We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Random meal”
Review of George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hathersage
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Random meal”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Intended to go to an Indian restaurant on Ecclesall road in Sheffield but couldn't get parked. Continued into Derbyshire then on to Hathersage. Spotted The George Hotel,it looked cosy and inviting on a particularly damp grey night.
Warm , comfortable lounge area for pre meal aperitifs. The dining area was clean and olde worlde with beamed ceilings. Our meal, trio of lamb for hubby and lemon sole pour moi was delicious. We were not over faced with piles of vegetables. Yes, enjoyed our meal very much. Puddies .....yum yum. A tad expensive, but hey it was my birthday and hubby footed the bill, also 5% service charge. As an occasion treat, it was great,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    121
    35
    10
    7
See reviews for
59
199
28
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
362 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

The hotel fronts the main road and has ample parking. The rooms are comfortable although please take very good care on the bathroom floors when wet. They are very slippery, which I found out to my disadvantage. The bar is well stocked with a fine selection of spirits with many Whiskys & Cognacs. The bar area is quiet although very comfortable. I've not yet eaten in the restaurant although breakfast is excellent. The staff are most friendly and helpful. The building is a few hundred years old and has great character. It is located in the heart of the Peak District and is only a 10 minute drive from Castleton and the Hope Valley.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Youngklaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Derbyshire, UK
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We were kept waiting at reception whilst the solitary receptionist checked people in and then proceeded to show them to their rooms. I questioned one of the bar staff as to why, when there were five parties in the queue, there was no one else on reception. Eventually another member of staff was found.
The corridor to the room smelled a little fusty, but the room was adequate, despite giving out on to the busy main road in front of the hotel: Do not expect a rural view.
Breakfast was adequate, but we felt disappointed overall considering the price they charge.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davem90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosenheim, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Staff are very friendly and helpful, rooms are clean and comfotable, ours were very small and loud. The hotel fronts onto a busy road and has a big car park but no garden or generally available area to sit outside.
We were charged 5% on top of the agreed room price for "service", thus making the rooms effictively 5% more expensive. We were not informed of this practice until we paid the bill! A great pity! I have always regarded tips in restaurants as discretionary, so I can tip good staff correspondingly. And until now I have always experienced hotel room cleaning and reception as included in the room price. Particularly helpful and friendly staff recieve a personal tip from me.

Room Tip: If you want to eat in the restaurant, book well ahead. If you want a quiet room, rooms at the back i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank assetsaved
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
63 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

They know how to feed and water you at the George. This is very important if you've climbed up Stanage Edge or other peak and have an appetite on you. The staff have got that calm and quiet professionalism that you usually only see in a fancy 5-star. Welcoming to children, which is good, since I can't tie them up and leave them outside (though sometimes I'd like to). Good, honest, no-nonsense grub served with style.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Queen_of_NW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
377 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We called for lunch after reading previous reviews. The staff were very friendly and the food was very good. The room too was relaxing and comfortable.

We always leave a tip when we are happy with everything, however on looking at our bill later we had paid our 10% tip plus their 5%!!

We looked at the evening restaurant menu which looked really nice. Think we will give it a try sometime.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluetwo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
135 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is really charming, and the staff were unfailingly helpful and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The restaurant is excellent, and the breakfasts were terrific. The location was perfect for visiting lots of stately homes (Chatsworth, Lyme Park, Calke Abbey), David Mellor's fabulous cutlery shop, and pretty/interesting villages such as Bakewell. Despite being on the main road through the village, the rooms were very quiet and - also - well appointed.

England has lots of grotty hotels - this is not one of them! I'd happily recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nell214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hathersage
4.6 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
2.3 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#1 of 1 in Grindleford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
19.8 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
6.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
9.9 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel

Property: George Hotel
Address: Main Road, Hathersage, Peak District National Park S32 1BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Hathersage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hathersage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Hathersage, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing