We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Called in for lunch”
Review of The Plough Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Plough Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hathersage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
cannock
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Called in for lunch”
Reviewed September 8, 2009

We did not stay here, we were passing and were ready to eat so in we popped. We both ordered the roast of the day, which came with astonishing speed. The beef was excellent but the roast potatoes and yorkshire puddings looked like those frozen ones (aunt bessies) not very nice. The veg, broccoli, carrots, mange tout were ok but were swimming in water.
As previously mentioned we were not offered condiments but could see them across the room and they were those horrid sachets. Overall, apart from the beef, I think you pay over the top for very average fast food.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jancannock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    85
    49
    23
    15
See reviews for
74
144
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2009

We did not stay at this hotel, but based on our impromptu visit for Sunday lunch, we would not hesitate to give it a try. The hotel is an old coaching inn, with a roaring open fire and very nice food indeed - everything you'd expect or hope from a country pub. Just what we wanted and needed. Spotlessly clean, everything good quality, a very nice courtyard garden with quality outside furniture and very helpful staff.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DerbyshireBizzibee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2009

Had a meal at The Plough recently. I ordered the all day breakfast for £10.95. It comprised half a tomato, two slices of mushroom, two sausages, two bits of bacon, one slice of burnt black pudding and some soggy egg toast. 10 thick chips were an extra £3. In total nearly £14 for this below average offering is staggeringly poor value for money. We had to ask for cutlery. The condiments, which we had to seek out ourselves, were the nasty plastic ones. This is no more than an average country pub, the delusion of being more comes only from the ability to overcharge, not for high quality food or presentation.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank MillsterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2009

Having checked out of the grim Peaks Inn in Castleton we were lucky enough to get two rooms here at the last minute. The landlord was extremely welcoming and offered to carry our bags up to our rooms. The rooms had welcome little extras such as fresh fruit and bottled water and were stylishly presented, as well as being very comfortable. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble and dinner on the terrace was great (if not cheap). Breakfast was good too and the whole place felt as if it was extremely well run with a lot of thought and attention to detail.

There are some lovely walks in the area and we walked from the pub along the river, across stepping stones and back into Hathersage to meet friends for a drink.

Only slight down was that our rooms faced and were close to a main road so inevitably there was traffic noise.

Stayed June 2009
Helpful?
2 Thank aelfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2009

We stayed in The Plough Inn for three nights. The rooms are recently refurbished and are nicely decorated. The breakfast was excellent, they have a good of choice of different types of breakfast (cooked/cereal/fruit). Also the food served for dinner was very good, which made us decide to have dinner in the pub every night. The various public footpaths near the pub make it an excellent base for hiking holidays.
The only downside was perhaps that the room temperature in Room 1 was quite high. There is a big boiler in one of the cupboards in that room which provides so much heat that even when the windows are open it remains warm. Room 2 is smaller, but perhaps a better choice if you like to sleep in a cool room.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilhelmina20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warks, UK
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2008

Can only endorse the previous reviews - stayed along with a number of friends for the weekend and Plough Inn very helpful and welcoming.

Rooms and food as described by others - we stayed in the Cottage and rooms large, well equipped and putting many much more expensive establishments to shame!

Generous food portions with excellent choice and breakfast cooked to order.

Good base for this part of the world with many walking options direct from the inn - would certainly use again if staying in this part of the world.

  • Liked — Warmth of welcome and degree of comfort
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2008

I stayed in one of the newly refurbed rooms in the annex. The room was really well fitted and furnished (good sized flat screen T.V. , modern furniture, tasteful decor) and had an excellent en-suite with a great shower. Complimentary extras such as the bowl of fresh fruit, and shortcake, were nice touches.

The only down-side was that the room had no view other than of the people who tended to while the evening away on the patio area, which was just outside. Getting past them to gain entrance wasn't easy.

Breakfast served in the bright and airy pub dining room was absolutely excellent. Really good choice and service with a smile.

I will definitely return to this little gem when I'm next in the area.

  • Liked — Modern, clean and fresh. Good style.
  • Disliked — No view.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Affable_Guest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hathersage
0.7 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
391 reviews
0.7 mi away
Little John Hotel
Little John Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hathersage
215 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#1 of 1 in Grindleford
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Millstone Country Inn
Millstone Country Inn
#1 of 4 in Hathersage
311 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Scotsman's Pack
The Scotsman's Pack
#3 of 4 in Hathersage
137 reviews
0.8 mi away
YHA Hathersage
YHA Hathersage
#1 of 4 in Hathersage
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough Inn

Property: The Plough Inn
Address: Leadmill, Hathersage, Peak District National Park S32 1BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Hathersage
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hathersage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Plough Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Plough Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plough Hotel Hathersage
The Plough Inn Hathersage, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing