We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and welcoming staff, and a surprise in the car park!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Millstone Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hathersage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in June, we had planned to say earlier in the year but had to cancel at late notice and were able to carry over our deposit, which I thought was fair. The staff were really friendly both on the phone and behind the bar. Our room was very nice with a good view, comfy bed and the shower was also OK. The veggie breakfast was HUGE, couldn't eat it all, but it was tasty. My favourite thing sbout staying here, apart from dogs being welcome in the bar as well as our room, was that there were 2 pigs that lived in the car park! They were so cute!! Lovely surprise... dogs didn't know what to make of them!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cssmallwood78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
There are newer reviews for Millstone Country Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 328 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stopped off here on 5/7/12 for a meal and as ever it did not disappoint. I usually go for the excellent 'sausage menu' but this time I had a steak and ale pie. Brilliant! A proper pie, served individually, not a dish of stew with a puff pastry lid stuck on top. With good chips and freshly cooked veg, this was a treat. My wife had the meat and potato pie which was a wedge cut from a larger pie and again was good.

The pub has undergone some changes over the years to stay competitive and I feel the 'big room' has lost something as it now looks and feels like a hotel restaurant. The pub part remains as before and is all the better for it. A good choice of well kept real ales completed a great meal.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andy186364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

My wife and I had an overnight stay at The Millstone following a friends wedding nearby and as a starting point to explore The Peak District the following day. We found the staff to be extremely friendly and the room very comfortable. When we came back to the hotel after the wedding (on a Friday evening) there was a quiz and bingo night in progress. Afterwards sandwiches and bowls of chips were offered around to all - a nice touch. The Derbyshire breakfast is an extremely good start to the day!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magicdragon7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Joe and I had eaten in the pub back in February 2012 but had stayed in a B&B further down the road. We took home a leaflet with their details on, planning to stay here next time we were up in The Peaks. We got ourseleves a dog at the end of March and when i suggested to Joe we came away for the jubilee weekend i found it a struggle to find a pub with accomodation that accept dogs. We looked up the Millstone and couldn't believe our luck when we found out that they were more than happy for the dog to stay AND that she was allowed in the pub, off the lead if she was well behaved! We were thrilled!!

Dinner/menu: Fabulous choice of food and we have always had a good portion size and its always been hot and well presented. Joe says that if they were to put a mixed grill on the menu it would be 100% perfect!

The pub itself has loads of seating areas and is cosy and has a wonderful atmosphere, friendly & helpful staff too.

Our room: We stayed in the room called Stanage. It was clean and comfortable. There were magazines with local information in them, toiletries and tea & coffee making facilities. Large white fluffy towels and an immaculate shower room. The bed was very comfy.

Breakfast: OMG! Just amazing! Both Joe and I had the derbyshire full breakfast ... good lord, you needed to roll me out afterwards! It was fantastic, and we definately think its the best we have ever had in any B&B that we've stayed in before. It was piping hot too which is often not the case in B&Bs. We highly recommend the breakfast if you're out and about passing through as they now serve it for members of the public - not just residents.

Overall: Just brilliant! The staff are friendly and are always happy & chatty. Bramble our border collie was welcomed with open arms and we just love knowing that we can come here and use this as a base for our future trips to The Peaks. As a dog owner you wouldn't want for more :o)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank scattybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed at the beginning of May having got an excellent midweek deal of £45 per night for both of us, less than half what some nearby hotels were charging. We were booked into Stanage, a standard double bedroom on the second floor with a good view over the Hope Valley. The stairs are rather steep and a bit narrow so if this is a potential problem, check which room you are being offered when booking. Although we overlooked the car park and the road, noise wasn't disturbing at all. The room was well provided with tea and coffee making things, toiletries and bottled water, a comfortable bed and huge fluffy towels and the shower room was spotless. As others have commented, breakfast has to be the highlight of a stay here. If you can eat a full Derbyshire breakfast and still move, congratulations. There's a wide choice of full cooked or lighter and it's hot, well presented and very tasty. The hotel is central for places like Buxton, Sheffield, Chatsworth and the blue john caverns nearby, also for walking or climbing in the Peaks. They also do dinner and have a pick-and-mix sausage menu or more adventurous offerings but if you don't want to stay in every night there are several good local restaurants. The staff are very helpful and you will get a warm "northern" welcome. There is a large terrace overlooking the valley where meals can also be served when the weather is better. This is an old pub offering a good standard of accommodation but if you are looking for luxury, it's probably not for you. For the budget conscious traveller it's ideal. All in all, an excellent find.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the valley.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leisure-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

A group of us stayed 2 nights B&B over the weekend requiring 3 double rooms. We chose this inn because it was dog friendly. We were not disappointed!
We found all the staff to be most helpfull and friendly. The rooms were clean and functional if not a bit dated, but everything which was needed is provided. We did find that the road outside is well used throughout the night and that traffic noise can be a bit of a problem, having said that, other members of our party slept okay.
The breakfasts are highly recommended and will certainly fill you for the day. We also had an evening meal here, a good choice of meals and once again cannot fault the value for money.
The place does get very busy, especially on Sundays, but as a guest you have the use of a sun terrace situated on the first floor at the front of the building. The ideal place for having a drink and taking in the views (and people watching).
All in all we had a really good weekend, the hot weather did help aswell. No hesitation in revisiting.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephen j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed in the Little John double room, which gave us a great view. The room was very clean (with the exception of a little mould around the bottom of the shower). The room contained a double wardrobe, dresser, double bed, bedside units, chairs and drink making facilities (which included Breakast tea, Earl Grey tea, coffee, decaff coffee, hot chocolate, sugar, milk and biscuits). Individual bottles of still and sparkling water were also provided. The bed was made for us and fresh towels provided daily. The bed was comfortable. The ensuite was well equipped, complete with miniature toiletry bottles. The shower was very noisy but kept a consistent temperature and spray, with a roomy cubicle.

Complimentary membership to the local gym was provided for the length of our stay.

The bedrooms are on the 1st and 2nd floor. The stairs are quite narrow, which could make accessibility difficult for the less mobile guest. The rooms can be accessed externally to the 1st floor, so that it isn't necessary to go through the Inn itself to reach them after check in (for which you need to go into the Inn). There is both a sun deck with chairs on the first level, benches outside on the ground floor and yet more seating in the car park (positioned to admire the view) which is immediately opposite the inn.

Every staff member we met was exceptionally friendly and helpful. The young man that checked us in offered to take our bags for us and personally showed us up to our room. Every staff member made us feel welcome with their cheerfulness and helpfulness.

There was a wide variety of choices for breakfast. We chose a cooked breakfast which consisted of sausage, good quality bacon, fried potatoes, eggs, black pudding, beans, tomato, mushrooms and toast with fresh coffee. There were also a variety of cereals, fruits and juices. The breakfast was very filling and we consequently skipped lunch. Breakfast stopped being served at 9am on weekdays and 9.30 am on weekends ... which we thought was a bit early for holiday makers, as not every one was there on walking holiday and those seeking a rest might want a bit more of a lay-in.

We ate at the Inn both evenings. The meals averaged about £8 to £9 each, The portion sizes were so generous that we were too full to try the delicious sounding desserts. It cost around £25 a night for two of us to have a main meal and a drink. The food was good quality and tasted very nice.

Hathersage village is approx a 15 minute walk from the Inn.

We enjoyed our stay and have said that we will definitely use this B&B again.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lankylil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hathersage
0.8 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
400 reviews
0.8 mi away
Little John Hotel
Little John Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hathersage
222 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#1 of 1 in Grindleford
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 4 in Hathersage
341 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Scotsman's Pack
The Scotsman's Pack
#3 of 4 in Hathersage
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millstone Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millstone Country Inn

Address: Sheffield Road, Hathersage, Peak District National Park S32 1DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Hathersage
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hathersage
Price Range: $102 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Millstone Country Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Inn set in the heart of the peak district ideal base to explore the Hope Valley offering a friendly family run inn with 9 rooms great beers and good home cooked food in a comfy relaxed setting ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Millstone Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millstone Country Hotel Hathersage
Millstone Country Inn Hathersage, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing