We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel and fantastic restaurant”
Review of George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hathersage
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and fantastic restaurant”
Reviewed February 22, 2010

Spent a lovely romantic night at The George just after Christmas and was pleasantly surprised. The room was fine, nicely decorated and overlooking the stream although smaller than we were expecting for the price. However there was no wardrobe - just a rail hidden by a curtain! Bathroom was big and plenty of hot water to fill the deep bath. The big surprise though was the food which was excellent, probably the best lamb I've ever been served in a restaurant - perfect. Imaginative cheeseboard and knowledgeable and friendly staff who maintained good but discrete service throughout. Lovely bar area. Altogether we had a lovely time and would definitely recommend it - we'll go back!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJF_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    121
    35
    10
    7
See reviews for
58
199
28
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
130 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2010

The George affords a helpful welcome, with reception area/lounge/bar that manages to be both very 1990s and very cosy with varied seating and an open fire. Our room (No6) was reached via two (short but steep) flights of stairs and a length of corridor, then a short (but very steep) flight of steps within the room from bathroom to the main room. this was clean, comfortable and roomy, with comfortable twin beds, two lovely leather tub chairs, wicker "desk" chair, table/desk, minibar, chest of drawers and flat screen TV (limited channel choice). There is a radio alarm clock but poor reception. Free WiFi. All very cosy. The bathroom was bright, sparkling clean but small and utilitarian, rather than luxurious. Other reviewers have written of noise in rooms at the front of the hotel. Ours was at the front and directly faced Station Road. We were not at all disturbed. Complimentary water (Hildon from Hampshire, 200 miles away. Why not Buxton -15 miles away). The usual breakfast buffet, with bowls rather than catering packs of cereal etc. Superb cooked breakfast with excellent local ingredients but very slow service on one of two mornings (the one we were in a hurry). Proper leaf tea and good coffee. The restaurant was superb, two nights running.

Minor quibbles: "Communal" squirty bottles of toiletries, no bar soap, no face cloths. A shelf with a rail and "don't steal'em" clothes hangers and a brown curtain to hide them was a workable, but inelegant substitute for a wardrobe. Toast slices stacked together get soggy very quickly. At check-out our bill had acquired somebody else's bar lunch (wine, sandwiches and fries) but the mistake was smilingly put right.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cancerdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2010

We stayed here recently for one night meeting up with a couple of friends. When we called to book we asked if there were any special offers and were offered their Winter Warmer special which meant that if you ate in the restaurant you got one three course meal free, which turned out to be an excellent offer. The location didn't really matter but we were surprised to find it on a 'main' road in the centre of the village. We need not have worried. There was an excellent standard at this hotel through out, from the relaxed friendly welcome to the fabulous dinner and breakfast that we had while we were there. There was only a couple of little niggles but expected in a building of this age and that was the really creaky floor boards in the bedroom and a bed that was a little too soft and bouncy for my liking. It was mentioned in another review that they didn't have a duvet, but in our case we had a duvet and found the bedding very tasteful as was the room decor. We didn't have a problem with the TV channels as this wasn't a priority in an area where the scenery is breath taking. There were free newspapers, a tiny quirky library and a bar that served throught out the day and well into the night. I would highly recommend this hotel for a romantic gettaway or a base to visit the Derbyshire Peaks.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reevesygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2010

It's got great food and good service but if you want to be a great hotel you need decent beds which were not on offer (poor mattress and old fashioned sheets - no duvets!). Still, it is cheap!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riddleroddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2009

An expensive hotel with an upmarket boutique restaurant, yet has old fashioned TV sets with only 4 channels. Haven't they heard of Freeview?
Bedroom was right alongside a very noisy stream and, because there was no double glazed windows, I was kept up all night going to the toilet because of the constant sound of running water.
Bathroom towels are very thin and scratchy and large industrial size soap/shampoo containers. Why not use the purpose made sachets like other hotels use?
Hotel lets itself down with these small things which can easily be put right and would upgrade the perceived value for money.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rs031114d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAMPSHIRE, ENGLAND
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2009

Stayed for two nights. Bedrooms fine, although at the prices they charge I would expect bathrobes. Only ate breakfast at the hotel. Standard of cooking was good but service was far too slow. It would appear that they do not have enough waiting staff. The buffet of fruit, cereals, etc. could be improved. Had just come from Leeming house in Ullswater where the breakfasts were the best we have ever had. WiFi hopeless.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KAREN345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2009

This is a gem. We arrived and first impressions were slightly worrying as the hotel is next to a main road, but after booking in and having our baggage carried up to our room, things just got better. The room was double glazed, so there was nearly no noise. It was large spacious, and very well appointed. The only down side was I could not get a WiFi signal, but this meant I had 2 days away from work(What a shame)
Dinner in the evening was a complete joy. This was rated as a 3 star, but I would give it 5 if I could. The food was sublime, the staff knowledgeable, and the service was the best I have ever had.
The following day we had a supurb breakfast, and headed for Chatsworth. After a very boggy, day, we came back for tea a scones, and a siesta, before another sublime meal.
Breakfast in the morning was even better than the day before, but then it was time to check out. I had done a mental calculation, as to the cost, and was pleasantly surprised when the cost was £50 less than I expected.
I would recommend this hotel for anyone that wants a quiet relaxing break.
I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hathersage
4.6 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
2.3 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#1 of 1 in Grindleford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
19.8 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
6.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
9.9 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel

Property: George Hotel
Address: Main Road, Hathersage, Peak District National Park S32 1BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Hathersage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hathersage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Hathersage, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing