We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend”
Review of The Plough Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Plough Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hathersage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Weekend”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Six of us spent the weekend at the Plough in Hathersage. We had a fantastic meal in the bar on the Friday and Saturday night. All the food was excellent. The staff were extremely friendly, and accommodating to the menu choices. John provided some excellent wine choices and the cheese board to finish was superb, and the breakfast were first class...a great location, great staff and great food...You pay for what you get...wonderful

Room Tip: We stayed in the suite, which was excellent. Very large wet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NozzaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    86
    49
    23
    15
See reviews for
75
144
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Tried it on Sunday 17th Feb 2013 after a walk up Stanage Edge. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Sunday set menu , £14 for 1 course , £19 for 2 and £24 for 3 course. Ridicularously over priced. The quality of the lamb wasnt that great. The portion sizes were VERY small. Had 2 tiny carrots , 2 tiny bits of cauliflower !! Must have lots of passing trade thats all i can say !! I live in Buxton and wouldnt go for a meal there again. Get yourselves to the Royal Oak at Hurdlow instead for quality food (all home made ! Or straight from the butchers) along with great portion sizes and significantly cheaper than here !!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Davejimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We arrived after searching for a pub.
It's seemed very nice and homely until the menu appeared.
£14.00 for 1 course and that included soup of the day.

£14.00 for a bowl of soup. That would be ok If it was served in a gold chalice with truffles and saffron but not for me.

£8.20 for a G&T and a pint of coke. Maybe I'm just used to the pricing in Lincoln

AVOID AT ALL COSTS

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LINCOLNEXPLORER92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
388 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We have recently visited the Plough for lunch on two occasions but have also visited quite a few times over the last 10 years.

The pub is extremely cosy but also spacious with a large bar/dining area and also a restaurant - both areas serve food but not sandwiches in the restaurant. All staff are extremely friendly and efficient.

The menus offer a nice selection of dishes. Scampi and chips, rabbit, meat pie and also sticky toffee pudding are lovely. I love tartare sauce and believe theirs is homemade. Last week it was pleasant but this week it did not resemble tartare sauce at all. The jarred stuff would be much nicer.We had rib of beef a little while ago and it was excellent. Wine by the glass we feel is a little pricy.

The Plough has a lovely atmosphere and is obviously very well run. It is nice for a relaxing lunch after a walk or for a special occasion. We look forward to our next visit.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bluetwo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Plough in January. We stayed in a luxury room in September cottage which was a nice spacious room. It was on the ground floor which was not ideal as on the first night the room above was occupied and the soundproofing is not great. Luckily there was no noise the next few nights. Breakfast was good. Dinner was excellent - we ate there 3 nights and had different items each night. The cheese board was especially good. It is a very cosy pub, and nice to relax by the fire. On the last night we were the only people eating there but the staff did not make us feel awkward at all. It is a great area for walking, would recommend Mother Cap for a nice gentle walk or Stanage Edge for a something longer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MillicentDDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Lovely pub, friendly staff but shame about the prices for lunch time meals. The cost for four people with tip came to £45 per couple. Chose a bottle of wine but they only had one already opened bottle of what we ordered, so had to settle for 3 glasses. Meals were well cooked but presentation and quantity could have been better. May be the evening meals are of a better standard. Probably will not go again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian_elaine_bowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hathersage
0.7 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
391 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#1 of 1 in Grindleford
383 reviews
19.3 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Millstone Country Inn
Millstone Country Inn
#1 of 4 in Hathersage
312 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Scotsman's Pack
The Scotsman's Pack
#3 of 4 in Hathersage
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough Inn

Property: The Plough Inn
Address: Leadmill, Hathersage, Peak District National Park S32 1BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Hathersage
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hathersage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Plough Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Plough Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plough Hotel Hathersage
The Plough Inn Hathersage, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing