We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovley Place”
Review of Little John Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Little John Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hathersage
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed here in August for the weekend in a family room ... was amazed when we walked into our family room great decor ... great bedding and comfy beds ... fantastic .... tea and coffee facilities nice bathroom with bath and shower .. hair dryer ... the food menu had a good selection ... meals were lovley especially the home made steak and kidney pie .. yummie !!! Breakfast ... fruit juice ..yoghurts ...good choice of cereals .. toast and jam ... anything from a full english breakfast to a sausage butty ... tea and coffee .... was a very enjoyable weekend and will deffo stay there again .... was impressed ... staff were very friendly .. thanks for an enjoyable stay

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank limaralady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, Guest Relations Manager at Little John Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2016

We now have 2 refurbed holiday cottage available

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 233 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

What a great hotel, Friendly warm welcome from Tom, and a super bedroom, The family room was Very clean, the beds were the best I have ever had in a hotel! The crisp linen was a lovely surprise. The hotel décor is very upto date and chic, The staff are polite, friendly and have a good knowledge of everything local. And most of all a sense of humor. Steph the owner is great, just a shame we missed her. Would I recommend this hotel, YES! would I stay again, YES, is the food good, YES ,The full English is great, thank you Chef for all the different breakfast's that our 4 children wanted.

10/10 hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, Guest Relations Manager at Little John Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2016

We are now offering two holiday lets

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Just came back from three days camping in hathersage
I must say so love the place
I popped in to this pub called little John
So enjoyed my visit their on Saturday evening
Food was great price
Went again Sunday and Monday
So friendly I will being going back
Can't wait
Keep up the great work staff are so down to earth
For me the best pub in hathersage

From the biker from nottingham

Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
Thank womanhood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, Guest Relations Manager at Little John Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2016

We are now offering 2 holiday lets and 8 en suite rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I visited Little John's on Saturday August 17 with my two children 8 & 9, together with two golden retrievers. The Landlady was exceptionally helpful, and agreed to accommodate us late into the evening following the partial collapse of our tent in high winds and rain resulting in drenched bedding! The Landlady, Stephanie, went out of her way to help me, my children and two dogs. We were provided with a lovely and very comfortable room at a reasonable price, with beautifully laundered bedding (which smelt lovely and made us feel very snug), great hot and powerful shower, and even a bowl of water for our two dogs. The breakfast was plentiful, and prepared beautifully. We could not have asked for better. They even offered to launder our wet bedding in their commercial machines and dry them out for us. Topped up our water bottles, including the dogs.

The bar in the pub was very clean and welcoming.

I would definitely recommend this accommodation and food to everyone. The rates are possibly the cheapest in the area, but the quality of accommodation, staff, and food are all top notch! We shall definitely be back, and have passed details onto two friends already.

Room Tip: We had the one near the fire exit and it had a lounge area outside of it, which was simply an 'e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjg2804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, Guest Relations Manager at Little John Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2016

We are now offering 2 holiday lets

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Very friendly place to stay. Thanks Stephanie and Rachel, very good value for money. We stayed in the family room which was very clean and comfortable with our children which at night was very quiet, thanks also Steve who also made our stay an enjoyable one. Just wish I had tried one of the locally made pork and pickle pies!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonathan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, Guest Relations Manager at Little John Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2016

We are now offering 2 refurbed holiday lets

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My wife and are hearty eaters so we were impressed when our meal arrived. The portions are large and nicely cooked. Not the place to eat if you are on a diet. Staff friendly and whole atmosphere is great fun. If you have the full English breakfast each morning, then have the evening diner while you stay here, do not get on the scales when you get home !

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, Guest Relations Manager at Little John Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2016

We are now offering 2 holiday lets available for one night bookings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Six of us stayed in one of the self catering cottages for a weekend. The cottage was well decorated and had everything we needed.
During our stay a fantastic full english started the day off nicely, Saturday afternoon was spent clay pigeon shooting kindly organised for us by the pub, followed by a hearty home cooked meal when we got back. Just what we needed!
We drank and ate in the pub Friday and Saturday night and found the food great with substantial portions and the atmosphere warm and lively.
All the staff were really helpful and friendly, going out of their way to accomadate us.

All in all a great value for money, brilliant weekend, that will be remembered for a long time, thanks a lot, we'll be back.

Room Tip: Cottage was perfect for a group. Had everything we needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oliver I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, Guest Relations Manager at Little John Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2016

We are now offering 8 en suite bed rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hathersage
0 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
404 reviews
4.6 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
8 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
14.6 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
932 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little John Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little John Hotel

Address: Station Road | Hope Valley, Hathersage, Peak District National Park S32 1DD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Hathersage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hathersage
Price Range: $86 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Little John Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Little John Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little John Hotel Hathersage, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing