We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOW TO GET A MORTGAGE FOR JUST 2 DRINKS”
Review of The Plough Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Plough Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hathersage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“HOW TO GET A MORTGAGE FOR JUST 2 DRINKS”
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We arrived after searching for a pub.
It's seemed very nice and homely until the menu appeared.
£14.00 for 1 course and that included soup of the day.

£14.00 for a bowl of soup. That would be ok If it was served in a gold chalice with truffles and saffron but not for me.

£8.20 for a G&T and a pint of coke. Maybe I'm just used to the pricing in Lincoln

AVOID AT ALL COSTS

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LINCOLNEXPLORER92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    82
    48
    23
    15
See reviews for
72
140
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
381 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We have recently visited the Plough for lunch on two occasions but have also visited quite a few times over the last 10 years.

The pub is extremely cosy but also spacious with a large bar/dining area and also a restaurant - both areas serve food but not sandwiches in the restaurant. All staff are extremely friendly and efficient.

The menus offer a nice selection of dishes. Scampi and chips, rabbit, meat pie and also sticky toffee pudding are lovely. I love tartare sauce and believe theirs is homemade. Last week it was pleasant but this week it did not resemble tartare sauce at all. The jarred stuff would be much nicer.We had rib of beef a little while ago and it was excellent. Wine by the glass we feel is a little pricy.

The Plough has a lovely atmosphere and is obviously very well run. It is nice for a relaxing lunch after a walk or for a special occasion. We look forward to our next visit.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bluetwo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
114 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Plough in January. We stayed in a luxury room in September cottage which was a nice spacious room. It was on the ground floor which was not ideal as on the first night the room above was occupied and the soundproofing is not great. Luckily there was no noise the next few nights. Breakfast was good. Dinner was excellent - we ate there 3 nights and had different items each night. The cheese board was especially good. It is a very cosy pub, and nice to relax by the fire. On the last night we were the only people eating there but the staff did not make us feel awkward at all. It is a great area for walking, would recommend Mother Cap for a nice gentle walk or Stanage Edge for a something longer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MillicentDDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Lovely pub, friendly staff but shame about the prices for lunch time meals. The cost for four people with tip came to £45 per couple. Chose a bottle of wine but they only had one already opened bottle of what we ordered, so had to settle for 3 glasses. Meals were well cooked but presentation and quantity could have been better. May be the evening meals are of a better standard. Probably will not go again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian_elaine_bowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We had a delicious meal last night at The Plough in Hathersage. Sometimes being gluten free can be hard to find good choice on the menu but there were several delicious looking options. I had the Coq au Vin, others had steak, lasagne, linguine and duck. Service was friendly and the welcome was warm.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Parkyjnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chesterfield, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Booked this for a meal on boxing day for a family outing.Staff were very friendly and welcoming.We had a great table and the food was very high quality and cooked to perfection.Would recommend this as a venue for special occasions.The beer was good also

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank kellyseye_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hathersage
0.7 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
386 reviews
0.7 mi away
Little John Hotel
Little John Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hathersage
212 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#1 of 1 in Grindleford
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Millstone Country Inn
Millstone Country Inn
#2 of 4 in Hathersage
304 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Scotsman's Pack
The Scotsman's Pack
#3 of 4 in Hathersage
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough Inn

Property: The Plough Inn
Address: Leadmill, Hathersage, Peak District National Park S32 1BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Hathersage
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hathersage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Plough Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Plough Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plough Hotel Hathersage
The Plough Inn Hathersage, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing