We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect country pub, just off the tourist track”
Review of The Scotsmans Pack

The Scotsmans Pack
Ranked #5 of 16 Restaurants in Hathersage
Price range: $8 - $41
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Perfect country pub, just off the tourist track”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is a regular visit of ours when we come out to the peaks (we visit the Peaks weekly!) so visit at least once a month. Sunday lunch is excellent, specials board always good, plus a real ale or two. Very popular with walkers and also Sheffielders like us who want to just be away form the weekend tourist chaos. Car Park gets quite busy, so may have to drive up the hill out of the village to get parked.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    133
    50
    24
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Still a great place.”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We had our honeymoon here 18 years ago and it is still lovely, great food and lovely hotel, nice to sit outside in the sunshine too.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank citychick-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a bit overpriced but very welcoming and relaxing”
Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

a bit overpriced but very welcoming and relaxing .....rooms and food are a bit pricey for one guy stoppping for one night on a thursday . nice rooms and breakfast thou

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trevslimit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cannot say enough about it!”
Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Having sampled the littlejohn and feeling unwelcome and uncomfortable, we wandered up to the scotsmans.

Honestly, I've never been made so welcome, not only by the staff in this well presented, traditional pub, but the locals also.

Lovely friendly chatty folk, fantastic food! And I'm quite cute on pub meals, and the chef was fantastic,
He came out to say hello and when we returned the next day he stayed and chatted with us.
They couldn't have made more of a fuss of us and made us feel extremely welcome.

We will absolutely return as we camp and hike here a great deal and this will definately be our "local" when we come back.

Give it a visit, you won't be dissapointed

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Honestly212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent little pub”
Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Visisted the scotsmans pack or first time today , what a little gem of spun it is ,good food, good selection of beers, very friendly and welcoming staff
Now we know it's there ,we will definitely be visiting again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PeteGSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Scotsmans Pack also viewed

Hathersage, Hope Valley
Hathersage, Hope Valley
 
Hathersage, Hope Valley
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Hathersage, Hope Valley
 

Been to The Scotsmans Pack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing