We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“a wonderful relaxing family break”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Sladen Lodge

Welcome to Sladen Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Sladen Lodge
Superking en-suite bedroom Superking en-suite bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
100 reviews
Welcome to Sladen Lodge
Superking en-suite bedroom
Superking en-suite bedroom
Spacious and comfortable lounge with stunning views
Second sitting room for peace and quiet
Dining room with a view
All bedrooms are en-suite
Celebrate with friends and family at Sladen Lodge
Views of the Hope Valley from some bedrooms
Fabulous views from the sunny south facing patio
Well equipped kitchen
Lovely big dining room where you can all dine together around one table
Fabulous location
Recently installed second kitchen
Beautifully light and airy atrium
Superking en-suite bedroom
Sladen Lodge in spring
Enjoy a cool glass of wine on the south facing patio
Sladen Lodge in the Autumn
Spectacular surrounding area
The beautiful Hope Valley
World famous Stanage Edge
The 'shivering mountain' Mam Tor
Hathersage village
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
7 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Hathersage, Hope Valley, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 100 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
FIONA B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a wonderful relaxing family break”
Reviewed August 1, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

we wanted a suitable location to take a break with friends/family (4 mums and 7 kids ranging in age from 5 to 14). Sladen logde was perfect for us!
With lovely bedrooms, perfect bathroom facilities, wonderful outdoor space and more than enough living areas we couldn't ask for anything more.
Our children loved the fact that they could have their own space and they enjoyed playing outside whilst the mums enjoyed a glass of wine on the extensive patio area.
We visited a theme park on the first day, lovely country pub on the 2nd day and the outdoor pool (at Hathersage) on the 3rd day, the kids loved it!
There was a convenient store just down the road where we could shop for essentials and takeaway was delivered on our 2nd night of our stay.
Sladen Lodge provided everything that we needed, towels, refreshment essentials, every piece of crockery you could imagine, games for the children and adults, sky TV and much, much more.
Perfect for a relaxing break and beautiful views from the patio area!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Plenty of room within the lodge
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 3, 2016
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and the various activities in the local area. We hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbaraD5...
Much Wenlock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First Class property”
Reviewed July 4, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My sister in law booked this property for my brothers 50th Birthday. We had looked it up on the website so thought we knew what to expect. It turned out to be as great as it looked on the site, its truly a wonderful property. The welcome from the owner was warm and friendly. The bedrooms are all great unlike some places where there is obviously a good one and often the rest fall short. All 7 bedrooms here were first class and the ensuites were of a high standard with great toiletries supplied. We took advantage of the barbeque on the Saturday and cooked a roast dinner on the Sunday for our party and I have to say of all the places we have stayed this is by far the most well equipped, nothing was left out, it made catering a joy. I would recommend this property to anyone who appreciates the finer things in life and wants all the comforts of home. We will be back.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 11, 2016
Thank you so much for your review - we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan S
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A superb location and quality accommodation ”
Reviewed July 2, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

9 of us got together from across the country to celebrate a 50th birthday. The rooms were spotlessly clean, the location and views were amazing and the facilities extensive. If you like trains then this is also ideal as you occasionally see a fleeting Sheffield to Manchester Express as it enters a nearby tunnel. We have been to many holiday rentals across the country over a period of about 10 years or more and we generally agreed that this was probably the best one for quality and facilities. We will definitely return and have no hesitation in recommending.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 11, 2016
Thank you for your review and we would be very happy to welcome you back to Sladen Lodge in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim P
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful place for a get together”
Reviewed July 2, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

A great home from home. All bedrooms with bathrooms. Well laid out. Plenty of room to spread out so when the sports on the tv, others can chill out quietly in the smaller lounge. Wonderful terrace outside if the weather is kind, although plenty of space inside when it's not. A well equipped kitchen with 2 ovens and 2 dishwashers and 2 fridges, truly equipped for large parties. All in our party agreed it was one of the best family self catering places we've stayed. All want to return to this place.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The well created space
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 11, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Sladen Lodge. We would love to welcome you back again in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamalian...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Anniversary Celebration”
Reviewed July 1, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My husband and I booked the Lodge for 3 nights for a group of 7 couples including ourselves to celebrate our 7th Anniversary. We could not have chosen a better location, all the couples commented on the standards of the accommodation, the facilities in each room allowed the couples to their privacy, and the living and dinning areas allowed us to have ample spacing for group activities.

Definitely worth it and definitely recommend

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 11, 2016
Thank you so much for your review and we are so happy that it met your expectations for your special celebration
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GraCar13
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First time visit to the Peak District & Sladen Lodge”
Reviewed June 18, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Every year 14 of us intrepid teenage pensioners book into a new part of the country to explore, and enjoy each other's company. Good chats, good food and comfy surroundings!
Sladen Lodge provided wonderful accommodation and lovely views for miles - all in excellent high quality order, with more than enough space for everyone to enjoy.
Thoroughly recomended!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of the property & position in Hathersage
Liked least: All very good.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 21, 2016
We are so glad that you enjoyed your first visit to the Peak District. Hopefully it's the first of many.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddy G
Dendermonde, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect stay for exploring the Peak District”
Reviewed May 21, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

With our group of 14 (7couples) we were particularly pleased that all bedrooms were spacious doubles, almost the same size, and with perfect en-suites ! So everybody was equally pleased with their room...
All cooking facilities etc. were plenty and of good size to make food for a group of 14 adults, which was certainly not always so on previous WE's elsewhere. The eating table was big enough, there were plenty of couches in the cosy living-room, enough chairs and a big table on the terrace: so, we even had breakfast there, with the sun out !
Wifi is perfect.

On top of that, Hathersage is perfectly located for exploring the Peak District: we didn't even make it to the Social Club or one of the pubs. However we visited the church and the grave of Little John, which was a nice little walk.
P.S.: Stanage Edge is very close and a marvelous place, even if you're not a climber.
P.S.2: Piedaniel in Bakewell serves excellent food at a very reasonable price !!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: 7 equal double bedrooms with en-suite !
Liked least: Nothing really: the train passes very often, but we liked that and saluted every time. No trains in the evening or at night.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 23, 2016
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay so much. Maybe you could come to Hathersage again in the future to visit the Social Club. We would be very happy to welcome you back to Sladen Lodge.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing