We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant evening...”
Review of The Plough Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Plough Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hathersage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We went to The Plough Restaurant with friends to celebrate a double near-birthday and had a very pleasant evening, although nothing exceptional. We were firest shown to a table which was very difficult to sit at - too many legs! But the staff were helpful and moved us on to a much better table. The food was good - well-cooked and tasty - as was the service - good (not tasty!) We and our friends would certainly go again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Ray L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 348 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013

We, along with another couple, had a long weekend staying at The Plough. Upon arrival we were met by Joe who was extremely welcoming and showed us to our room. We were booked into room 7 over in the barn annexe which is a king size room. Lovely room with fruit, tea/coffe making etc and toiletries replaced every day as required. Views are limited as the room has two velux windows and a low opening window by the bed, but as this is a very old building and it is pointed out in the accommodation section when booking, it is not a problem. We ate in on the three nights and the food was delicious, although on the last night when two of our party had the roast dinner and two had the red pepper cous cous, there was a huge disparity in portion sizes, even allowing for the substance of a roast dinner. A slightly larger portion of the cous cous was really required. The staff were all very pleasant and asked about our day etc even when they were extremely busy on a sunny saturday afternoon and were run off their feet. A nice touch was the landlord making time to speak to us and showing us to a table outside for drinks that seems to have been reserved for guests staying at the pub. Our only slight niggle was the hum from the chilling units which when sitting in the courtyard for drinks was quite noisy and necessitated us closing the window at night to block the noise out. Breakfast was good with a good variety to suit all tastes. All in all, we would stay here again for the friendliness, good food and location.

Room Tip: Room 7 has velux windows so no view but well appointed and extremely comfortable room. Might be an i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Visiting the Peak District with some friends for a Spring Walking Weekend, we based ourselves in this quintessentially English Inn away from the bussle, bikes and backpacks of the nearby village centre.
Nestling comfortably in extensive grounds running down to the River Derwent, The Plough effortlessly combines the facilities of an hotel, restaurant and pub without any one feature adulterating another - not an easy task these days.
The rooms (in the annexe) were fine, the restaurant bordering on excellent (save for slightly slow service) and the general ambiance and service top class with (I assume) the no nonsense Patron involving himself in everything going on - again a rarity.
On a personal level my wife, who on the last morning awoke with a Force 10 migraine, was sympathetically allowed to stay in our room until after lunch despite the imminent arrival of their next guests. Much appreciated.
We will certainly be back.

Room Tip: Booking into the the annexe rooms at the rear, unlike the rooms over the main building, does obviate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdTheLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

My wife and I along with 2 friends made our 3rd trip to the plough this weekend and we were not disappointed, it is still in the same hands of avery welcoming host, is staff are very well trained smart and attentive, the food is of a high standard although my beef wasn't quit as good as I remember on our last visit, athough I say the food was very good I do think at £24 per head for 3 courses it is a bit on the high side after all it is a village pub not a hotel 5 star. For connoisseurs of good ale a trip to the plough is well worth while just to sample the well kept Timothy Taylors Landlord bitter my friend and I both commented on how good it was, well worth a trip into Derbyshire

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 301lincolnshirelad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed there recently with a group of friends Nice location & the interior of the pub looks inviting All the staff very nice & obliging But the food disappointed regardless of the AA Rosette awards on display I will never take that as a recommendation as a guide in future The quality of the food is overpriced by 30% at least based on our experienced of dining in what is really only a pub! Our room was clean & comfortable although the previous client had left their residual shampoo & soap in the shower which obviously had not been serviced properly The room we wherein was directly above the entrance which meant that we were woken by people leaving after midnight The acoustics of this room were such that even though conversations were at a normal level we could hear ever word Result we had a poor nights sleep Overall disappointed because the area is so lovely for walking

Room Tip: Not room 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This pub is in a lovely location in the Derwent Valley, and as you walk in, it strikes you as cosy. The food and beers are exceptional, with real ales and Peroni on tap. The service is friendly and prompt, and you can choose from a full meal or just a snack. The food is not cheap, but it is worth paying for.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamTarts55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

After a morning walk with the kids thought we'd call in at the plough for lunch and a drink. After been made to feel like second class citizens for just wanting a sandwich and a drink, we went to have a seat in the beer garden. Sandwiches turned up by some unhappy looking staff, which was average with some crisps and some salad. The prices were extortionate for what you get,seeing as there wasn't much we then ordered some chips another rip off. Think the pub has gone for wanting customers who want a sit down meal and has missed out on those simply wanting a lunch and a drink. Shame really seeing as it must see a lot of passing trade and as we have visited a few years ago and had a good experience of the place will not be stopping again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank EJB34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hathersage
0.7 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
404 reviews
0.7 mi away
Little John Hotel
Little John Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hathersage
231 reviews
7.4 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
721 reviews
0.5 mi away
Millstone Country Inn
Millstone Country Inn
#2 of 4 in Hathersage
335 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Scotsman's Pack
The Scotsman's Pack
#3 of 4 in Hathersage
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough Inn

Address: Leadmill, Hathersage, Peak District National Park S32 1BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Hathersage
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hathersage
Price Range: $97 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Plough Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your The Plough Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plough Hotel Hathersage
The Plough Inn Hathersage, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing