We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”
Review of The Plough Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Plough Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hathersage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I booked based on reviews but the meal and service were disappointing. The whitebait starter was soggy and cold and we waited 35 minutes for it. My chicken livers were OK but a little too pink in places. The corn fed chicken was good, the pasta dish was poor and the sardines were OK. The annoying thing is the supplement charge - why should we pay an extra £6 for Lemon Sole? Not Dover Sole but Lemon Sole!! There are also supplements for gooseberry crumble for goodness sake and ice cream! We won't be rushing back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizabeth c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    79
    48
    23
    15
See reviews for
72
138
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I stayed at The Plough Inn for 2 nights and ate in the restaurant both nights. The room was spacious, well-furnished, had all the mod-cons that one would need - I would say up to a standard of a 4* hotel.

The location is great as a starting point for the many walks that the Peak District has to offer. The restaurant is wonderful - it's a cosy gastropub with a very innovative menu. The food is well-presented and full of twists on the original recipe.

Room Tip: Room number 1 has the wi-fi (it's above the bar), you might want to check about the other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatherineMReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Booked in at the Plough just for an overnighter walking break. We have 2 dogs and find it difficult to find quality places to stay with our 4 legged friends....but we found one. The owners & the staff were so friendly and accommodating, the room we stayed in was lovely with a huge comfy bed, tea & coffee, The dogs were allowed in every part of the Inn (except the dining room at night which is fair...but they are welcome in the pub part). We had the home made fish and chips in the evening which was lovely and the full English the following morning which was also lovely. It is in the midle of the countryside, so plenty of places for walkies, yet a short drive from just about any of thte adjacent Derbyshire town/villages. Can't speak highly enough of the place. The owners were just so welcoming & happy to do anything for you. The room was fairly priced & the £15 supplement per dog per night was fair also.
Will DEFFINATELY be staying again and will recommend you to our fellow doggy owning friends. Thank you for a lovely stay....see you soon.
Kate & Andy (Sadie & Max) (Worksop).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaspercat274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We arrived at Hathersage by train. The Plough was a nice 10 - 15 minute stroll away, with lovely scenary and a bridge over the River Derwent to cross. We made it to The Plough and were given a lovely reception by the staff, who were quick to lead us to our room - Room 1. The Plough itself is a fantastic little place, set away from the centre of Hathersage with good access to plenty of walking trails. The pub is clean, warm, inviting and quiant but with all the modern ameneties you could ask for. There is plenty of space inside and a terrace outside overlooking a lovely beer-garden with a stream running down the side of it. Our room had a lot of storage space, iron & iron board, a selection of 4 books, water jug with 2 glasses, kettle with tea, coffee and hot chocolate, 4 power sockets, fruit, a good selection of towels and TV with freeview. The bathroom has a good walk-in shower but the bathroom door does not lock from the inside. There is a hairdryer available in the room but my girlfriend suggested bringing your own as the one provided isn't very powerful.
The food in The Plough is superb. A great menu to choose from, good portion size and simply lovely food makes the slightly expensive prices worthwhile. My only gripe, and it is a small gripe, is that on our first night of dining in The Plough we were not provided with a dessert menu and had to ask for one and also were not provided with a bill at the end and had to approach the bar to enquire about it. You can settle your bill there and then or wait until you check-out. I feel I must make you aware that The Plough is a pet-friendly Inn and pets are allowed in the dining area whilst you're eating. I found this a little strange as pets are not allowed in any restaurants I visit at home unless there is a medical reason for them. If you don't like the idea of eating with a dog lying near the next table then maybe dining here isn't for you.

Hathersage itself is a really lovely place. So many friendly people out and about walking that you can't help but feeling welcome. We made the 4+ mile walk up to Millstone Edge, which you can see overlooking the town. We also made the train journey to nearby Bamford and walked the 4+ miles back to Hathersage which is well worth the effort. The views are incredible.
We tried the pubs in the centre of Hathersage - The Little John Inn and The George Inn. The LJ Inn is a bit more down market whilst we felt the George Inn is a little too up itself. Both places lacking the homely feel you get in The Plough.

Overall The Plough is near perfection for a short break in the countryside. The gripes I had are inconsequential when compared to how impressed I was. I would definitely visit here again and I totally recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyJ2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

My husband and I were on our way back from Bakewell Show when we phoned The Plough Inn to see if they had a room available for that night, which to our joy they had, as we had tried to get in a few time previous without success. We were given a superior room which was lovely and cosy with a fabulously comfortable (very large) bed.

We had an evening meal in the pub which was very nice indeed, as was the breakfast the next morning.

The atmosphere in the whole place is very relaxing and welcoming.

We are intending to go again even if just for the food, but the B&B would be nice also!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helgar6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

My wife and I found The Plough to be well placed for our visit to Chatsworth, Bakewell Show and the G& S festival - Buxton, This place is peaceful, quirky, is a place to park safely, eat well, sleep peacefully, decent food - beers a bit warm- cooling fans are noisy. Friendly, certainly far from the madding crowd but worth the journey,
.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The Plough Inn is located on the outskirts of Hathersage in north Derbyshire and is close to Ladybower reservoir and Hope valley which is the home of the "Blue John" mines. The accommodation was excellent with rooms situated across the courtyard from the Pub, and the rooms were of a high standard. The food offered in the Pub was excellent both at Breakfast and for Evening meals. The staff were also very attentive and nothing was too much trouble for them. I would definitely recommend The Plough for a short break due to its location and quality of accommodation & food

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hathersage
0.7 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#1 of 1 in Grindleford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.7 mi away
Little John Hotel
Little John Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hathersage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Rising Sun
The Rising Sun
#6 of 7 in Hope Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
5.4 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
7.4 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough Inn

Property: The Plough Inn
Address: Leadmill, Hathersage, Peak District National Park S32 1BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Hathersage
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hathersage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Plough Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your The Plough Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plough Hotel Hathersage
The Plough Inn Hathersage, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing