We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Valentines Meal”
Review of The Plough Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Plough Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hathersage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We arrived to find the pub warm and the fires a glow, we were greeted promptly by a friendly chap who showed us to our table, the tables were discreetly spaced and adorned with white linen, small silver heart sprinkles and a red rose.
The menu was £35 per head and very well worth the money, king prawn and scallop canapé was followed by bread rolls (possibly homemade) served with an oil and balsamic dip, we chose leek and potato soup with flakes of smoked haddock and a poached egg, absolutely devine, my husband had the lamb and dauphinois potatoes for main whilst I had lemon sole atop a crayfish risotto, again all delicious, served hot and perfectly cooked, I had cheese for dessert, it was also really good and I could choose 3 cheeses from a huge selection, many were local, all in all excellent service by an obviously hardworking family and an excellent evening.
We will definately be returning soon.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mandy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
There are newer reviews for The Plough Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 339 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Plough Inn with our 16 month old daughter. Everything about our stay was fantastic and the staff could not have done more. The Plough is such a family friendly place, with ample parking, lots of menu options and baby friendly rooms.

Accommodation isn't cheap, but you get what you pay for. Our room was immaculately furnished with a huge bed and a massive bathroom. The breakfast was lovely, with a wide selection of hot dishes to suit all tastes.

The restaurant and bar always has an open fire going, which is in a raised fireplace so not an issue with little ones. The food was impeccable, and the portion sizes were great, even though this sometimes isn't the case in fine dining places.

We will definitely return to the Plough, and would highly recommend it.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank Sunchaser147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We booked the Plough in the morning as a last minute night away for the same night. Didn't really know what to expect having found it on the basis of being dog friendly. We couldn't have been happier with how it turned out. A great family room for 3 plus our dog. Really good dinner. I mean really good. The fillet steak with an ox tail risotto was about as nice a winter meal as I can remember eating. Really good breakfast. And great friendly service throughout. They even went to the trouble of going out to get more croissants when we asked for some after they had run out. Can't really ask for more than that can you?

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

One pint of Farmers Brown Cow, £3.90!!!!!! Who are the pub kidding!? Real ale is not something that gets better the more you pay for it, it is not some kind of niche product that is hard to come by, though this pub obviously thinks it is. The same beer was on sale in one of our local real ale pubs for £2.65. Over-priced to say the least. Food good, but at £6.00 for a tuna sandwich on sliced bread, and £3.50 for a small ornamental 'bucket' of chips???? Paid the bill but will never go again, mainly because of the beer prices. I would love to hear the justification of charging to all intense and purposes £4 for a pint. Real ale is the norm these days, not a niche what is hard to obtain.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank WestRiding1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

After a pretty awful journey it was a pleasure to arrive at the Plough Inn where we were greeted by Christmas decorations and a glowing fire, plus smiling hosts. Our room was across the courtyard from the pub. It was spacious with a large and comfortable bed with tea and coffee making facilities and a large bottle of water. The bathroom, too, provided plenty of space with a walk-in shower and lots of fluffy towels. We were booked in for dinner . I had a delicious smoked haddock risotto to start with and then we shared a huge piece of rib steak - done exactly as ordered - so big that we had no room for the dessert though they all looked tempting. Breakfast was excellent as well - full English for me and my partner which set us up for the chilly day ahead. We'll definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank notacouchpotato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

On Sunday 24th. Nov. the four of us decided to have a drink at the Plough at Hathersage. Whilst there we observed the lovely clean surroundings and the ambiance of the restaurant. We all decided to try the excellent looking menu. The owner gave us advice on the food offered, how it would be cooked, presented etc. When asked about the choice of two wines, he right away opened both bottles and let us decide by tasting both.
We choose a selection of starters, all of which were faultless. Our main courses were two ribs of beef and two lamb meals. Both of which earned congrats to the chef. The we moved to the puddings, the local Bakewell pudding was super. Poached pears the same. The crumble earned more credits. The average age of the friends, 58yrs, who have eaten in many places over their forty year friendship declared that this was the best EVER meal and service.
We have told family about this place, and we will be back. I told the owner the same.

Room Tip: We only used the restaurant
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We booked the Plough for winter visit to the Peaks to do some walking. We were warmly and efficiently welcomed and given a lovely room above the pub. The room was clean, well appointed with a huge bed and nice big fluffy towels. The en-suite was slightly "bijou" with not much turning room, but it was fine for a weekend. It was quiet even though it sided onto the road, and the only noise we were aware of was people getting into their cars at the front of the pub. The breakfast was well-cooked and tasty, but not terribly large - husband was not too impressed with just one mushroom on his plate and "the smallest egg in the history of the world" as the man at the table next to us commented!
It is situated well outside of the village so if you stay there, you don't really have an option to eat elsewhere unless you drive.
We had booked this pub on the strength of the reviews regarding the food, and had reserved tables to eat in advance - definitely a good idea as they were very busy both evenings. It is more of a restaurant than a pub, and there didn't seem to be any people there just having a drink.
The menu was, as others have mentioned, extensive and appealling. However our feelings were that for the prices charged the reality was a little lacking. The starter of Salt and Pepper Squid was particuarly disappointing. The wine list is very good, but again very expensive - I paid less for a the same glass of wine in a 5* central London hotel two weeks ago. Service on the first night was very attentive, but not so on the Saturday night when they were much busier - for example we didn't receive the amuse-bouches that the other tables received, they ran out of bread and we were not offered a dessert after our meal. I feel I sound like I'm being picky, but when you're spending £100 on an evening meal, I think you should feel like your custom is valued.
Would we return - sadly I'm really not sure we would. There are lots of pubs with accommodation out there and I think we'll try another!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tobyteabag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hathersage
0.7 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
398 reviews
0.7 mi away
Little John Hotel
Little John Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hathersage
221 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#1 of 1 in Grindleford
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Norfolk Arms
The Norfolk Arms
#26 of 53 in Sheffield
363 reviews
0.5 mi away
Millstone Country Inn
Millstone Country Inn
#2 of 4 in Hathersage
327 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Scotsman's Pack
The Scotsman's Pack
#3 of 4 in Hathersage
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough Inn

Address: Leadmill, Hathersage, Peak District National Park S32 1BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Hathersage
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hathersage
Price Range: $102 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Plough Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Plough Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plough Hotel Hathersage
The Plough Inn Hathersage, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing