!! Can't wait to go back. Thanks Sarah

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen_an...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect cottage, perfect place”
Reviewed June 12, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

we have visited the Peaks many times and often felt we had found the best cottage possible but Rokeby cottage surpassed them all. Beautifully presented throughout, the cottage is well resourced. It was just a very easy place to stay in helped by the most comfortable beds and an amazing shower- much needed after a long walk. Just be aware of ceiling heights( kitchen) and doorways if you are tall! Hathersage has so many walks available from the doorstep, Stanage Edge being a favourite. Further afield, The Longshaw Estate and LadyBower Reservoir and of course Chatsworth. We loved our holiday and will return to Rokeby Cottage in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elainemgi...
Scarborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage with beautiful view from the patio”
Reviewed June 1, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday in Hathersage and Rokeby Cottage was perfect for us - comfy bed, great shower, well equipped kitchen and lovely patio! Fab!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesha F
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Characterful, dog friendly cottage in fab location”
Reviewed June 12, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Rokeby Cottage is a little gem! Ideal location, only 5 mins walk from the Hathersage shops yet in a quiet street with friendly neighbours who made us feel welcome. Others reviews have said how good the cottage itself is. We thoroughly agree with those reviews (good kitchen/bathroom/hot water/heating/tv/mattress etc), but want to focus on what makes this a good place for dog owners to visit!
This cottage is dog friendly (they just request a £20 surcharge per week per dog for the extra cleaning) and our two especially enjoyed lounging in the wonderful sun-trap south-west facing patio garden-with-a-view (as did I; yes we had a heatwave!).
There is a fab location for off-lead dog walks within 5 mins/2.5 miles (the local field footpaths are lovely but there are plenty of sheep). But drive past the Millstone Inn up to the Surprise View carpark, head to the actual viewpoint, hop over the low wall to the right of the seat and follow the path to the right around to the rocky crags (Millstone Edge) and we found it safe enough for our dogs to play off lead.
For on-lead walks from the cottage we headed to the Plough Inn (which has great food and allows dogs inside, unlike the Scotsmans Pack), via a shorter road/field route (about a mile), or a longer (but all off road and involving picturesque views and stepping stones across the Derwent) 1.5mile route.
We all (dogs included) thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Rokeby Cottage and would recommend it (just watch the low ceilings/doorways; they take a bit of getting used to but are easily worth it for the character of the place, the friendliness of the neighbours, and the opportunity it provides to explore both Hathersage and the surrounding areas.)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bed, nice firm mattress
Liked least: Low doorways failed to knock any sense into my husband!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 15, 2016
Thanks for the lovely review. Hathersage is a great location and there are beautiful walks which are nicer if your dog is enjoying the trip too.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam L
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First Visit to the Peak District and we didn't want to leave!”
Reviewed April 3, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We'd always heard great things about this area of the UK, but never until our visit realised just how beautiful it was, in addition we were lucky enough to stumble upon Rokeby Cottage, a little gem situated in the lovely village of Hathersage, the perfect location with plenty of walks right on the doorstep! The cottage was immaculately clean and very well equipped with a modern decor thoughout, although still keeping it's cottage charm - we didn't want to leave! We had no problem checking in /checking out and the owners could not have been more obliging - thank you so much, we will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 6, 2016
Hi Pam L. Thank you so much for writing such a nice review of Rokeby Cottage. I am so glad you enjoyed yourself. It is a nice cottage and the Hathersage area is beautiful, especially nice if the weather obliges! You are very welcome to come and stay again, should you return to the Peak District.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Z0B0
Herts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed July 16, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed at Rokeby Cottage in July for a weekend. We had a lovely time there. The cottage was very sweet, clean tidy and comfortable with everything we needed. The location is great, very close to the centre of Hathersage but relatively quiet with some lovely walks nearby and good views.

The rooms are surprisingly spacious but there are some low ceilings which may affect people over 6 feet tall (didn't bother me)! The main bedroom is quite large with a really comfy bed. The shower is fantastic with instant hot water.

We had no problems checking in/out and the owner was very helpful in organising our stay. We were allowed to take our dog which was great (no carpets downstairs)! :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfy bed and great shower!
Liked least: Low doorways!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 17, 2015
Thanks for the great review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you can return soon. Britain is pretty special in the Summer, and the Peak District is one of it's most beautiful regions.
Although completely renovated and modernised, the building is a traditional farm workers cottage, so the ceilings are low, and the stairs are steep and narrow. It isn't ideal for everyone, but I am pleased it worked for you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing