We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but could be better” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of YHA Hathersage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
YHA Hathersage
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
190 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Nice but could be better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Stayed. 3 nights in aug 2012, not expensive but found out same price as YH at Castleton, which visited and much better. Stayed in 4 bedroom private downstairs room with private bathroom, no bed lights, no free wifi, no shelves and only 1 chair, room very clen. Kitchen small 2 fridges with no shelves, did have small dinning room and outside benches. Staff very friendly and helpful, village nice only one real nice pub needed to walk distance and if ate there expensive.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marieanddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    19
    8
    5
    0
See reviews for
17
1
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here while on a walking holiday. The staff were very accommodating. We didn't have an evening meal but we did have breakfast, of which there was a good hearty choice. The rooms are basic and the facilities are shared, but this is fine when the price is taken into consideration. A pleasant stay

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheQuailes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

What can I say about this hostel? It is the bare minimum but clean, and they provide bedding. The staff are very helpful. The guy printed off a nice literary walk tour map thing that led to Stanage Edge for us. The location was definitely superb! One other great thing was that it was quiet, there were not many people staying there.The one drawback is that check in is only from 5-10 so we had to wait awhile to get our room.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anonymous482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
615 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

The village of Hathersage is a perfect base for trips into the heart of Peak District National Park: the Hope and Upper Derwent Valleys. YHA Hathersage, being conveniently located at western exit of the village, offers low cost accommodation in nice and cosy rooms. Traveling with young child we asked for family room with four beds (no 3-bed option), and this came out with two bunks, which is rather usual in hostels. This room also had its own sink, unfortunately no table - and that would be extra advantage. Hostel occupies two buildings with only few parking spaces at the back. Evening meals are available at the request at the reception.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank endrju_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hathersage
0.1 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.1 mi away
Little John Hotel
Little John Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hathersage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
5.8 mi away
YHA Castleton Losehill Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
YHA Ravenstor
YHA Ravenstor
#4 of 19 in Buxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
3.0 mi away
YHA Eyam
YHA Eyam
#2 of 2 in Eyam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
14.5 mi away
YHA Hartington Hall
YHA Hartington Hall
#2 of 6 in Hartington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Hathersage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Hathersage

Property: YHA Hathersage
Address: Castleton Road, Hathersage, Peak District National Park S32 1EH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Hathersage
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Hathersage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — YHA Hathersage 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A bustling Derbyshire village popular with everyone from fans of outdoor activity breaks to literature and history buffs. Walk the Charlotte Brontë Literature trail, taking in North Lees Manor featured in Jane Eyre and visit the oversized grave of Robin Hood’s sidekick, Little John. YHA Hathersage is only 700 metres from the station on the Manchester to Sheffield train line, making it ideal Peak District accommodation for discovering everything the area has to offer. A great destination for walking, hiking and climbing holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your YHA Hathersage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Hathersage England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing