We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”
Review of George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hathersage
Certificate of Excellence
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed January 31, 2010

We stayed here recently for one night meeting up with a couple of friends. When we called to book we asked if there were any special offers and were offered their Winter Warmer special which meant that if you ate in the restaurant you got one three course meal free, which turned out to be an excellent offer. The location didn't really matter but we were surprised to find it on a 'main' road in the centre of the village. We need not have worried. There was an excellent standard at this hotel through out, from the relaxed friendly welcome to the fabulous dinner and breakfast that we had while we were there. There was only a couple of little niggles but expected in a building of this age and that was the really creaky floor boards in the bedroom and a bed that was a little too soft and bouncy for my liking. It was mentioned in another review that they didn't have a duvet, but in our case we had a duvet and found the bedding very tasteful as was the room decor. We didn't have a problem with the TV channels as this wasn't a priority in an area where the scenery is breath taking. There were free newspapers, a tiny quirky library and a bar that served throught out the day and well into the night. I would highly recommend this hotel for a romantic gettaway or a base to visit the Derbyshire Peaks.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reevesygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    123
    36
    10
    7
See reviews for
60
204
28
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2010

It's got great food and good service but if you want to be a great hotel you need decent beds which were not on offer (poor mattress and old fashioned sheets - no duvets!). Still, it is cheap!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riddleroddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2009

An expensive hotel with an upmarket boutique restaurant, yet has old fashioned TV sets with only 4 channels. Haven't they heard of Freeview?
Bedroom was right alongside a very noisy stream and, because there was no double glazed windows, I was kept up all night going to the toilet because of the constant sound of running water.
Bathroom towels are very thin and scratchy and large industrial size soap/shampoo containers. Why not use the purpose made sachets like other hotels use?
Hotel lets itself down with these small things which can easily be put right and would upgrade the perceived value for money.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rs031114d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAMPSHIRE, ENGLAND
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2009

Stayed for two nights. Bedrooms fine, although at the prices they charge I would expect bathrobes. Only ate breakfast at the hotel. Standard of cooking was good but service was far too slow. It would appear that they do not have enough waiting staff. The buffet of fruit, cereals, etc. could be improved. Had just come from Leeming house in Ullswater where the breakfasts were the best we have ever had. WiFi hopeless.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KAREN345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedlington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2009

This is a gem. We arrived and first impressions were slightly worrying as the hotel is next to a main road, but after booking in and having our baggage carried up to our room, things just got better. The room was double glazed, so there was nearly no noise. It was large spacious, and very well appointed. The only down side was I could not get a WiFi signal, but this meant I had 2 days away from work(What a shame)
Dinner in the evening was a complete joy. This was rated as a 3 star, but I would give it 5 if I could. The food was sublime, the staff knowledgeable, and the service was the best I have ever had.
The following day we had a supurb breakfast, and headed for Chatsworth. After a very boggy, day, we came back for tea a scones, and a siesta, before another sublime meal.
Breakfast in the morning was even better than the day before, but then it was time to check out. I had done a mental calculation, as to the cost, and was pleasantly surprised when the cost was £50 less than I expected.
I would recommend this hotel for anyone that wants a quiet relaxing break.
I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2009

There have been some bad reviews of this hotel (not helped by it having two entries - its not a Best Western now) so I wasn't expecting much. We were catching up with friends staying in a cottage in Hathersage village so the centrality of the hotel was the prime motivator. We booked with about a fortnights notice on Laterooms and got a B&B Rate of £78 (Rack Rate = £126) for a standard room.

The hotels own website made a point of saying that a standard room was capable of accomodating a travel cot so we'd took ours. On arrival the welcome was friendly and as we were carrying a baby we were immediately offered a cot. The room itself was easily big enough for the travel cot - I'd say most hotels would have labelled a room of that floor space as Superior/Deluxe. It had quite a distinct lounge area with three nice chairs. The rooms style and furniture was fresh and clean without being either too traditional country inn or too minimalist boutique hotel. The bathroom was good and the shower great.

Our only point of criticism, and this only arose as parents of an 8 month old, was that on a hot August evening we had to have the windows open and being situated right over the kitchen there was some noise and chatter as it was cleaned and closed down for the night from 10:30 until 11:15pm. Like I say if we'd been baby-free for the night we'd have been in the bar (which looked great) and it wouldn't have been an issue at all.

The next morning the staff were on good friendly form and it was really nice being shown to the breakfast table and a highchair without having to ask for one. Apparently the restaurant is really good - we opted for somewhere less formal the night before (The Scotmans Pack - top notch). I did have a nosey at the Wine List and thought that quite innovative and better than most if a little overpriced.

Breakfast was good. The usual spread of cereals was complimented by a good array of fruits and yoghurt. The menu (all imclusive in B&B rate except Smoked Salmon and Champagne (£10 surcharge)) was longer than most from Porridge, Kippers, Smoked Haddock to the George's Grill aka the traditonal english. This was our option and was really good quality eggs, sausage and bacon. The marmalade was another highlight.

Checkout was smooth and the fond farewell seemed genuine. A really well run small hotel in a beautiful village.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jubilee252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grimsby
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2009

Clean and spaceous rooms, good breakfast (didn't like black pudding though, but I am fussy about my black pudding!), friendly staff. The only thing (and that's the only reason I am not giving it a 5 star!) is that when you have a shower, the water goes sooo slowly down the sink! Otherwise highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faith007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hathersage
19.8 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
8.1 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
383 reviews
6.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#1 of 1 in Grindleford
383 reviews
4.6 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Little John Hotel
Little John Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hathersage
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel

Property: George Hotel
Address: Main Road, Hathersage, Peak District National Park S32 1BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Hathersage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hathersage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Hathersage, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing