We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very warm welcome for children and dogs - and clean too!”
Review of The Plough Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Plough Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hathersage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very warm welcome for children and dogs - and clean too!”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We've just had a lovely Autumnal weekend at The Plough. The downside of many places that accept dogs is that they end up ... smelling of other people's dogs. The Plough, however, is immaculate. Family-run, the welcome is as warm as the fireside, and the managers were happy to spend time recommending suitable walks for us. There are nice walks on the doorstep, but it's just as easy to hop in the car to get to some of the really spectacular climbs. The rooms are comfortable and well equipped, with powerful showers - which you need after a day being battered by the wind and rain. The food is good - not the cheapest and not outstanding - but a good variety of freshly prepared dishes. Staff very patient about stepping over comatose dog, who was welcome in the dining areas. Our children were also made very welcome - food being served all day made it easy to have an early meal and a not-too-late bedtime and they felt safe (and independent) in an adjacent room to ours. So we'd highly recommend the Plough when visiting the Peaks, with or without children and dogs. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    83
    48
    23
    15
See reviews for
73
141
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I went for a meal here with my husband on Saturday night. Nothing was too much trouble and the food was some of the best we have ever eaten, including meals in some exclusive Michelin starred restaurants around the country, which really are overpriced and a rip off. We didn't stay at the Plough - mores the pity as I am sure we would not have been disappointed. I can't believe some of the negative comments on here, please, please do not be put off visiting this little gem, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The accommodation was excellent combined with first class food and exceptional service by the owners and staff. If you wish for a short break with total comfort then this is the place for you. The setting is superb in the Hope Valley district and in easy reach of all local attractions.

Room Tip: We and our friends had rooms 1 2 & 3. They overlooked the main road but we could not hear the tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope Valley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had a Sunday lunch here and it was first class. It's not cheap, but of course quality never is.
An added advantage is that slightly higher prices keep the scumbags away.

Everyone in this business seems to be very customer oriented and we got great service from start to finish. The Sunday roast lamb and beef were superb.

We will be coming back and will be recommending it to others.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheAnglersRest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Pretty average hotel and food. Nothing to write home about, stayed in better. However lovely walking country but definitely need a car as it is in the middle of nowhere. Between Hathersage and Grindleford.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I booked based on reviews but the meal and service were disappointing. The whitebait starter was soggy and cold and we waited 35 minutes for it. My chicken livers were OK but a little too pink in places. The corn fed chicken was good, the pasta dish was poor and the sardines were OK. The annoying thing is the supplement charge - why should we pay an extra £6 for Lemon Sole? Not Dover Sole but Lemon Sole!! There are also supplements for gooseberry crumble for goodness sake and ice cream! We won't be rushing back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizabeth c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I stayed at The Plough Inn for 2 nights and ate in the restaurant both nights. The room was spacious, well-furnished, had all the mod-cons that one would need - I would say up to a standard of a 4* hotel.

The location is great as a starting point for the many walks that the Peak District has to offer. The restaurant is wonderful - it's a cosy gastropub with a very innovative menu. The food is well-presented and full of twists on the original recipe.

Room Tip: Room number 1 has the wi-fi (it's above the bar), you might want to check about the other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatherineMReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hathersage
0.7 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
388 reviews
0.7 mi away
Little John Hotel
Little John Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hathersage
212 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#1 of 1 in Grindleford
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Millstone Country Inn
Millstone Country Inn
#2 of 4 in Hathersage
305 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Scotsman's Pack
The Scotsman's Pack
#3 of 4 in Hathersage
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough Inn

Property: The Plough Inn
Address: Leadmill, Hathersage, Peak District National Park S32 1BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Hathersage
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hathersage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Plough Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Plough Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plough Hotel Hathersage
The Plough Inn Hathersage, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing