We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Another excellent stay”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Sladen Lodge

Welcome to Sladen Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Sladen Lodge
Fabulous views from the sunny south facing patio Superking en-suite bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
106 reviews
Welcome to Sladen Lodge
Fabulous views from the sunny south facing patio
Superking en-suite bedroom
Second sitting room for peace and quiet
Superking en-suite bedroom
Celebrate with friends and family at Sladen Lodge
Views of the Hope Valley from some bedrooms
Well equipped kitchen
Lovely big dining room where you can all dine together around one table
Dining room with a view
Fabulous location
Recently installed second kitchen
Sladen Lodge in spring
Enjoy a cool glass of wine on the south facing patio
Sladen Lodge in the Autumn
Spectacular surrounding area
The beautiful Hope Valley
World famous Stanage Edge
The 'shivering mountain' Mam Tor
Hathersage village
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
7 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Hathersage, Hope Valley, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 106 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kemarg
Nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Another excellent stay”
Reviewed May 18, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Second time at Sladen Lodge and it exceeded our expectations. They have a policy of upgrading every year which was evident with the very stylish Bathrooms. The accommodation is first class, Quality beds and Bedding, Spacious lounge, Well equipped Kitchen, high speed broadband, everything you need. We did not have any complaints at all but we left a comment about a very slight problem. Julie (The owner) phoned me when I arrived home and thanked me for the comment and advised me that it would be dealt with immediately. Sladen is ideally located on the edge of the village and is only a five minute walk to the centre. It is ideally located for ramblers being very close to Stanage Edge and other great walks. We will be returning.

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 19, 2017
Thank you so much for your feedback which we value greatly and always respond to if we can. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annonymou...
Crowborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An Amazing Lodge”
Reviewed May 3, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

My wife and I hosted two parties between 12th and 21st April for 16 family members and then12 friends from our home village. Everyone's opinion was that Sladen Lodge was the perfect venue - very spacious with 7 ensuite bedrooms, plenty of comfortable seating, a large dining table, both inside and out, and very well equipped, even sharp kitchen knives and a sharpener! We used the services of Express Gourmet several times and they produced the most delicious meals for us. Hathersage village is a 5 minutes walk away with every basic thing you could want, even an excellent butcher.
The Hope Valley is a delightful place to visit, and I think we shall return.

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 5, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with both your family and then your friends. We will pass on your wonderful feedback to Emma at Gourmet Express and would very much welcome you back to Hathersage in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathrynl1...
Wantage, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstandingly comfortable house, perfect for a relaxing trip with a large group”
Reviewed April 17, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Sladen Lodge was the perfect place for our large family gathering of 13 this Easter. Its location was ideal for some great walking, as well as having the town of Hathersage minutes away from the Lodge. There was lots to do and see in the area - our kids loved the open air swimming pool and playground, and we had a fantastic meal at the Hathersage Social Club. We were able to take a trip by train from Hathersage to other picturesque areas of the Hope Valley.
The Lodge itself was extremely well equipped for our group, we cooked each night and couldn't fault the kitchen for its equipment. 2 dishwashers and an additional large fridge for drinks were ideal. Bedrooms were super comfortable and all ensuite, and there was a large living room and dining area as well as a well maintained large garden.We were lucky with the weather and ate outside most days with stunning views.
Our booking was handled excellently and we couldn't have wished for a better stay. Would definitely recommend to others and will be booking again no doubt!

Date of stay: April 2017
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 19, 2017
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and hope to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindylou1...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous.It made our family gathering very special and memorable.”
Reviewed April 10, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The location of the Lodge is superb, with breathtaking views and a few minutes walk into Hathersage, and close to fabulous walks.
The Lodge is spacious, well equipped and ideal for a gathering of family or friends with 7 large, comfortable bedrooms and modern ensuite bathrooms. The lounge has enough sofas for every one to have a comfortable seat, but there are other areas to sit quietly. The dining room is spacious and we took advantage of a catering company one evening, recommended by the owners which was wonderful.
The owner herself was very helpful and accessible and gave us lots of useful information before we arrived.
.I would highly recommend Sladen Lodge.

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteOtte...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best equipped, most comfortable holiday let for a large group.”
Reviewed February 14, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Lots of useful information on booking and prior to arrival. We found the lodge to be very well presented with every little thing thought of. 7 first class ensuite bedrooms and plenty of lounging and dinning room. Kitchen well equipped for catering for a large group. Perfect place to enjoy a very relaxing winter break.

Date of stay: February 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 15, 2017
We are delighted that you found the lodge to be well equipped and that you enjoyed your stay in Hathersage. We hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roving688...
1 review
“Great venue for a family get together”
Reviewed January 9, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We stayed over New Year and the owners had left us some Prosecco and a beautifully decorated Xmas tree! There's plenty room for parents, grandparents and grandchildren to do their own thing and plenty to do in the area.

Date of stay: December 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 10, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are so pleased that your family of all ages enjoyed their stay in Hathersage and we hope to see you again some time in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwhitto
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
“A house that actually accommodates the number of people it says it does”
Reviewed December 6, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

No fighting over which bedroom to have, as all are of a similar high standard and size.

Large comfortable lounge

Can all be seated together in dining room

Great views and walking from the front door

Date of stay: December 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size and comfort
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 8, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are looking forward to welcoming you back next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing