We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Unexpected treat

Driving to the Plough Inn, we passed the Round House and stopped to have a closer look. I had heard... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Jane A
via mobile
Interesting design led, with restaurant

This place is the place to come and see how design and the everyday come to life. Every conceivable... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Paul F
,
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Read all 146 reviews
  
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveler rating
72
47
20
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
72
47
20
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews traffic lights cakes bus shelter worth a visit sandwich factory tour gift shop design museum round building quality items saturday and sunday soup specific times beautiful shop post box young man cafe serves
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 145 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Driving to the Plough Inn, we passed the Round House and stopped to have a closer look.
I had heard of David Mellor cutlery so was intrigued and as my husband loves seeing any manufacturing process, we went in.
There is a museum of David Mellor designs, which cover so much more than cutlery. There is an excellent cafe - very welcome - a shop, of course, though this one was filled with lovely things, no tat in sight, and the factory itself.
Because we visited at the weekend we were able to take the factory tour - not possible during the week as the building is too small to accommodate visitors and craftsmen at the same time. We saw a lot and learnt a lot. So pleased we turned in on the spur of the moment.

Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

This place is the place to come and see how design and the everyday come to life. Every conceivable implement, glass, bowl and...everything.

These design led items are fantastic, but that does come with a cost...but then you do have to pay for design led quality items.

Restaurant looked lovely but to busy to stop.

Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Small but outstanding and well worth driving a very long way to see. If you’re interested in form & function and how they can make the everyday look exquisite, this is the place for you.

Thank Rogerofsouthwark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2018 via mobile

Despite living in Sheffield for 7 years I had never heard of this place. Quite pleased to realise there is more than one David Mellor. We enjoyed the cafe the salads we had were fantastic and it explained why it was so busy. Enjoyed the exhibition space especially the street scene outside who knew that so many things we see everyday were designed by one person. Shop offered things you don't see that often so worth a pop in. Workshop only open at specific times at weekends which didn't bother us as we didn't know it even existed until today.

Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2018

Do you ever look around and wonder how ‘things’ came to ‘be’? The objects in our lives that we take for granted. We use abuse and ignore them without a care for who made them, what they’re made from, or how they got there. Admittedly, to think about all the millions of ‘things’ you encounter in everyday life would be a tall order.

That’s where the David Mellor museum and factory shop will help to raise your awareness. Mellor was a Sheffield-born designer, silversmith and artist. His extensive works range from consumer goods through to public facilities. As he was from the home of British steel, it’s unsurprising to find his output included a wide range of modernist cutlery, serving vessels, cruets, and utensils.

As fascinating, are his works for the Abacus Engineering Company. These include a range of street furniture including bollards, bus shelters and benches. These are the objects you’ve seen or used innumerable times but never asked how, why, who, or when.

Mellor’s work also includes a modern version of a red pillar box and, most famous, his utilitarian design for UK traffic lights. Both of which are still in use today.

The David Mellor Visitors Centre is worth a visit. It'll help you understand the work that goes into the design of pretty much anything. Not only the aesthetics but the context, function, manufacture, maintenance, and materials used.

Perhaps, most of all, you’ll get an insight into the talented people who design commonplace objects. whose studied work rarely goes fully acknowledged.

1  Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2018 via mobile

We stopped just see the unusual design of the factory building. There is a retail shop and cafe on the grounds. Tours are only available on Saturday but there are wall displays in the cafe to tell his story.

Thank O7950YPjoans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2018 via mobile

Visited on a Saturday afternoon when the factory tour is on. It starts in the cafe but it was difficult to hear the guide due to the noise in the cafe.
However the guide was extremely good and added humour on our trip. He fully explained how the site was chosen and how it has grown. The highlight was to go into the round factory and hear what goes on there. You can only do this on a Saturday and Sunday but do recommend it
The cafe is ok but slow. Toilets could be better.
The shop highlights plenty of different products but don't expect any bargains.
Outside are items designed by David Mellor and give another interesting twist.

1  Thank Thirskies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2018

very interesting place, popped in for a quick look, excellent shop, friendly staff, surprised at what was made their, worth a visit.

Thank Fran K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2018

It was on they way to our holiday cottage so we stopped in for a look. There are a lot of lovely items for sale. Some was way out of my budget but some was affordable. The Mellor designs are fantastic so we were glad we stopped.
Not worth a day out but well worth pulling in if you're nearby

Thank ClevelandWomble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2018 via mobile

My wife and I stopped by for coffee and cake.Shockingly, I found hair in my apple and almond cake icing!!! I told the waitress but she said those are pre-made cakes and they get them from elsewhere. Very convincing excuse right?!!! they didn’t even offer to knock it off from the bill and charged me for a hairy cake... will never go there again.

2  Thank reza b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews