We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Golden Anniversary party”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Sladen Lodge

Welcome to Sladen Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Sladen Lodge
Superking en-suite bedroom Superking en-suite bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
100 reviews
Welcome to Sladen Lodge
Superking en-suite bedroom
Superking en-suite bedroom
Spacious and comfortable lounge with stunning views
Second sitting room for peace and quiet
Dining room with a view
All bedrooms are en-suite
Celebrate with friends and family at Sladen Lodge
Views of the Hope Valley from some bedrooms
Fabulous views from the sunny south facing patio
Well equipped kitchen
Lovely big dining room where you can all dine together around one table
Fabulous location
Recently installed second kitchen
Beautifully light and airy atrium
Superking en-suite bedroom
Sladen Lodge in spring
Enjoy a cool glass of wine on the south facing patio
Sladen Lodge in the Autumn
Spectacular surrounding area
The beautiful Hope Valley
World famous Stanage Edge
The 'shivering mountain' Mam Tor
Hathersage village
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
7 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Hathersage, Hope Valley, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 100 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
14JESS14
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Golden Anniversary party”
Reviewed July 4, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Situated within walking distance of Hathersage, in its own grounds, extremely well comfortable and well furnished, and the kitchen could not have been better equipt.
Unfortunately we had a room with a very deep bath which we couldn't use, and no slip proof mat, we should have looked and changed to a different room, but thought they were all the same.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 5, 2017
We're glad you enjoyed your stay at Sladen Lodge. We're sorry that you found the bath unusable as we do have a slip proof mat available for guests if required and should have offered it to you on arrival.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maelstrom...
2 reviews
“Stag Do - 15 chaps - June 2017”
Reviewed June 16, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

An incredible weekend with the chaps. The house is very well catered to a large group with single beds for all, tonnes of space, ensuites and a large garden with a big table and enough seats - there's even two huge bbqs!

Booking was hassle free and Julie was very welcoming. I'd recommend to any large groups looking to take on some activities out in the peaks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 19, 2017
Thank you for your review - it was great to have you to stay. We're glad you enjoyed yourselves and found the lodge to be suitable for your needs.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy C
1 review
“Stunning location..”
Reviewed June 13, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The lodge is just as described on the website.. excellent facilities,also suitable for children. The lodge is of very high standard the bedrooms and bathrooms are lovely.
We stayed with for a large family gathering and we found the lodge to be very spacious..the communication is great.. quick replies and always will to help.
Would definitely recommend this place to stay for any occasion

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 16, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and we are delighted that you found the lodge to be so suitable for your needs.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helenlinn
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely house in a great location”
Reviewed May 31, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The house is in a brilliant location, just a very short walk to the shops, pubs and cafes of Hathersage. Lovely views across the valley which we were able to enjoy from the sunny patio. Bedrooms and bathrooms are of a very good standard and the large dining table made meals great fun for our party of 13. We were particularly impressed with how well equipped the house was - endless glasses, plates, cutlery etc, two dishwashers, good ovens, all of which made our stay very easy. We would definitely recommend and we will visit again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 5, 2017
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Sladen Lodge and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kemarg
Nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Another excellent stay”
Reviewed May 18, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Second time at Sladen Lodge and it exceeded our expectations. They have a policy of upgrading every year which was evident with the very stylish Bathrooms. The accommodation is first class, Quality beds and Bedding, Spacious lounge, Well equipped Kitchen, high speed broadband, everything you need. We did not have any complaints at all but we left a comment about a very slight problem. Julie (The owner) phoned me when I arrived home and thanked me for the comment and advised me that it would be dealt with immediately. Sladen is ideally located on the edge of the village and is only a five minute walk to the centre. It is ideally located for ramblers being very close to Stanage Edge and other great walks. We will be returning.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 19, 2017
Thank you so much for your feedback which we value greatly and always respond to if we can. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annonymou...
Crowborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An Amazing Lodge”
Reviewed May 3, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

My wife and I hosted two parties between 12th and 21st April for 16 family members and then12 friends from our home village. Everyone's opinion was that Sladen Lodge was the perfect venue - very spacious with 7 ensuite bedrooms, plenty of comfortable seating, a large dining table, both inside and out, and very well equipped, even sharp kitchen knives and a sharpener! We used the services of Express Gourmet several times and they produced the most delicious meals for us. Hathersage village is a 5 minutes walk away with every basic thing you could want, even an excellent butcher.
The Hope Valley is a delightful place to visit, and I think we shall return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 5, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with both your family and then your friends. We will pass on your wonderful feedback to Emma at Gourmet Express and would very much welcome you back to Hathersage in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn L
1 review
“Outstandingly comfortable house, perfect for a relaxing trip with a large group”
Reviewed April 17, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Sladen Lodge was the perfect place for our large family gathering of 13 this Easter. Its location was ideal for some great walking, as well as having the town of Hathersage minutes away from the Lodge. There was lots to do and see in the area - our kids loved the open air swimming pool and playground, and we had a fantastic meal at the Hathersage Social Club. We were able to take a trip by train from Hathersage to other picturesque areas of the Hope Valley.
The Lodge itself was extremely well equipped for our group, we cooked each night and couldn't fault the kitchen for its equipment. 2 dishwashers and an additional large fridge for drinks were ideal. Bedrooms were super comfortable and all ensuite, and there was a large living room and dining area as well as a well maintained large garden.We were lucky with the weather and ate outside most days with stunning views.
Our booking was handled excellently and we couldn't have wished for a better stay. Would definitely recommend to others and will be booking again no doubt!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 19, 2017
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and hope to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing